We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best”
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
Ranked #13 of 882 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Authentic South-East Asian street food by Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Illuminate your night. In a cozy, candlelit lounge overlooking the glittering Arabian Gulf, handcrafted screens create intimate moments around a raised dining space where you'll revel in Southeast Asian food by Chef Vongerichten.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“one of the best”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

this is on our list of favorite restaurants! i also love their jazz nights on the weekends!
the menu has a bit of everything for everybody!
the staff are very attentive! and the food is excellent!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hermelanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hello Hermelanian,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Spice Market! We were very happy to hear that you enjoy our restaurant!

Hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,299
    463
    116
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Taster Menu”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just back from my second visit to the Spice Market, the first being a Friday Brunch which I cannot fault.

Tonight we opted for the taster menu, 5courses 10tastes each one as delicious as the next. It was truly amazing and offered great value for money with a bottle wine being included for 2of us. Was worried that 'taster' meant small portions this was not the case and we were full up on the lead up to desert.

We arrived just before 7pm and got a table for 2 without booking. It was very busy by the time we left.

Service was fantastic, I don't think we are ever going to have a bad meal here, the only problem being that the other restaurants about are going to have to live up to these standards.

Looking forward to my third visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello lorna A,

Thank you very much for your kind words about Spice Market, we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the Tasting Menu and our restaurant!

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a big fan!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I did a Friday brunch at the Spice Market, which I took advantage of the unlimited champagne, as the variety of food was not overly impressive. If you love fish (and only fish) then you will probably love it, but for me I didn't feel as though I had a lot of choice and I filled up on marshmallows and champagne! The service was good and the staff were friendly. Bit too dark in there too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tallyb247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Tallyb247,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Spice Market by Jean Georges. We were disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our restaurant fully. I would like to take this opportunity to hear your feedback, if you could email e-insider.wdoha@whotels.com.

Hope to welcome you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Food ,atmosphere and service is top notch as always”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We've been to the Spice Market a few times before . Just had dinner tonight at the restaurant again. No reservations but we got a nice table for two straightaway, I think because we were early because half an hour later the restaurant is getting full. As soon as you enter the door there is always someone there to greet you with a smile. The food is delicious as always . And service is excellent. The whole experience is pleasant. I also want to mention that the Friday brunch is the best . The food choice , quality and the way it is displayed is simple but with a wow factor. The atmosphere is always lovely and you don't feel like you're in a buffet brunch because the way they arrange the food by sections around the whole restaurant is well thought of. You don't see long queues even if it's busy. Make sure you book a table in advance to avoid disappointment .

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank srfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello srfab,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of Spice Market! We were very happy to hear that you enjoy our restaurant here at W Doha.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!"”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited the Spice Market for the first time to celebrate our 13th Wedding Anniversary. The whole experience was wonderful, with delicious food, great atmosphere and Service. The service from Stephen was impeccable. His knowledge of the food and recommendation was perfect along with his wonderful friendly personality. We would certainly put this restaurant at the top of our list and will definitely visit again. Sarah.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saraharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonca G, E-Insider at Spice Market, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello Saraharron,

Thank you very much for your wonderful words about Spice Market by Jean Georges! We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your wedding anniversary at our restaurant here at W Doha.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Market also viewed

 

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing