We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about Spice , but not very Spicy..”
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
Ranked #25 of 987 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic South-East Asian street food by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Illuminate your night. In a cozy, candlelit lounge overlooking the glittering Arabian Gulf, handcrafted screens create intimate moments around a raised dining space where you'll revel in Southeast Asian food by Chef Vongerichten.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is one of my most frequented restaurant in Doha.. The right Ambiance for a business meeting over lunch , or for a social gathering. The Asian fusion and spread of menu are very carefully selected from different Asian countries; from far east to south Asia.
If you go for a set lunch menu it is an excellent deal too.
The bar provide you excellent choices from cocktails to cocktails, the best Saki , beer anything ..
They staff are one of the best you can see in Doha with adequate attention paid to the clients , despite the high number and different levels of seating...
A place I would recommend to any visitors to Doha.. ....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Achu151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hello Achu151,

Thank you very much for your kind words about Spice Market Doha, we were very happy to hear that you frequently enjoy our restaurant here at the W!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,697 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time to visit. Second tume not to be impressed. The food is asian fusion but lacks the twist. You can't have fusion cuisine without a twist. It beats the purpose. Staff are a bit confused. They can't handle a large group except with a set menu! This is the manager's explanation. Talking about a high end place in a high end hotel this seems unacceptable.

The place is expensive and the food is ok. Nothing great or remarkable about it. After some discussions with the staff we had to go for the set menu because they: "could not guarantee the timing of the food delivery" if we ordered a la carte. The problem with the set menu is that they serve you different appetizers & main dishes to share. It's not one dish per two people for example but rather random. Apparently this is to control cost.

Overall not a good experience. Since I gave them 2 chances, I doubt I'll go back again. It's a pity because other venues in the same hotel serve great food.

1  Thank AshrafA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, Manager at Spice Market, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Hello Ashraf A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Spice Market. I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Spice Market on several occasions, and would like to take the opportunity to discuss further if you could pleas email me at jozef.pesta@whotels.com

All the best,
Jozef Pesta
Restaurant Manager / Spice Market Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This restaurant was our favorite when visiting Doha last. The food was amazing and my mouth is still watering. We were staying in the hotel and were lucky that we got a reservation as it was fully booked until really late at night.

We asked the server to choose our dishes and none of them were bad. They were all superb! The short ribs are out of the world!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grandmaster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Hello Grandmaster82,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Spice Market Doha, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

excellent ambience and LOVED the food! the staff is very attentive as well and great service! would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DianaSan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Hello DianaSan85,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Spice Market, we were very happy to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance and of course the food!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best,
The E-Insider

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Went with friends and visiting family for a friday brunch greeted at the door with the usual alcoholic cocktails but nothing for those of us who do not drink Alcohol some welcome .....mentioned to Matre D who did nothing didnt even apologise !!! some customer service
As the only one in the party who had been before i have previously really enjoyed the food selection and choices, however found the food selection to be reduced and the taste of most foods bland and greasy, The Same person in charge when asked for an additional napkin did not bother to bring until asked for the third time do not expect this kind of service in supposedly 5 * hotel !!!! needless to say we will not be returning as this brunch did `NOT MEET THE STANDARDS for the cost compared to other brunches in Doha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank tiggermad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaHotelResidences, Manager at Spice Market, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Hello tiggermad53,

Thank you very much for taking the time review Spice Market and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I have shared the points you mentioned with our Culinary team and our service staff and corrective action has been taken in order to avoid such situations in the future.

Furthermore, I would like to take the opportunity to discuss your feedback further, if you could please email me at jozef.pesta@whotels.com

All the best,
Jozef Pesta
Restaurant Manager / Spice Market Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

 

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing