We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost too perfect, looked like a movie set.”
Review of Souq Waqif

Souq Waqif
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Msherieb Museums and Souq Waqif Tour
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Private Souk Waqif or Al Wakra Souk Shopping Tour in Doha
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Doha Express Private City Tour
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Almost too perfect, looked like a movie set.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Souq is a must see and is buzzing with people and atmosphere but it looked just a little too perfect, almost as if it was newly updated to look old. Despite this it's a really interesting place to sit and eat or drink and people watch with a good mix of all nationalities (including some taking their pet monkey in a pink tracksuit for for a walk on its lead). The pet souk has to be seen with some interesting dyed chicks and baby rabbits in tutu's!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,064
    1,875
    464
    50
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place for shisha”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is the perfect place to get authentic Qatari souvenir. One has to bargain for the goods they are about to purchase. We had a fabulous evening with seafood and shisha at the souq.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Or ton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best souq”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have visited most of the Arabic countries and pretty much all of them have a souq but I must confess that this is the best I have seen so far.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Davenshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A great place to enjoy a little of the traditional culture of Qatar, suitable for all ages.
Very much sugest to take a walk through the spice markets and also the Iranian restaurant, you will find this at the end of the main stretch on the right..... is worth a visit for an assault on your senses (not to give to much away but the dining room is insane) and the food is great. A 5* evening all round. I went with my girlfriend and it was a really nice relaxed evening. Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Colourful!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've not been to a middle eastern country before so my experience in this souk was a bit more exciting than the others. I find this place traditional, colorful, wonderful. I chanced upon this place because i had a few hours to kill before my flight continues to europe. This souk is quite big. You can walk in alleys and browse trinkets. When tired, we stopped at a little cafe and tasted their drinks (which tasted a bit weird) and feasted our eyes with beautiful people walking around in long robes. i liked it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celinechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souq Waqif also viewed

 

Been to Souq Waqif? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing