We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Doha”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Holiday in Doha”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I recently returned(end of february) from Doha where we stayed at Grand Hyatt Doha hotel.At Chek -in the usual problems, in which you book one kind of room and get something else (I paid room with sea view and got a floor overlooking the palm of garden) but after much insistence I got something better.
And others do as they said the hotel has nice rooms, clean, beautiful large garden staff polite and helpful. We were two families came to celebrate my birthday intro warm location tired of winter and snow.
Although the reception said the hotel is full, the beach was empty in the morning, around noon if there came a few tourists, same at the pools.In weekend there were some locals.I understood that season starts in March.The only inconvenience was the cold water( 19-20 degrees) seawater and outdoor pools.The beach is ok, fine sand, but the sea is more than a salt water lake, no waves and after a few meters it's mud on the bottom.
About finding a taxi, waiting at the reception it is really difficult, but if you go accros the street in less than 10 minutes you will get one.You must negotiated with them from the beginning not all use the meter, and usually require a bigger price, but you can get a price 30% lower than they first asked.
The food at the restaurant is not cheap ($ 30 breakfast), but across the street you wiil find a mall Lagouna where is a supermarket Carrefour with good prices, and in March it will open more restaurants and fastfoods.I also ate well at a restaurant in Souk Waqif (Damasca)
Finally I can say that Doha is not a city for tourism as Dubai, not much to visit, two malls, a souk , faleza.Many people asked me what I'm doing in Doha for beach as people come here for business, but not I felt sorry that I saw, but I do think I will not com back with pleasure as I do in Dubai for water and sun when it's winter in Europe.
Hotel, because is not in the center ,is recommended more for recreation, being quiet, big garden, and generally is a good hotel.

Room Tip: A higher floor and avoid the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoloTino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    312
    109
    55
    60
See reviews for
268
261
91
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we were not happy with the service at all.
Room service was a disgrace for a 5 star.
It was so overpriced & we didn't even get breakfast. Check in was after 3pm & had to vacate the room by 12:00 hrs.
The food we got was absolutely terrible, the waiter insisted on having the tray back at the same time, we asked for an additional ashtray to put in the balcony, he said we're only allowed 1 ashtray. Asked for ice bucket 3 times & it never came.
Valet was a total mess, hotel was under staffed & poor quality staff,
We ordered a coffee & sat for an hour in the cafe just relaxing, but were continouosly harrased by waiters to order more drinks.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maher912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Grand Hyatt Doha. It is located on the beach just north of the city center in the West Bay section of town. It is an easy 5 minute drive to downtown; a 15 minute drive from the airport or the souk. The Grand Hyatt is a large property with large, well kept gardens, a nice pool, several restaurants, a nice spa and health center as well as an amazing lobby and lounge area. It overlooks the new Pearl Quarter and is well located in terms of being out of the hustle and bustle of the city yet not being too far out. We opted for the Grand King package and I would highly recommend it. For about $260 / night we were treated to a wonderful room, snacks all day in the 5th floor lounge, drinks from 6:00-8:00 in the evening, as well as a wonderful breakfeast. We were upgraded to an amazing suite complete with its own patio overlooking the water and the Pearl Quarter. The suite had a dining and living area and was the nicest accommodation we have ever had any where in the world. Staff at the main desk including the concierge service and the ladies in the 5th floor lounge were very friendly and helpful. We attended the Women's Qatar Open tennis tournament and this was only a 5 minute drive from the hotel. We will definitely stay here again and highlyl recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the Grand King package
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This Grand Hyatt fell a bit short of expectations when compared to other Grand Hyatts I have stayed at in Muscat, Dubai, Kathmandu and New York. it is nice enough, but largely lacks the "wow" factor you experience at other Grand Hyatts around the world. Everything seems to be a better than good, but nothing is really excellent. Dining options are extremely limited - two main restaurants (one of which, the Grill, seems to be buffet only all the time) and one cafe. On Saturday for lunch, your choice of food was to either pay for the buffet at the Grill or eat at the cafe, since the Thai restaurant was closed. The bar is sterile and sad, somewhere you would go only if you REALLY needed a drink, but this is Doha. This makes things difficult, as there are no bars or restaurants within walking distance anywhere near the hotel, given its extremely isolated location. Definitely do not stay here for business. The spa, gym and indoor pool areas were heavenly, the rooms were nice, but the outdoor pool areas need an overhaul. Maybe I am spoiled from Dubai, but heated water in the outdoor pool would have been nice. Many of the food/beverage prices are bordering on outrageous. Service was ok, it seemed that much of the staff was trying hard to do their job, but very, very green. Needed early check-in? The hotel is full? Requested late check out? the hotel is full. I found that VERY hard to believe since there were so few people anywhere.

Next time I am in town I will definitely stay somewhere else, although we had a nice enough stay. Also, a word on taxis (which is a serious problem everywhere in Doha). You will pull your hair out trying to get a cab at the Grand Hyatt. Prepare to wait for a metered taxi that will then try to rip you off by suggesting a flat fare that is 3 times the metered rate or starting the meter at 25 riyals instead of 4 OR be prepared to get ripped off in another manner by taking car service, which would cost 5-6 times the metered rate. The valets will do nothing, nor can they. Enjoy the wonderful transportation options of Doha!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhantomTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Great hotel with good range of facilities (gym, pools, restaurants), made the stay very comfortable and efficient.
Highly recommend the Thai restaurant, and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timp9434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Its a very nice hotel. Very clean. The rooms are big and the services are good. However, its very very big. Even though, they had our arrival times way in advance, the rooms were not ready when we arrived and we had to wait in the lobby for an hour. The staff is a bit slow. Food was good relatively but for such a hotel it should have been better. Turning on and off the lights in the rooms was an adventure. I know this might sound stupid, but it took us two days to figure out how to completely turn off the lights. The hotel is huge and there are no signs to guide the guest to where the conference rooms are. It was always freezing inside the conference rooms. All in all it was good and the hotel is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDallal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed in the Grand Hyatt for two weeks at the end of a short work assignment in Qatar. Qatar itself is a terrible place but this hotel is exceptional. Having stayed in several others in Doha during my trip, I found Grand Hyatt to be the best. The pool is amazing, the rooms very comfortable and the cost value is very good. The management and employees are very helpful and friendly which is unusual in this city. The couple downsides would be the restaurants - the cost of the food versus quality is pretty bad and it the hotel tends to cater more to wealthier Middle Eastern families and the children can be a bit noisy and out of control. Other than that I will definitely stay there if I have to go back to Doha.

Room Tip: Get a pool view... very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLM235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#13 of 134 in Doha
1,257 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 134 in Doha
1,797 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental Doha
InterContinental Doha
#15 of 134 in Doha
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 134 in Doha
680 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas

Property: Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
Address: | West Bay Lagoon, West Bay, Doha, Qatar
Phone Number:
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Doha
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Doha
#12 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#16 Family Hotel in Doha
#16 Spa Hotel in Doha
#21 Luxury Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate unparalleled luxury in Qatar at Grand Hyatt Doha. Our 5-Star hotel in Doha is within convenient reach of Doha International Airport, and steps away from the city’s financial and commercial centre.Being one of the most sought-after hotels in Doha and located on the shoreline of the new West Bay Lagoon district, Grand Hyatt Doha features balconies or terraces in most of its luxury suites and rooms showcasing breath-taking views of the Arabian Gulf.Our 5 star hotel offers extensive meeting and banquet facilities, a full-service business centre, the renowned Jaula Spa, a 400-metre private beach and indoor & outdoor pools.Grand Hyatt Doha features five restaurants and cafes and two lounges; Isaan, the hotel's signature restaurant where authentic Thai cuisine is prepared in a vibrant open plan kitchen; The Grill all-day dining restaurant serves seafood, premium meats and vegetables; Rocca, the poolside restaurant overlooks the ocean and offers a culinary journey to the Mediterranean and nightly entertainment, Majlis a contemporary Arabian style café with private seating for women and an outdoor terrace offering shisha. Al Maha lounge located at the lobby court serves continental breakfast, snacks, coffee, and tea. Dunes bar offers a wine display with wines and spirits from around the world and premium cigars in the walk-in humidor. In a contemporary yet vibrant setting adjacent to the Lobby Lounge, Biscotti is located serving tea and coffee as well as specially prepared smoothies and shakes as well as serving the best homemade cakes, pastries and chocolates in-town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing