We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a poor service”

Market by Jean-Georges
Ranked #4 of 857 Restaurants in Doha
Price range: $50 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
doha
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a poor service”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stavros is looking trainee suffers. In this expensive restaurant many new service staff. Excellent food. Didi id the best. Hostesses are amazing, there is two or three good waiter and waitresses, rest useless. If you want to embarrassed take your girl friend there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank eva s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hello Eva S

We are sorry that your time with us was not up to your satisfaction. This is certainly not the service and quality we pride ourselves on!

Please feel free to email more feedback at E-Insider.wdoha@whotels.com

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    284
    60
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my evening out in this restaurant. Excellent food, service and ambience. The staff were particularly gracious. A special mention goes out to Hassan from Egypt, for dealing very effectively with an awkward situation which arose within the restaurant, due to some badly behaved diners. I can definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting to enjoy a fine meal in Doha.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank nomadsoul1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hello nomadsoul1985,

Thank you for your review about Market! We're very glad that you enjoy your experience with us so much!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable for solo business travellers”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Market by Jean- Georges and the staff who manage the restaurant made my stay in Doha. Special mention for Ruth on the management team and Paris one of the waiting staff. As a female traveler they made me feel so welcome. I sat at the bar/sushi area for dinner each evening and the atmosphere and great conversation I had with fellow diners was perfect. It is a great place for business networking in the region. I had shrimp salad and a very nice white Argentinian wine- excellent quality. My only grumble is smoking indoors .... got to be stopped particularly where people are eating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonCityview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-insider at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Hello LondonCityview,

We're very glad you enjoyed your tome with us in Market so much! We'll be sure to pass on your comments to Ruth and Paris! Sorry about the smoke though!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Market by Jean-Georges in the buzzing W Doha will provide you with a nice experience.
As we can expect in a location such as the W Hotel, the restaurant has a great liveliness to it accommodating individual travellers who can sit and eat at the bar or for couples who want a nice evening out. The menu has a great variety of choices, from sushi to hamburgers, there is something for everyone.

We started with the Black Truffle and Fontina Pizza, which we can highly recommend! Next up was the Hamachi sashimi which was absolutely market fresh, a definite treat.
I continued with the rack of lamb and it was very well cooked, doubtless the most succulent lamb I have had in a long time.

The staff is entertaining and adequate so all in all a great place to go and visit when you are in Doha.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Camille O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My favorite restaurant in Doha! The Express 3 course meals are soooo sooooo good. Chef Ramon is a genius! The appetizers, entrees and desserts are to die for. And what value! 89QR.

Helpful?
Thank Ismail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at Market by Jean-Georges, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Ismail S,

Thank you for your review about Market! We're very glad that you enjoy our Express Lunch so much. We'll sure pass on your comments to Chef Ramon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market by Jean-Georges also viewed

 

Been to Market by Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing