We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here at the courtesy of Qatar Airways on economy class as we had an involuntary 20-hour layover in the city. Arrived at 6am in the morning at Doha airport, was given the hotel voucher, went through immigration and approached the hotel desk right outside customs. The rep said that the shuttle would leave in 15 minutes. True enough, after we changed money, didn't have to wait too long to board the shuttle to get to the hotel. There were three parties of 6 people on the shuttle. Once we got to the hotel, we had access to our room on the first floor right away. The room itself and the bathroom were huge and spacious. Again thanks to the Qatar Airways Stopover Program, all meals were taken care of. They serve buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner (which would normally cost QR82, QR150 and QR150 respectively). There was a huge variety, and if you like Arabic food, you would definitely enjoy it. The hotel was functional. There is a decent gym though we were too tired to use, and an outdoor-ish pool. (There was even a jar of mint lemonade for guests to help themselves with in the gym.) Though a bit far from Islamic Art Museum and Corniche, we managed to find a taxi on the street to take us there at 2pm. Spent the afternoon in the area and at the Souk before walking all the way back to the hotel (which took around 80 minutes - we figured it was impossible to get a taxi from the Souk anyway, and managed to see the skyline at nighttime of the downtown business area). The Reception kept giving us different answers as to what time we would leave for the airport, but anyway, we checked out at 11pm, and left on shuttle at 11:20pm for our 1:55am flight. There were again three parties of 6 people on the shuttle back to the airport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zhaobao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    205
    90
    28
    20
See reviews for
78
93
57
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel courtesy Qatar Airways as I had a 20 hour stop-over at Doha from Oslo enroute to Kolkata. This hotel served wonderful buffet spread of breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The striking feature of this hotel was their service. I was unable to connect my laptop to the hotel's Wi-Fi facility and this gentleman from IT deptt Mr. Gulal spent nearly 30 mins (which included speaking to the ISP operator) to get the connection working. I have seen the IT deptt of other hotels all over the world and none can match upto the level of sincerity as Mr. Gulal!!
He was courteous and soft spoken - not at all irritated at how his & my cell phone could connect to the Wi-fi and yet my laptop failed to do so!!! Any other person in his shoes would have plainly told me that its a laptop problem. But he sat through and ensured that it worked!!
Even their prompt tele-call wakeup for airport drop in noteworthy!!
The entire hotel's staff was very very chilled out and ever-helping!!!
I will definitely come back to this hotel if I ever travel to Doha again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anisenkolkata0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brits
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We recently returned from U.S.A. We flew with Qater Airways, on the way home we had a 12.30 stop ovwe in Doha, because of this we were put up in a hotel over night. Being an ecconmy class passenger we expected a 3 star hotel.What a pleasent suprise we had it was a suite with all the trimmings. I do not know the cost but would guess it was very expensive. We were told the mini bar was complmentry stark horry only cool drinks!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

honestly we did not trust the hotel open check-in, but later we came to came to know that it's really good comparing to how much we pay. the restaurant is not big but good choices of food and all the staff was good. small comments no entertainer in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nada A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staying in a city so awash with money and conspicuously opulent living - it is suprising how dowdy and dull this hotel is. The advantage is that it is therefore more reasonably priced than its more luxurious neighbours - but I certainly wouldn't stay here on a personal trip. The whole place - even the supposedly non-smoking areas - are so redolent of tobacco smoke that it clings to your clothing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

...like in many modern hotels of this kind the windows are airtight locked and the aircondition could not be turned off, so instead of enjoing nice weather outside, I was freezing at night inhailing my own tobacco smoke. (These hotels make you consider quitting). Located pretty far from the main attractions, but close enough to downtown. Food was excellent, service very good, rooms spacious, clean and proper.

Room Tip: Rooms facing waterfront are obviously better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms are large and clean, the breakfast and evening buffet are lavishing, the location is convenient since taxi is anyway extremely cheap in Doha. There is no bar, but one can cross the street to Hilton and have a beer on the beach terrace, or walk for ten minutes to Marriot, near the shopping mall (the bar over there is cheaper, but the view is absent). The pool is rather small (its wider side is some 10 meters long), but it seems that it is never crowd. It is located at the first floor, and it is partially covered, such as to avoid the direct exposure to sunlight. The Internet in the room costs 50 Real (a little more than 10 Euro), and it is not very fast, but it is not slow either. A business facility is located in the first floor, and allows printing jobs. There is also a gym, which seemed to be open only for men. One may hear noise through the walls, coming from the neighbors...

Room Tip: If choosing a room with see view, do not expect the view to be fantastic, but it is good to have it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bboogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel West Bay Doha
0.2 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#26 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
2.7 mi away
Retaj Royale Doha
Retaj Royale Doha
#42 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melia Doha
Melia Doha
#37 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ezdan Hotel
Ezdan Hotel
#29 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
2.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#28 of 131 in Doha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel

Property: Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel
Address: Diplomatic Street | Dafna, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 131 Hotels in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel The Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the commercial and diplomatic district, and overlooks the West Bay area. With a full panoramic view of the bay, this newly built hotel features 360 spacious rooms and suites. The rooms are equipped to the finest standards, and the hotel offers a wellness centre, an outdoor swimming pool and a comprehensive range of food and beverage outlets. The Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel is just 15 minutes away from Doha International Airport, and is at walking distance to Doha City Centre Shopping Mall. There is also easy access to the Qatar International Exhibition Centre. With its fine accommodations and exceptional level of service, it is a perfect choice for both leisure and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retaj Al Rayyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing