We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard luxurious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Standard luxurious hotel”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I have stayed in the Gloria twice in the past 2 years and each time has been good. Rooms and beds and bathrooms are all super massive and come with standard huge TV and internet. It is consistently clean and staff are warm and friendly. It is conveniently located 5min walk from the museum of Islamic art and 15 min walk from Souk Waqif.

The best thing about this hotel though is the colossal amount of high-quality food they feed you in the restaurant which is consistently excellent. Moreover, the roof top pool is great, especially when you take the lift from the light lit hall ways to the penthouse - the elevator doors open and you are presented with a barage of arabian light glancing of the shimmering blue of the pool with the Corniche in the background. This is of course a great place to watch the sun set. Theres a gym and sauner up there too.

The Gloria is great. There are better hotels than this but then, hotels in Qatar only go from 4stars and up! I am sure I will visit this place again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trowelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
12
23
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
302 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

The Gloria Hotel in Old Salada is right in the heart of Doha and within walking distance to the Islamic Art Museum, the Islamic Cultural Center and the Souq Waqif, so it was the perfect location for our 2-day visit.

We ended up with a suite after my husband was able to take over one of his collegue's rooms. He started out in a single smoker's room that was very small, cramped and smelled awful. It's well worth your effort to request a non-smoking suite. We had a nice, small sitting room with a TV, fridge, water pot and desk, a good-sized bedroom for this area with a very comfrotable bed and a nice sized bathroom with a corner whirlpool tub. NOTE: If you have trouble getting in and out of a high bathtub, this is NOT the room for you. The tub is very high.

Our room included a free daily paper and breakfast buffet, which was average, but nice that it was included. Also free internet, which was a bit slow, but at least included unlike many of the hotels in this area. My only dissatisfaction was with the elevators, which were horribly slow, and the pool area, which was very small and didn't have many sun chairs. There is also a very small gym, but I didn't spend any time there.

All in all a good value for the price and a prime location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Great Hotel if you want to feel as if you are really in Qatar......not just any hotel in the world.
Stayed as tourists for a week and cannot praise the staff.
We had trouble cashing travellers cheques (basically no banks or hotels touch them).
Reception staff rang aroung one whole morning to find somewhere. As they were unsuccessful couldnt help us in other ways enough.
Great location for walking to souks, fishing harbour and corniche.
Good variety of buffet meals.
Would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJandMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
346 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The hotel is well located just 10 minutes walk from the Museum of Islamic Art, the Corniche and the (rather less interesting) Souq Waqif. It is also a convenient 15 mins from the airport and the hotel provides an efficient and complimentary airport transfer. The rooms are fine, the breakfast ok but not extraordinary. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Given that the hotel is half the price of many others in Qatar it offers great quality for the price and I found it ideal for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The rooms were fine even I got woken up at around 4:30 or 5 in the morning since the muezzin which is next to the hotel was calling for prayer. The staff was friendly and helpful. The interieur was ok, not old fashioned but stylish neither. The swimming pool on top was nice but a bit small and so was the gym. For a 3 star hotel ok but not more than average.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyewash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I have stayed in the Gloria twice before and will be staying again for a week in October. This is one of a few hotels I stay in on business where I could also enjoy a family holiday. The service is first class - nothing is too much trouble for the staff and when they say they will do something - they do it. The hotel is well located and has excellent facilities. The approach road was yet to be finished when I last visited due to nearby contruction work but has zero impact on my stay. The nearby Islamic Art Museum is also well worth a visit - All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManofYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

At first we were a little disappointed with the location of the Gloria as it was not in the centre of the city. Having stayed there we were actually very happy with the location as it is representative of real Doha. If you stay directly in the city it is just like any other modern city. The hotel is very clean, spacious with excellent service. We hired a driver for the day and went to Villagio shopping centre and to the Paerl development 0 incredible but quiet.
The hotel has construction sites around it but everywhere does. It did not bother us at all. I would recomend you visit a market 8sorry cannot recall name but everyone will know it) known for its gifts and jewellery which is approx. 4 km's from the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel as an excellent value for a short stay in Doha.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod13x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.2 mi away
Horizon Manor Hotel
Horizon Manor Hotel
#51 of 135 in Doha
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gulf Horizon Hotel
Gulf Horizon Hotel
#101 of 135 in Doha
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saraya Corniche Hotel
Saraya Corniche Hotel
#47 of 135 in Doha
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Ocean Hotel
Golden Ocean Hotel
#60 of 135 in Doha
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Riviera Hotel
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha

Property: Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha
Address: Al Sharq, Old Salata, Safilia Street, Doha, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Hotel Class:5 star — Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha 5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lexington Gloria Hotel Doha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing