We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Fusion Lunch Menu”
Review of Spice Market

Spice Market
Ranked #15 of 857 Restaurants in Doha
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1,452 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 715 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion Lunch Menu”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had lunch twice here with a group, very interesting Asian fusion style three course lunch menu for less than 100 Rials. Very tasty but small helpings. Take about 90 minutes for a full lunch session.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,256
    448
    112
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I've been here before and enjoyed it, a lot. So, when I had to meet a client in Doha it seemed a good place as long as we got a table near the outer edge, which was a little quieter. The food was great, and would have rated as excellent but service really let them down badly.

First of all, I arrived early so that I could be ready to meet the guy. After waiting an hour, well past when we were supposed to meet, I checked again with the reception desk to find out if something was wrong (I'd already told the manager who I was and who was coming, and he'd seated me) to be told that the guy had been waiting for me for 40 minutes (I'd asked 3 times if he was here yet).

The food came quickly and was great, and at table service good too. However, when I got back to my hotel room I realised I'd been over charged for my drinks. Not by lots (around QR100) but some items which were in the happy hour had been charged at full price, despite clearly asking at the time.

All I'd say is, if you want a vibrant place for great food (I'd recommend the sprouts, seriously good!) - go to spice market. Just don't relax until everyone's sat in the right place at the right time, and check your bill. And to be honest, I don't pay Spice Market prices to have to worry about things like that.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SIMON G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“''Best Place in Doha by Far"”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

You come to Spice Market for great food, great service, and great atmosphere. We got what we expected. Dined on a busy Thursday night and started off with drinks at the bar( Fabilous ginger margaritas). We got to the restaurant over an hour early to enjoy several drinks.I can recomend to start with Sushi Selection and few of the appetizers as they are all so tasty and Yummy,my favorite is Duck Curry and my partner loved the Hamoour . Attentive service and very pleasent atmosphere. Again........pricey, but good

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting Fusion Food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Was there enjoying another QR89 express lunch. The menu have reasonable choices without being too vast that you would have the feeling of not sure what to choose.
When I just got there just slightly past 12o'clock, there was not a lot of eaters so the waiters probably a little too attentive, however as more people seated down, the service was swift without being too intrusive.
Situated on the first floor, if sitting by the window seat, have a slightly better view than the Market restaurant downstairs.
The food, was hearty, well cooked without being too fancy. The restaurant manager also came around to have a casual conversation which makes you feeling welcoming. I'm not sure if it is usual practice but I was given a free bag a cookie to be taken again which was delicious. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ida Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome spot for happy hour”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

2 for 1 drinks and your choice of a free appetizer. No veggie options for the appy, but there is an a la carte menu that has a great mango salad and lentil soup. The atmosphere inside is very nice, but can get smokey.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank meganonatrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spice Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing