We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View of the outside!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fanar - Qatar Islamic Cultural Center

Fanar - Qatar Islamic Cultural Center
Ranked #13 of 105 things to do in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
350 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“View of the outside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We didn't go in. From all accounts it is great, however we just loved the view from the outside. The spiral tower is a landmark to enjoy in both day and night, and a bit of a locational beacon when you are in the souq!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    85
    31
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tillicoultry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A very interesting visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is good place to visit. We were met by a member of staff who gave us the option of a talk on the background to Islam. This was very interesting and not too intense. The wall displays are well laid out and easy to follow. At the end of our visit my wife and I were taken into the respective Mosques to sit through a prayer session. The various calls by the Imam were explained and it was all very informative.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank neilcTillicoultry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“a must to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

wonderful, peaceful and 'a must' place in Doha
opens your horizons and widens the knowledge, altho a bit one-sided point of view on history

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jaroslaw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A must See in Doha, Do not miss out on the nice Cafe with the sea view. There is a "Friday" market on Saturdays on the grass/parking area. Enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank khaled_altamimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Iconic building, but not much inside”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

An iconic building in Doha and stands out both in the day and night.

Inside there is a space aimed at educating nonMuslims about Islam - some interesting info, but I was expecting more to be honest.

I understand on certain days they organise mosque tours and traditional meals but we did not experience any of that.

Free entry.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank nibrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fanar - Qatar Islamic Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Fanar - Qatar Islamic Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing