We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well maintained rooms and nice breakfast. Reception staff need some manners though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha
Ranked #72 of 134 Hotels in Doha
London
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Clean, well maintained rooms and nice breakfast. Reception staff need some manners though”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had booked a suite room which was said to be suitable for 2 adults and a child. I was travelling with just my father and so sent a message in advance requesting twin beds instead of the one large and extra single on the side. When we arrived the reception staff kept asking if I had a child and if my dad was my dad? Not sure what they were implying here.

When we got to the room we saw they had set up a child's folding bed in the small lounging area of the 'suite' which led to the main bedroom. Despite the lack of space this created, it was a cosy room with nice decor and very comfortable.

The bathroom was also very big with a huge corner bath of the whirlpool/jacuzzi type. The shower was however awkwardly placed because the back of the bath had a wide border and therefore meant you couldn't stand directly under the shower head unless you half leaned on the wall. But unless they change the bath, which was really very nice, it's not an easy fix.

The location (although surrounded by dust and sand and some building work), was within walking distance of the local souqs, the masjid and the corniche.

I was also able to request an iron and ironing board from the desk too but these turned up in somewhat unexpected condition. The board having no cover (I used one of the towels from the bathroom for this) and the iron being partially broken.

The buffet style breakfast provided was very hearty and contained a huge selection of options from the very healthy to the very filling - catering to all tastes.

I enjoyed my time in Doha and this hotel was not a bad choice. I would say that they can improve on a couple of matters such as the preparation for their guests rooms before their arrival, the manner in which they address their guests (should always be of a high standard) and then the equipment being in a better state.

Anyway, other than the above smallish issues it was still a good hotel for the price.
Overall I would say it was a high 3* if not a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
23
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have stayed at many more expensive hotels than the Gloria in Doha, and had worse experiences. I chose this place as I had a meeting nearby early the next morning, and was expecting little more than a clean bed and bathroom. The location is great for the old town and the southern end of the Corniche, and the hotel was much better than I had expected bearing in mind the cost was less than half what most 5 star hotels were asking.

Check-in was straightforward with no waiting, and the room was just as good as a 5 star hotel. It was very spacious with a large comfortable double bed, decent clean bathroom (with rain shower), flat screen TV, free tea and coffee, free bottled water, free internet and an in-room safe. My room also had a great view of the Corniche. The only meal I had was breakfast, which was included in the room rate of QR 399, and was good, possibly with a bit less fruit on offer than some hotels, but still a 'live' omlette/egg station and enough else to choose from. I didn't use the pool or have time to look at it.

I would definitely stay here again on business when needing to be in the old town centre, although it is some distance from West Bay. It would also be a good choice for a stopover as it is close to the airport, and I understand that the hotel can arrange free transfers.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with views of the Corniche
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 0123Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I stayed 1 night as stop over to Europe from Australia. Food was great, good quality and plenty (buffet breakfast, buffet dinner). Staff extremely helpful. Clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay there again. Hotel has airport shuttle service, great as only other transport option is taxis and they can be expensive. Walking distance to the 2 souks and musuem of Islamic art, all well worth looking at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aries055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

What a fantastic experience. I was picked up from the airport as prearranged (free of charge) and even taken to a bank to change some money before going to the hotel. The room was great with a huge (and I mean huge) double bed that could sleep 4. Breakfast started at 6.30am but got in at 6.00am with no questions asked and very nice food. Hotel buffet for dinner was excellent value at 55riyals. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again and what a fantastic location - 10 mins walk from Al Corniche Road and Souq Waqif. The hotel even aranged a free hotel taxi to take me to the airport at midnight. Hope you enjoy your stay at this great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at Gloria for one night as a stopover and I find this Hotel is great considering the location. It is a short drive from airport and they provide you the shuttle service or taxi paid by the hotel. The room and dinner buffet was great for the price. It is walking distance from the Museum of Islamic Art and other water front activities and the Doha Square area where there are some shopping activities. The hotel was kind enough to give us access to B'fast buffet even before its opening since we had to rush to the airport around 6.00 AM.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryLankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I have stayed here numerous times mostly overnight. Pretty comfortable and ideal for business travelers.
Food wise you don't have many options, but their buffet menu should make you feel OK.
Service was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vigneshwarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel is very adequate but it's not the kind of place you will talk about long after you leave. Everything is a bit dated and the beds are hard but it has all the usual essentials. Internet is free and, as other reviewers have said, it's within walking distance to the Souq Waqif. We were there for two nights and had to constantly get the electronic keys to the rooms reset which was frustrating but the staff were nice. The concierge,Roberto, was helpful. The breakfast was absolutely fine, a good range of hot and cold food and the shuttle from the airport was efficient.The proximity to the mosque was a bit close for our liking as it meant very early morning starts and there was also considerable construction noise from nearby buildings. A four star rating would be about right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellergirl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.2 mi away
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Gulf Horizon Hotel
#103 of 134 in Doha
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
0.0 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#47 of 134 in Doha
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#59 of 134 in Doha
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Doha
Movenpick Hotel Doha
#26 of 134 in Doha
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha

Property: Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha
Address: Al Sharq, Old Salata, Safilia Street, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 134 Hotels in Doha
Hotel Class:5 star — Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing