We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed with Family on Business was lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oryx Rotana Doha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oryx Rotana Doha
Ranked #9 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stayed with Family on Business was lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here twice with our twins aged 2 when my husband wason business in Doha and had a lovely time.
We had connecting rooms which were spacious and very comfortable, the first stay was on Easter Bank Holiday weekend which was lovely and the staff made a real fuss of the children and again a month later and the staff were wonderful and remembered us as soon as we returned and checked into the hotel which was a lovely touch.

The food in the hotel is lovely and they even made special pasta for the children aswell as having a sperate childrens menu which was good.

The pool facilities are lovely and the life guard is wonderful and friendly, however on the first stay there were mats round the pool to stop you slipping and saving you from very hot feet on the second stay these had gone and as the weather was very hot little feet were getting burnt when the got out the pool.

The garden area was lovely and the kids had a nice time playing outside and also in the reception area of the hotel where the water dispalys are.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it was very clean and very comfortable, we had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

I thank you for the overwhelming review which you experienced during your stay at the Hotel. It will always be our pleasure to serve our guest like your family the utmost care and best attention. I and the rest of the team are very happy to knnow that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again and we will make sure to give the most enjoyable stay again for your whole family.

Best regards,


Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    595
    102
    30
    21
See reviews for
196
237
217
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is excellent, though it is a little far away from the downtown area. It is located very close to the airport but it has very nice rooms, well-furnished and excellent staff. The noise from the airport will hardly trouble you however.

The rooms have much welcome natural lighting in the morning. Very nice outdoor pool is open till 10:00am which is great for those who enjoy a night swim.

The meeting rooms here are also well-equipped and comfortable

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breathe_moyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. It is our pleasure to give you the best service and I am glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed much of our facilites.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again as we look forward to welcoming you back.


Best regards,



Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

ITs outside the airport almost. The plane noise does not disturb thought..:) Good service. I like the fact that they recall me on the reception by face. Shaima -- I think is the name of the Young Lady. Thank you
Very nice rooms. Gym is super. Pool is average. I don't like the fact, that the guests in the main breakfast lobby can look while we take a plunge in the pool.
The people are very helpful in the Gym & pool area.
f&B, the break fast is very good. The hotel is new, nice and clean. The plants and landscaping caught my eye. Very nice for business stays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NStar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. I am glad to know about your fantastic experience at the hotel. I have also passed your comments on to the team and they are delighted to hear you recognize their efforts.

It is our pleasure to take care of our repeated guest and we will be looking forward to welcome you back.


Best regards,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

I've stayed a number of times here during Spring / Summer 2011, and once in Autumn 2010.

The hotel is excellently located close to the airport (but no airport noise) and a fairly short taxi drive from downtown Doha.

The quality of the rooms, service and food is of a high standard. The buffet restaurant has themed cuisine each evening - the steak night and curry night are particularly recommended.

Now about 12 months since it opened, the hotel has noticebly become busier and is expanding its offer (eg there was no retail offer last year, but a reasonably sized shop is now available to guests).

It is clear that the hotel is keen to ensure a high quality experience for its guests, and is proactively and genuinely seeking detailed customer feedback and, just as importantly, acting on comments received.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am glad that you appreciate the improvement that our hotel now has to offer and achieved over the year. I am also delighted that you find our food & beverage of high standard same as with the quality of our rooms and services. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again and rest assured of our best attention and services at all times.

With best regards,


Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have stayed in Doha for two weeks during Ramadan in 2011 and I was very pleased with level of services provided.
Staff was very friendly a helpful and always trying to provide as much as they could.
There was spa and wellness facility in the hotel, I have visited gym and massage, both were perfect.
Internet connection was good, however you have to pay for internet.
Buffet breakfast and dinners were very good.
Room service – twice a day, complimentary fresh water provided.

David K.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karansky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for finding our hotel the almost perfect one. I am glad to know that our facilities and services exceeded your expectation and gave you a pleasant stay.

Please let us know when you plan to visit as again as we are more than happy to welcome you back.


With best regards,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Perfect! The room was very nice, spacious, with flat tv, the bathroom very large. The hotel itself is beautiful, the breakfast very rich.
It is pretty far away from the city center, but the taxi is cheap, so this is not a problem. It is located close to the airport.
Very nice swimming pool.
I had a perfect staying at Oryx Rotana.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is our pleasure to serve you with our best services and facilities and I'm glad to know that you had a perfect stay with us. It is with great appreciation that you find Oryx a wonderful hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again and rest assured of our best attention and services at all times.

With best regards,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Ok, so you were sent to Doha on business, that sucks. And your company couldn't even be bothered to put you up in the (small and comparatively) nice part of Doha, West Bay, that sucks too.

But, having stayed at the Oryx Rotana twice a month for the last year, I can say that this hotel has improved massively from a very shaky start.

The lobby area is refined, the restaurants all now serve quality food and beverages (especially the tapas bar, and breakfast bar). And despite the in-room charge for Wi-Fi (which makes me spit blood in a business focused hotel), the overall quality of the accommodation is excellent.

Few tips for travellers:

1) Keep a local taxi number saved on your phone. Not only will the front desk not call you a local taxi, they will only provide a hotel car which starts at an exorbitant 50 riyals (which admittedly isn't that much considering the length of time you'll be stuck in traffic).

2) I would avoid any room that overlooks the inner courtyard/lobby. There are noise issues late at night, both from the Jazz Club and arriving/departing guests.

3) Do NOT stay here if you're traveling for leisure purposes. The hotel is situated very close to the departure terminal (although a new airport will open next year further away), and there is nothing to do anywhere near the hotel. Trust me, stay in West Bay, you'll save yourself hours (if not days) sat in traffic.

But as a business hotel (considering you're stuck in Doha) it's really quite good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Guy_In_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OryxRotana, General Manager at Oryx Rotana Doha, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am grateful for the positive improvement that you mentioned our hotel has achieved over the year. I am also glad to now that you enjoy much of our food & beverage same as with the quality of our room.

I have noted all your comments and appreciate your constructive feedback as this would help us improve our services and facilities.

Please let us know when you plan to visit Oryx again as we look forward to welcoming you.


With best regards,

Kevork Deldelian
General Manager

Oryx Rotana Hotel
Al Nahda School St., Airport Road
P.O. Box 29922
Doha, Qatar
Tel: +974 44023333
Fax: +974 44023300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
4.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Doha - The Business Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Doha
2.6 mi away
The Westin Doha Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oryx Rotana Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oryx Rotana Doha

Property: Oryx Rotana Doha
Address: Al Nahda School Street, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Doha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#5 Family Hotel in Doha
#7 Spa Hotel in Doha
#9 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Oryx Rotana Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oryx Rotana Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oryx Rotana Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing