We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked Vegetarian Choice ”

Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 861 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lacked Vegetarian Choice ”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately this small restaurant lacked any main meals for vegetarians.
That said, I ordered a lentil soup (which was intended for a starter) and it was delicious.
After ordering, my soup came almost immediately which was a mild inconvenience as they knew it was all i had ordered... And obviously my fathers main course didn't arrive for another 15 minutes. Thankfully i am quite a slow eater. so after taking my time starting and eating (no slower than usual) my fathers meal arrived while i was mid way through my own. Even though i did only order the soup there were commentary breads (and a dessert) which made the whole meal more substantial.
My fathers meal (a lamb tajine) was apparently very tasty.
The waiters were all polite and i would probably recommend this restaurant- however maybe not if you, like i do, choose not to eat meat.

Helpful?
2 Thank GingerRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    71
    28
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tillicoultry
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

During a short trip to Doha to visit my son in law we went to this Restaurant for a meal. My wife and I are used to different cuisine but this was one of the best we have ever had. We had a mixed
menu, too many dishes to remember. The whole meal was delicious and the staff very friendly and efficient. We also tried the Fish Market restaurant next door and again this was first class, it is really nice to eat fish caught that day. On the same street is a Moroccan Restaurant which is also
Worth a visit, especially for the camel stew!!!
We also tried several other eateries and found them all very good and also good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank neilcTillicoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
427 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great meal and good service”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I came here with a group of 5 and we really enjoyed our dinner. The food was well prepared and the service was attentive and helpful. We sat at one of the sidewalk tables in the evening and enjoyed watching people pass by. This is a very comfortable place with delicious food. It is one of the better places to eat at in the Souq Waqif.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoAlong2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kabaab”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Amazingly lamb for kabaab. You must try this one, kabaab is the best. This place give some exotic interior, very pleasant place to stay!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ThyasP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is easily the best restaurant in Souq Waqif. The food is delicious, which is unsurprising given that Iraqi cuisine has such a long and illustrious history, dating back thousands of years to the Mesopotamian cultures. Everything that my party and I ate at Al Adhamiyah was exquisitely flavoured and beautifully presented. The Iraqi chap who seems to be the supervisor or maitre took great care to answer our questions and to provide as much info as possible; he was friendly and helpful. The meal I ate here was one of the best I had during my trip through The Gulf (only spoiled by the rude and loutish behaviour of a bunch of Gulfite males who treated the Iraqi waiter in an appalling manner). If the weather allows, sit at one of the outside tables, enjoy your food and a mouthwatering selection of juices, and watch the world go by.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing