We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Western Hotel in Qatar” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Century Hotel
Ranked #47 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Western Hotel in Qatar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel totally western style for bussiness trips in Doha. Modern western style decoration of room, perfect bathroom accessories, great lighting control system in the room.
I do not recommend this hotel if you want to see arabic style. Even breakfast is totaly western.

Room Tip: No difference of rooms from window, keep curtains all close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akseliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    35
    14
    3
See reviews for
13
26
29
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

its located about 5min from the airport, but not much in the way of scenery around. Rooms are very comfortable. breakfast was provide as part of the package. the room service menu was lacking but wasnt an issue as I only spend a night or two at the most on a trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benzil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Good room
Nice hotel
Nice service
No
Parking but they take your car and park it for you
Full if saudies

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaled-omar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

A modern business hotel close to the corniche. Great for business and leisure. Equipped with modern facilities and ideal place to host small conferences and seminars. A getaway in the midst of busy city life. Though it is set in the busy hotel area near corniche, you do not feel the hussle of the city as the hotel is very well sound-proof from the ongoing constructions near corniche front ( as like the whole of Doha, constructions going everywhere). The great spa and health centre in the hotel adds the perfect relaxation to a busy day of work with their professional masseurs. All in all, it's great value for money and a charming business haunt for travellers. It was my first time at this hotel but i'm sure it won't be my last. --- Kathryn Fong (Singapore)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrottingMuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ONT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I recently travelled to Doha on business. The company that contracted me provided this hotel as it was close to the airport. For a week and a half it was to be my home.

First thing I noticed was that the property is impeccable, well equipped and absolutely spotless. The rooms, while rather small, were still comfortable, very clean and well maintained during my entire stay. The staff (pretty much entirely Filipino) were delightful. Very professional, helpful and polite.

There were several other things that sold me. Free internet. Good job. It disconnected me every 15 minutes and I had to log back in (a bit of a pain), but it was free. Free bottled water, tea and coffee in your room every day. If you've ever been to Qatar you know you need to consume gallons of water. Free warm (and really quite good) breakfast buffet with a very decent assortment of food. HOT water. Not luke warm. Hot. It wasn't a dribble either. Great water pressure. All the amenities you need in your room. The in house electrician even provided 220V to 110V converters free of charge as the set I brought somehow disappeared in transit.

Very comfortable bed with more than ample bedding provided a decent night's sleep. State of the art lighting controlled via a panel beside your bed and climate control, sound proofed rooms. The hotel design was well thought out.

My fridge never worked properly, but I was drinking the water fast enough that it really didn't matter very much.

I was disappointed with the lack of concierge service, but the front desk people did their best to help me book things and find my way around. They do have a shuttle service, though I never used it.

For the record, the location isn't the greatest. It's in a run down area of town, several surrounding buildings abandoned, a navigational disaster if you're driving, back alley roads. The four key location advantages are the proximity to Al Corniche, the airport, the view of the Persian Gulf and the Souq Waqif (you HAVE to go to the Souq Waqif if you're in Doha).

Because a vehicle was provided for me I didn't worry about the proximity, but let's be fair. Everything in Doha is so darn cheap. I filled my car up from empty for 28 Riyals (about $7.00). I ate lunch for $17 Riyals. I took a taxi home from the Al Mourjan for 20 Riyals. Really, unless you're a total cheapskate the location isn't that much of an inconvenience.

Overall it made for a nice, comfortable, pleasurable stay. I wouldn't have any problems booking here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the end overlooking the Persian Gulf if you like the view. The only down side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetowineanddine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

It's a short hop to the airport so it's very handy, but if you want to go any distance from the Hotel then the only option is a taxi. If you're working out of town say in Education City then it's 40 minutes on the Freeway. Hire a car and for the first day or so you'll blink at the sheer lunacy of what passes in Doha for driving skills but eventually you'll forget everything you ever learnt and just adapt to it. The hotel is not far from the southern end of the Corniche, a 10 minute walk to the sea, and there are shops and restaurants nearby but they're not the best. The nearest supermarket is 15 minutes by car. It's quite a modernish small tower hotel. The rooms are fine, and quiet BUT it is fairly close to the airport flight path and can be noisy if the planes are taking off to the north. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well kept. There is a separate shower. The bedlinen smells fresh. The beds are TRULY SUPERB - arguably the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept in. I can't remember better and I'm a hotelier. They just have the right amount of firmness to support all your body . Pillows ok but not wonderful. The room storage is fine. Minibar (not stocked) and modern LCD but naturally very limited English programmes eg BBC News. Internet is wireless and generally reliable with the odd outages. Tea facilities are in the room, as is a safe. A/C of course and it's fairly quiet. The light switches are illuminated and a bit intrusive. For some reason the LED light in the lobby ceiling sometimes flashes like a strobe when you turn all the lights off - don't ask me why. The trick is to hit the floor switch on the standard lamp in the corner by the window and the light turns off - again don't ask me why. Breakfast has the usual cereal, fruit (tinned) and full breakfast. It's all fine apart from the "beef-bacon" which is to be avoided. On three separate days we had no hot water in the morning, but as a hotelier I know that problems can be difficult to solve. I haven't tried the gym because I haven't had time. The hotel staff are mostly Indian/Indonesian and very friendly and helpful so no complaints at all. There is a free underground car-park which stops the car frying during the day. All in all it's good value for money compared to the opposition and a good base for an inexpensive business trip, and lets face it there's no other possible reason to come to Doha.

Room Tip: The rooms are double glazed so it's reasonably quiet though the odd aircraft may disturb you if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurofanwestsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

So I happened to stay at this hotel for a couple of nights because I met a friend there who was in Doha on a business trip. the location as previously mentioned, is very convienient to the airport. and Yes, you do have to take a taxi to go anywhere... however, this is true for anywhere in Doha I fine. Doha doesn't not have a public transport system, and everything is pretty much spread out. Even if you stayed at the Pearl, you would have to taxi out to go visit the katari, coniche, etc. so you should expect that when you are visiting Doha.
the bathrooms are nice. the shower is damn sexy lol. and as for the water, the water in Doha just doesn't get warm. period. I'm used to the hot hot shower in Canada after a cold day outside and this water is just no where near hot enough. the trick is to let the water run for at least 5 minutes before you hop in and then maybe, maybe its hot enough.
I did have troubles with the lightening system. its modern and swanky, but not very user friendly. In fact, one of the LED lights kept flashing all night and i had to call front desk to figure out how to shut it off. it turns out that it was signaling that it was malfunctioning, so the maintenance guys came quickly to shut off the main switch for that pot light. pretty quick service, but still a bit awkward, since this was in the middle of the night...
Make sure you ask when visiting hours are, because I almost got denied coming in later than 10pm. only when my friend came down to verify that I was indeed a guest did they let me up and still they needed a copy of my passport, ID etc. other than that, its ok for a quick stay. :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkstrwbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.5 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#16 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#37 of 141 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
#56 of 141 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#61 of 141 in Doha
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Doha - The Business Park
0.3 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#41 of 141 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Property: Century Hotel
Address: Anas Bin Malek, Doha 22367, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 141 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Century Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business traveler hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing