We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and not such a great variety!”

Isaan Thai Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 882 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pricey and not such a great variety!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The food is rather pricey, service is good, food is tasty but not a very good selection and poor ambiance.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DohaFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    58
    22
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stick to what you know.”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Went there for Friday brunch with a few friends. We were the only booking and another table was seated all the way on the other side of the restaurant.
We started off with the dim-sum which was clearly not home-made (or their dim-sum chef needs to find a new profession). They we unappealing and over-cooked.
We quickly moved on to the Thai focused main courses which were delicious, especially the green curry.
Service was slow as everything was ordered a la carte and even with less than 15 guests in the restaurant, most things took about 10 minutes or more to prepare.
My advice to Isaan. Stay away from the Chinese dim-sum and stick to what you do know because the Thai food is delicious

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stylish Thai Restaurant in the Grand Hyatt”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stylish Thai Restaurant in the Grand Hyatt. All the food is made in open kitchens allowing you to follow the process of get fresh produce to excellent Thai foods.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank osto878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious small portions”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Real Thai food with wide selection, excellent service, just be aware of the small portions when you order. Wonderful views from the terrace on the Pearl Island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently great thai food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have dined at this restaurant three times and the food has been great each time. The service has been very good as well. The one thing I would suggest the restaurant could improve upon is the timing of meal.

My husband and I recently ate at Isaan and ordered two mixed drinks and six or seven small plates (salad, wok, grill, etc.). We expected there to be some flow to the meal and I actually asked the server if things would come out one at a time and she told me that they would come out as they were ready. So, the food came out too quickly - we had half of our food within minutes and we had not received our drinks yet. Four of our items arrived well before the rice, so we were left just sitting there looking at our delicious curries, waiting for rice, allowing our food to get cool. We felt a bit bombarded with all of it and would have much rather had the dishes spaced out just a bit so that we could enjoy each item a little more. And the drinks should be on the table before the food - that's just a basic restaurant rule in my opinion.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 28watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isaan Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Isaan Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing