We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but get there early”

Al Bandar Fish Market
Ranked #666 of 849 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location but get there early”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to the restaurant hoping to have fresh fish for dinner, but most of the selection had gone at lunchtime, so we were left with prawns and red snapper. Great location for people watching, although if you want more privacy there is an upstairs area. Service was good, but they need to get more stock for evening diners.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank awsculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    34
    32
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

There is a lovely atmosphere here and we sat outside. The food is very nice and the warm bread was an added bonus. The fish we chose was cooked perfectly and the sides were plentiful.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank melsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1,300 reviews
392 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,030 helpful votes
“Need to know what to order :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sorry to see all the reviews about one of the blameless restaurant in Souq.

I must say one needs to know or take recommendation when trying something new unless one is confident enough about the selection made.

I am a regular customer of this restaurant for Sheesha. if you looking for absolute casual meet up with friends this is a good place and not a heavy pinch as well. The top floor (terrace) seating is the best. It has the souq view.
Starting with sheesha, I feel they are really good for the money they charge. To change the coal the coal boy comes often.
To continue with the munching…. They good in mix grill platter/humus/mutabbal... For fish-Hamour try the one in Thai sauce/Thai curry. Its served with small portion of rice and it tastes yum…..

All the staff are friendly I don’t remember the name off hand but be it an Arabic supervisor/Arabic person looking for coal or other Sri Lankan staff. I must appreciate the willingness of Mushtaq each time we visit.
Its my all-time favorite.

I shall post some pictures soon…..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch while at the Souq. Quality of food is poor and so is the service. Not a great option. Only good thing is the balcony overlooking the main Souq street

Helpful?
Thank Freddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not the same as the Fish Market in the Intercontinental”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

While strolling through the Souq Waqif we decided to have dinner here. My mom had eaten at the Fish Market in the Intercontinental so we mistakenly thought this was the same restaurant. However, when we got our food, my mom realized our error.

While the service was decent, the meal was just ok. We ordered a salad and that was actually quite nice - fresh and tasty, but the hamour fish was not fresh and was overcooked so we were a bit disappointed. However, we sat on the upstairs terrace, enjoyed the nice weather and people watched while we ate so it was not an altogether bad experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MallieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Bandar Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to Al Bandar Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing