We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and exceptional value”

Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 845 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and exceptional value”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I sat down at this unassuming restaurant at about 5pm and decided to have an early dinner. Sitting outside, I enjoyed the sites of Souq Waqif and watched passersby such as the men in traditional costumes on Arabian horses. I also walked around inside and the decor there was very nice so that would be a good option in the hot summers or colder winter days.

I ordered one of the kebabs and the custard and both were excellent. The staff were very friendly and after my delicious custard they brought more sweets. When I got the bill, it was only 52riyal and it turned out that they wanted to give me both desserts for free. This was a really nice change from some of the bland kebabs and expensive hotel food I was eating.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marktee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    69
    28
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fast, delicious meals in a nice setting”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This has become our favorite casual restaurant in Doha. The food is always great and the service is very fast. I believe english speaking might be limited in some of the servers, so I hope people aren't put off by a lack of perceived friendliness by the staff. Since we have been there quite a bit, we have noticed that they really are paying attention (they have never made a mistake with an order, the food is always hot, etc.).

If you are visiting this region and wanting some regional food, I highly suggest seeking this place out. My favorite items are the hummus, moutabel, and chicken tikka yogurt.

Outdoor seating is ideal, but they only have a handful of tables out there and they will up fast. If you want to assure that you will get a table outside, I suggest planning an early dinner (arrive at 4 when the souk opens up any day other than Thursday or Friday).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 28watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food and prices”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had lunch at this authentic Iraqi restaurant. We ordered Maskoof fish dish. It took a long time to be prepared, but it tasted great. Great prices. Can't wait to go and dine there again!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emeyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Picked this restaurant because of positive comments on this board, but mixed grill and overall experience were very average and disappointing to me.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious place to sit outside for lunch”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had two great meals here. We sat outside and had great service and food. Yummy handmade bread comes with everything and their lamb is not to be missed! It's located towards the end of the Souq so it felt a little less busy to us, but was still great for people watching. The Lebanese restaurant across the street is also excellent!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hlyne82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Al Adhamiyah Iraqi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing