We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing steak but ....”

Nusr-Et Steakhouse Doha
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/27
8:00 PM
Ranked #180 of 1,281 Restaurants in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 21, 2020

The good - the steak was sensational. Not cheap by any accounts, but tender and melt in the mouth. If I rated the restaurant on the steak alone, it would be through the roof, but the rest missed the point a little. The pace of service was far too quick ... we had been served and had eaten our starters and main course in one hour - for this sort of money it should be a little more sedate. The service was all too busy, and just poor. Clearing empty plates from me while my friend was still eating, wiping the table while we are still eating, sweeping the floor around us as we still eat, moving the wine carafe for the sake of doing something - I had to keep telling them to leave us alone. Despite incredible steak, for US $400 for two with one bottle of wine it just missed the mark.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alwaysmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 125 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020

I treated my friend to dinner at the Nusr-Et Steakhouse in Doha on the 9th of January 2020 to celebrate her new job.

We were both left disappointed by the service given by the waiting team including the Manager, who couldn't be bothered to handle our complaints. Its overall just paying for the "Nusr-ET" brand with poor service and "okay" food.

The waitress was nowhere to be seen and we often had to flag/chase down service and had to pour our own wine, which isn't expected at one of the top restaurants in Qatar. We also had a waitress move our hand bags off the chair they were on (the chair was at our table) - without apologizing or asking for our permission to take the chair.

After speaking to the Manager on the poor service, he said he will speak to his team and get back to us - he never returned.

Other than the poor customer service and lack of attentiveness, the food - including the limited dessert and overall menu options compared to most steakhouses in Doha, along with the ambiance were all average.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Re_Re1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Great service and great ambiance , the food is not amazing but is good, the highlight for us was the service and the desert which was a Turkish desert (Baklava).

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank tadeos212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Great food, great service, but... if you want to be treated as an important costumer as any other local visitor, don’t go there on a busy day. We were a party of six and booked the table in advance. After our arrival we were told that would have to leave the table after two hours at the restaurant. We had never passed through this situation before. After visiting hundreds of restaurants throughout the world, it was the weirdest notice ever. But we decided to stay anyway, since we wouldn’t be able to go anywhere by that time of the evening. We did our best to rush and finish our nice meal at the requested time, eating a full meal and drinking as quick as possible, and asked for the check exactly by the time we were supposed to leave. Important to say that we spent a bundle at the restaurant. Five minutes later the front attendant came to “remind” us to leave the table, because the time was up. It was outrageous. Ask me if they had this same kicking out attitude regarding the present local wealthy Qataris. You know the answer, don’t you? So, if you are a tourist and want to have a peaceful and enjoyable meal without having to check your watch every five minutes, think twice and go somewhere else in case you realize the restaurant is busy. Otherwise your digestion will be affected for sure. Football World Cup is around the corner. Hope this people learn fast how to treat visitors from other parts of the world in a more professional manner. Food was great, but the restaurant’s staff misconsideration eventually ruined our dinner

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lopsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2019

My steak was lovely and so were the chips. Husbands steak was so so. Service is good. However, is it worth the money and all the hype? Not really, it’s quite cleverly marketed but falls short of the overall quality you would expect when paying that amount of money. The total cost of the meal for 2 adults and 2 young children cost around £400. The ottoman salad I got was a big bowl of chopped tomatoes with a few walnuts in there (disappointing). The rice and chicken we bought for the children; the rice was sweet, tasty but more of a dessert than a main as it was sweetened and contained orange peel, and the chicken seriously lacked any flavour, abit of garlic or lemon (or something!) would have gone a long way.
Overall, only come here if you really must, personally I don’t think it’s worth the money. Also if you have young children I would advise you feed them a cheap and cheerful meal beforehand; we learnt this the hard way.
Ps... good luck finding the restaurant too, I had to ask 3 members of staff for directions. You have to go through the hotel, get the lift down, fart around trying to find the right exit door, then finally walk through a designated walkway.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank sshafique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nusr-Et Steakhouse Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing