We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too expensive!”
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The hotel is located near the Four Seasons Hotel and also a ten minute walk from the City Center (Carrefour). So you have to check how the weather would be like on your time of stay there. The rooms are very clean and new. The food is not the level of buffet you get for 170 USD per night hotel. Actually the three stars is because 170 USD is too much for a hotel located that far from the city/beach. I had a good experience with people in the reception especially the egyptian one. There is free internet access in the lobby. The thing that I found very annoying is the extra 400 QAR added to the bill that weren't taxes or services or anything --never happened to me in any other hotel. Also watch out for the 17% taxes that won't be calculated on your online reservation.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halafarouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    208
    93
    28
    20
See reviews for
81
94
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Firstly, no one replies to 'special request' info on your online reservation. Arrived to be put in an incorrect room, via slow elevators which take forever to arrive. Floor around toilet dirty from the last person. Room smelled stale. Not vacummed well, and dusty. Loud noise from adjacent room. Staff helpful and fast in helping with errors, but too many errors!!! (I was moved to a better room but it had very loud and buzzing AC, and then I had to ask for shampoo). Made another online reservation to go back in March but needed to cancel. I called 5 times (international calls) and still wasn't helped!!! Telephone staff totally unhelpful and verging on rude, 'there's nothing I can do about it- just ring back" attitude. Only thing pleasurable was the room service (fast, well presented, tasty), the morning buffet spread, and some staff within the hotel itself (personal trainer at the gym and some polite staff in elevators).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
303 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed here in May 2008 during a business trip. Its an ok hotel in a decent location on the corniche - a short walk away from the Sheraton and its fabulous grounds and extremely entertaining 'Harp' bar. No real swimming pool apart from a small paddle pool on one of the floors.

The hotel is fine for business, i suppose but its too expensive for what is on offer. Choose the Grand Hyatt, Ritz or Four Seasons.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I have just completed a stay in the Retaj that was severly disappointing. Firstly, despite being advertised as in the centre of Doha, this is a fringe hotel in the city district that is in the middle of a building site. Construction activity goes on day and night and can be disruptive to sleep and attempts to arrive/leave the hotel. The faciltiies are poor, the two restaurants are an international buffet (a buffet always bieng a sign of a poor/lazy kitchen) and an Asia restaurant that is often shut due to lack of interest. The gym facilties are por and the "outdoor pool" is a very small pool that is open to the air rather than outside the hotel. This pool area takes two sun loungers, which is a bit of a waste as it spends most of the day in the shade.....
One final point, the hotel is dry, despite advertising mini bars they don't exist/are empty. Staffing is either sparse or ample and not bothered/surely, service is poor. Cleanliness is poor, as a test I left some rubbish in an ashtray by the lift on my floor, three days later it was still there.
If this was in Paris, London, New York it could be suffered as the city would help out. Doha doesn't, it is devoid of restaurants and bars (which are all in overpriced hotels) and the major attractions for the locals are the two large malls which are visited most often in hot weather for the air conditioning.
In short, if you have to be in Doha at all (and having never been before I would only ever go for business) don't stay at the Retaj and try and stay closer to the Corniche end of town. This make make the stay in Doha a little more bearable, but probably not much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikec6mjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2009

indifferent at best. Internet access in lobby is a positive but takes about ten minutes to log in - which has to be done every two days. Often on Fridays there are net log in problems and the eception staff must get fed up of saying that it happens every Friday. Currently sitting in a quiet coffe lounge having asked the staff member to move the apple core from my table. I am now looking at the table opposite which is littered with carryout food wrappers whilst the staff member ignores it. No tea and coffee in rooms - outdoor pool unheated ( and very cold!)- apparantly the heater broke some time ago. you can get complimentary paper in room if you ask for it......but no one tells you that at first.

  • Liked — free internet in lobby
  • Disliked — being promised things that dont happen
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zinger1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
2.7 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#43 of 135 in Doha
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
0.3 mi away
Melia Doha
Melia Doha
#34 of 135 in Doha
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
0.2 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 135 in Doha
1,776 reviews
2.7 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#50 of 135 in Doha
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel

Property: Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Address: Diplomatic Street | Dafna, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel The Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the commercial and diplomatic district, and overlooks the West Bay area. With a full panoramic view of the bay, this newly built hotel features 360 spacious rooms and suites. The rooms are equipped to the finest standards, and the hotel offers a wellness centre, an outdoor swimming pool and a comprehensive range of food and beverage outlets. The Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel is just 15 minutes away from Doha International Airport, and is at walking distance to Doha City Centre Shopping Mall. There is also easy access to the Qatar International Exhibition Centre. With its fine accommodations and exceptional level of service, it is a perfect choice for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing