We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not spectacular”

Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant
Ranked #81 of 861 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Good, not spectacular”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went to Adhamiyah's for lunch. Portion sizes were quite large, and there were nice subtle flavorings. Maybe it's because we came from Mumbai, where the food delivers very sharp tastes, but I was not overwhelmed. The service was very attentive, and it is a very nice space inside the Souq Waqif. While they had outdoor seating, with no one sitting there, we were not allowed to take a table outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    71
    28
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant service, great food and great price”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last week. wanted to sit outside but a water main was leaking so ate upstairs. Waiter was excellent and explained all the meals to us as we'd never heard of most of them!He also advised us not to have side dishes which was good advice as the mains were so filling there would have been no room.They kept bringing us their homemade bread which was lovely but we couldn't finish it.Came to QR175 for of us for two courses and a drink.Best restaurant in the Souq.Go there!

Helpful?
Thank PAB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So good! It made me proud to have some Iraqi heritage.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My mom and I went to Al Adhamiyah for lunch on a Thursday afternoon and sat upstairs. We weren't sure what to order so we asked the waiter, who was a very pleasant man who spoke excellent English. He kindly offered to explain the menu to us and went several highlighted choices and answered our questions and then gave us time to decided.

We ordered an Arabic salad as a starter. It was just lettuce, cucumber and tomato, but it was fantastic! There must have been a magic ingredient in the lemon juice and olive oil dressing because both my mom and I commented on how tasty it was and we finished all of it. We were also brought some fresh warm bread that was similar to naan. It was really nice and we had to make a conscious effort not to keep eating it so we could save some room for our meal.

We had lamb tikka kebab which is chunks of meat as opposed to the kafta kebab which is ground meat. It was tender and seasoned perfectly. We also branched out and tried something called kouzi sham which is seasoned rice with lamb and chicken baked into a bread shell. It was also very nice, particularly the bread shell that had absorbed all the flavors from the filling.

All in all, we were really happy with our experience here and would love to go back. It was great food and great service! What more could we possibly want? Oh, it was also very reasonably priced. Our meal for two (two entrees, a salad, water and the bread that was included) came to a total of 114QR.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MallieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

After reading the reviews here, and never tried food from Iraq previously, I was looking forward to this experience. But can't say they delivered. I went alone one Saturday afternoon and asked the waiter for recommendations, but he didn't say much or show any interest. I randomly picked the mixed starters, which was great - bread, meze (?) and salad - and the chicken biryiani, which was okay, a bit dry and the chickenpieces not the best. The lemon with mint juice was delicious, had to have two of those! Food arrived quickly and hot. Very nice interior of the restaurant, however I'm not too keen on screaming children running around the table when I'm dining.
Been there, done that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moffedillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Iraqi food, Mixed Grill Moist and Succulent”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went to Al Alhamiyah Iraqi recently with a colleague from work. We had a very enjoyable experience. The fresh bread arrived at our table was hot and tasty. The mixed grill arrived relatively quickly, was moist and tender, and tasted great! The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend eating here for anyone in Doha.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brianraggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing