We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disagree with the last reviewer...”
Review of Century Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Hotel
Ranked #53 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Reviewed March 12, 2012

So I happened to stay at this hotel for a couple of nights because I met a friend there who was in Doha on a business trip. the location as previously mentioned, is very convienient to the airport. and Yes, you do have to take a taxi to go anywhere... however, this is true for anywhere in Doha I fine. Doha doesn't not have a public transport system, and everything is pretty much spread out. Even if you stayed at the Pearl, you would have to taxi out to go visit the katari, coniche, etc. so you should expect that when you are visiting Doha.
the bathrooms are nice. the shower is damn sexy lol. and as for the water, the water in Doha just doesn't get warm. period. I'm used to the hot hot shower in Canada after a cold day outside and this water is just no where near hot enough. the trick is to let the water run for at least 5 minutes before you hop in and then maybe, maybe its hot enough.
I did have troubles with the lightening system. its modern and swanky, but not very user friendly. In fact, one of the LED lights kept flashing all night and i had to call front desk to figure out how to shut it off. it turns out that it was signaling that it was malfunctioning, so the maintenance guys came quickly to shut off the main switch for that pot light. pretty quick service, but still a bit awkward, since this was in the middle of the night...
Make sure you ask when visiting hours are, because I almost got denied coming in later than 10pm. only when my friend came down to verify that I was indeed a guest did they let me up and still they needed a copy of my passport, ID etc. other than that, its ok for a quick stay. :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkstrwbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 201 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel doesnget some good reviews on Tripadvisor and it was chosen by a colleague who has stayed here before as she was positive (but then she has a limited choice of hotel due to her travel policy).
The price is good at first based on the prices other hotel charge you in Qatar although taken into account the small irirtations I encountered still to much for what you get.

The room are clean and nicely decorated, I stayed in a deluxe which was small so I wonder what a non deluxe looks like? The bed is very comfirtaboe though a bit short (no problem for me but some of my Dutch friends would certianly have cold feet during the nigth). The bathroom is well done and has a showed and bath.
The overall feel of the hotel is good as well as it is a recent building and it looks still fresh.

The problem sits with the fact that the location is not good at all unless you only have a short stop over in Qatar as it is close to the airport. However for anythi else you will need a taxi or hotel car, I took it to go to dinner at Spice Market in the W (highly recommended) and it cost my 50 and 55 rials for the ride there and back (part of the saving gone and that is only for one dinner), and yes you know this when you book so this was not really a surprise.
The biggest disappointment was the fact that I couldn't use my shower nore bath as the water has not hot enough, it was hardly tipid. I raised this after check in and although maintenance did pass it turned out that in the morning the temperature of the water was still cold.
Another disappontment is that the minibar is not filled. Why do tou install a minibar and then leave it empty? And the little fridge is even not working so you can't use it to keep your own drink cold.
The room also comes equiped with, what I guess must be, a fire alarm indicator and this is a flashing light that once you turn of the light turns your room into a disco with stroboscopic light. Have you ever tried to sleep while being in a disco, yeah indeed impossible.

So in all a good hotel at first sight but not being able to have slept and taken a shower in the morning, which is for me the 2 only reasons why you stay in a hotel, a very disapponted overall stay.

I will not be coming back here, next time it's back to the more expensive hotels like the Hyatt, Sheraton and the likes bedause at peast I know I will be able to get some nig rest and a fresh shower in the morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmsterdamAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you are the kind of traveller that is used to staying at 5 star hotels (like me) and avoid staying at hotels whose name you have never heard - THIS IS YOUR CHANCE TO CHANGE AND TRY SOMETHING NEW!

I have stayed at Century Hotel several times over the past few months.
The beds are THE BEST, rooms are slightly small yet the bathrooms are spacious enough and are nicely done. The furniture and colors of the rooms are modern and cosy.
WIFI is free, easy to sign in and actually works properly.
Staff is friendly and eager to please.
It is the perfect hotel to go out and explore Doha and Qatar, especially if you do not want to pay the super-inflated prices of the "well known" brand hotels in the city. The rates at this little hotel are realistic and even though the breakfast buffet has its flaws (you can however order anything a la carte), the lunch recommendations by the chef are great. Just ask to see him and ask what he would like to prepare for you and you will be surprised.
The hotel is located very close to the airport which is handy; this means that you will have to take a taxi to the shopping, dining and nightlife venues.......you have to do this at all hotels in Doha so it doesnt really matter.

Highly recommended! And well done to Mr. Hany - keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor, rooms ending 01 or 04
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

An ok hotel, bit out of the way, and potentially hard for taxi's to locate, but it is close to the airpot, only a 10 min drive and when i was there the hotel had a complimentary pick up from airport which was very useful.

The beds are comfy, and the room is of an average size.

The breakfast was very good.

The gym, whilst i didnt use it (bad girl) was in a very good condition and had lots of equipment.

The creme de la creme was the massage, the lady was awesome, i wanted to pack her off in my bag and take her back to Kuwait with me, she knew just the right pressure and the right places to massage, and i felt like i was walking on air after my treatment

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Fruitbat_Kuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I booked into the hotel as a stop gap to getting my RP. The first few week were ok but the staff seem to find it difficult to understand basic queries and you get the idea that if you complain about their service it goes in one ear and out the other. The manager must consider himself some kind of deity because in the 10 weeks I have stayed here I did not even meet him to say hello to. But he was not shy directing his staff to sometime send impolite or thoughtless messages to hotel guests. The Chef, so called international cuisine....he can't even make fried eggs sunny side up even though I told him on a number of occasions. All in all, all I can say nicely about the hotel are the rooms, the gym and the location and the fact that it is the only decent hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crowe150765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I came to Doha for a couple of days in march to look for longer term accomadation for a few months, I am still here at the Century Hotel two months later.

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in, the beds are wonderfull , the service from all the staff is second to none, this is the way a hotel should be operated.

From the general to the consierge the staff are very friendly and helpfull, off-street parking, sat tv and wifi that actually works.

Business centre and meeting room, gym , steam room.

I will be sorry to leave the Century Hotel and its refreshing to see a hotel making such an effort on service, congratulations to Mr Hany Maroun and all his staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PND2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanymaroun, General Manager at Century Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Dear Valued guest
Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel, the location and the rooms , the service and production we hope to see you again and again at the Century hotel in Doha , very delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Best regards
Hany maroun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This new hotel in Doha in my view is set to raise the bar on standards of 3 to 4 star hotels in Doha. It is tucked away just off the Corniche close to the Islamic museum.
The main criteria for me is room cleanliness and comfort. On both levels this hotel rates very highly.
The bathroom is spacious and has a seperate shower cubicle and bathtub.
One of the things that usually lacks in hotels over here is quality of TV reception. At this hotel the picture quality is crisp and the choice of channels quite adequate.
There are three standards of rooms, standard,superior and delux. The standard rooms are a little small so go for the superior or delux.
Although there is no pool, there is a reasonable gym with all the basic equipment including 3 treadmills, a couple of cycles, a cross trainer, fixed and free weights and an interesting core fitness piece of equipment. The changing area has a sizeable steam room as well as massage room with very good value massage options. I have not had a massage so cannot comment on the quality of it.
Food, although slightly limited in choice (a buffet is offered for breakfast, lunch and dinner) is of a reasonable standard. I have been advised that the choice is limited in order to keep the price of the buffet low. The price is very competitive as compared with other hotels.

The staff are all very accomodating and willing to offer help and advice when needed.

All in all highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DelhiGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanymaroun, General Manager at Century Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2015

Dear Valued guest
Thank you very much for your comments about the hotel, the location and the rooms , the service and production we hope to see you again and again at the Century hotel in Doha , very delighted that you enjoyed your stay
Best regards
Hany maroun
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Inn Doha
Plaza Inn Doha
#66 of 137 in Doha
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Doha
Ramada Encore Doha
#39 of 137 in Doha
499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Safir Doha Hotel
Safir Doha Hotel
#50 of 137 in Doha
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
Kingsgate Hotel Doha
#56 of 137 in Doha
243 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#28 of 137 in Doha
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#80 of 137 in Doha
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Anas Bin Malek, Doha 22367, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 137 Hotels in Doha
Price Range: $29 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing