We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'wzaar Seafood Market

L'wzaar Seafood Market
Ranked #26 of 839 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Upon entering L'wzaar, the interactive open kitchen and a four-meter-long seafood display gives the diner a candid look at what feasts of the sea await them. The restaurant's original décor and blue mosaic flooring are meant to provide an environment that is contemporary and comfortable, with the blue flooring providing an aquatic touch. L'wzaar is a venue where freshness is king, both in terms of produce, and the speed with which it is cooked and brought to the table. L'wzaar is also about variety, where seafood is served in a number of different styles: Classic Mediterranean, Japanese - in the form of a sushi bar - Middle Eastern, Far Eastern and Indian. With over 50 varieties of seafood, the menu's emphasis is on freshness, quality and variety. You will find all three in the L'wzaar Seafood Market.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Though it takes time to prepare our orders, appetizers satisfied our cravings and we got almost full!

I supposed having L'wzaar Baked Salmon in my breakfast, lunch and dinner will make me fabulous fat! :-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ayico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    181
    47
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heinsberg, Germany
Level Contributor
88 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“FRESH Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want seafood, then this is your place. When you walk in you are greeted with a display of fresh fish on ice. They offer local and world varieties of fish, as well as shrimp and various shellfish. The seafood is simply cooked with salt, pepper, and olive oil in the oven, letting the natural flavors come through. There is a salad bar and ala carte options for sides. Service was average, but the fresh food more than makes up for it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dsr0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW, the best seafood in the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Amazing, fresh and tasty food, excellent service, very clean, go for the grilled jumbo prawns, a bit expensive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank okamalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
253 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“The beat in town, no doubts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just make sure, you 've got a riservation.; otherwise you have to wait a kind of an hour and be' lucky.
Such a great experience!
The staurant indeed is a colorful fishery with a huge stall offering all kinds of fishes and seafood in bellavista.
You've been assisted by a waiter giving you suggestions and tips. You choose the fish (or the seafood) and you chhose how to cook it. You might add a dish of salades and arab mezzehs (do it your own).
Then it is time to go to your table ( they will tell you which is yr number) and it is just a matter of wait for your order.
Meanwhile you'll be asked to choose your drink. I reccomend you a choose among the "Mocktails", a list of around ten free alchool cocktails and my favourite is "qatar magic", with cola, lemon juice and ginger.
I took an oven 's style d snapper (delicious!) and two tiger prawns (yes, grilled) and I enjoied them just adding some hot local chutney.
Service is definitely fast and smiling.
Bill is absolutely affordable.
A turkish coffee to end and ...you'll be ready to take a walk in Katara area, a strolling corniche along the sea.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AntHomburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
“A good restaurant surprisingly not in a hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I’m an occasional visitor of this restaurant. Vist included Family, friends and business. It’s a good place to dine at anytime of the week. Reserving/booking a table a week [or maybe two] in advance would be a good idea if planning on visiting during the weekdays else, be ready to wait for 45 minutes to an hour minimum.

Luckily I always had a table reserved or came in right on time to a free table.
The food is great, fresh (from what I see and taste), waiting staff is wonderful, attentive and courteous. Ambience is very pleasant and soothing. Seating is comfy and caters to all likes. The journey to and from the restaurant can be fun too if you are driven there in those electrical cabs.


One thing I have noticed and this is something I find a little uncomfortable sharing is, there are times where in the hostess’s and the staff who stand near to the food display area to take your order (there are a couple of them) most of them are indeed professional but a few who I found to be a little weird/un-professional or sometimes racially provocative in behavior.

My own nationality/ethnicity is not the issue here and I have always gave them the benefit of the doubt, it could be just another bad day at work, unreasonable requests from customers, whatever (I’m not much of a confrontational person) but if you are a resident of Qatar, you know that you crave for this to do and ask around for entertaining stuff to do around and while on a brief talk with a family who is also of similar ethnicity brought up an experience in the same restaurant and sadly enough I heard from couple of others too. I have never initiated a conversation stating “Did you ever get treated this way?!”

These were all random talks about good places to visit/eat out nearby. But I should also say that not everyone has had a negative experience.

I will in no way blame this on the management nor come to a negative conclusion of this place just because of few people who hasn’t seen the world or experienced cultures. And I’m aware that such a comment is not an easy one to take and to tell (for me atleast)

But all in all, this place is recomended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghost_Protocol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'wzaar Seafood Market also viewed

 

Been to L'wzaar Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing