We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Ranked #1 of 138 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Second time at the W Doha, big improvement in 9 months. Staff are really efficient, pleasant, helpful and enjoyable to be around (unlike some other W hotels where they are annoying!). Rooms are also perfect.

Managed to get a great discounted room rate online (much cheaper than Sheraton), food is expensive although the quality and menu choices are good. Bliss spa also overpriced!

Airport pick-up is seamless, management are above standard - following up on any complaint or comment. Will def book here again and thoroughly recommend it..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJMacQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your review, we are so delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us!

Our talent work very hard to ensure our guests receive Whatever they want Whenever they want it, so I was especially pleased to see that you have seen an improvment in our services.

We can't wait to welcome you back so you can try them again.

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,688 - 1,694 of 1,940 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the W hotel in Doha from the 22-24th of August this year.

Our experience at the hotel was mostly very enjoyable, but we had some issues when departing that we did not expect from a five star hotel.

Upon departure we asked the concierge to book a taxi for us to go to the airport, and requested that she ensure that the taxi arriving would accept US dollars, as we preferred to pay with this currency. We had been informed earlier by the W hotel staff at the airport that this would not be a problem. However the concierge initially offered us a limousine to take us to the airport when we explicitly asked for a taxi. We then informed her that we did not want a limousine, but a meter taxi, and we repeated we wanted to pay in USD. The concierge informed us politely that it would take a long time to get a taxi and that it wasn’t possible to pay in USD. This was a big surprise since the staff at the airport already told us it would be possible to pay in USD and since we already had paid several taxies in Doha with USD. After again assuring us this was not possible, my husband took it upon himself to walk to the City Shopping Centre which is right next to the hotel, and within minutes he had returned with a taxi that accepted US dollars. Also, the taxi manager outside the shopping centre said that paying US is never a problem with taxis.

Now, as customers to a five star hotel, we find it quite disturbing that we have to get our own taxis from a next store shopping centre, simply because the concierge is not able or willing to do so. As a result of this, we will probably never return to a W-hotel, since price and quality did not correspond.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maria_mdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Guest Relations Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your review, I must sincerely apologise for the inconvenience that you encountered at the hotel. I can assure you that I have spoken to all the talent to advise them of the issue of using USD in the taxi's and I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention.

As with many of the 5 star hotels in Doha, we use a company for our guest transportation, the main reason for this is that this is a much more reliable service for our guests, as sometimes there can be a delay getting a metered taxi to the hotel. That said, the talent can always arrange whatever transportation you may need, and I was very disappointed that this did not happen on this occasion.

Once again, I would like to pass on my sincere apologies and I do hope that you will consider the hotel on your next visit to Doha, as we would certainly welcome the opportunity to make this up to you, please just contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

As I used Tripadvisor to help choose between this hotel and four seasons, i also noticed that the guest relations manager is reading these reviews. So for all who are interested in staying at the W in Doha, and for the guest relations manager, here are a few highlights.

The hotel is still very new, and I have to give the staff 10/10 for trying to be friendly, however sometimes the friendliness does become a bit annoying, I guess the idea of everyone on first name basis is a W thing. At the time of staying, room rates were still reasonable, this was however quickly tempered by the prices of the restaurants, mini bar and spa, which carried the high end prices you would expect form W. The location is still in a bit of a building site, however not really noticeable if your staying just for business. As checkout was a bit rushed I called down for the bell boy, asked for my bill to be printed and have a car ready to go to the airport, all of this took nearly 20 minutes, but again, i put this down to the fact that the staff are still new.

In conclusion, while the rates remain 100USD per night cheaper than Four Seasons, W will take my business, however staff efficiency needs to be dramatically increased if they expect to compete on a level playing field.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your recent review, we always appreciate constructive feedback and take it very seriously, as you can see by the replies to the reviews posted by our previous guests.

I have to apologise for the delays in the service, I can assure you this was the exception and not the norm, however we will certainly look into this service failure.

Please let me know when you will next be visiting, as we look forward to welcoming you back, where I can assure you, you will receive some speedy service!

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

i was visit at market with my friend,i ask to one of chef make for me indian food.chef make for me excellent indian food.i was forget to give him thank you.thank you for
nice food.also service staff thank you.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank dipudev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted to hear that our team were able to provide you with our award winning "Whatever Whenever" service.

You have to make sure you come back to try some of our new dishes on the menu.

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

W hotel is my oasis in Doha. I infact found this hotel in 2009 and has no hesitate to be my choice from the begining as to my experience to other W hotels. The hotel is trendy and cozy. The location is close to city center. The room is fabulous. I love the I POD docking station in the room. Most of the staffs are friendly. There is a need of improvment for the housekeeping, where staffs should be attentive to details. There was a dry blood spot on the matress protector before I stayed in the room but the matress protector had not been changed till I saw it and asked them to change. The explantion from the supervisor was " I was away on leave" , I would think the hotel would have problem if it has to rely on one person only. It didn't seem professional answer to me.....not me.. it someone's fault
However, there is a good try to ensure the standard service has been provided.

The funny thing is I have to ask for newspaper every couples day till the last 5 days that I got delivered newspaper on time. Thanks to the staffs at "wheels' who took care of it.

My breakfast was included in the rate, but I had not been told by the check in staff where to have breakfast. I had to tell her, my rate had included breakfast and she came' oh yes' Normally most of the hotels will brief the guest upon check in for their facilities but not here. I have to ask for everything included the SPG lounge, and the staff can't answer me immediately. She took time to check and came back with the name and location but not the timing to use. I think they need training for the hotel details.

The lounge for SPG member is only open till 6pm which the hotel should consider for more hours operate for SPG member as it has been shared with the Chrstyal club.

What I like the most is the free wifi internet in the hotel. The hotel should consider to change the internet plan to allow more days, not to do day by day connection which is annoying for long term staying guest.

In general, I think the hotel is a good place to stay, all you need to do is ignore the repeated mistake. I would recommend it for your business trip in Doha.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiiiangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Guest Relations Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your recent review, we certainly appreciate the time you took to provide us with some very valuable feedback.

We set very high expectations on our level of service that we provide, and it is feedback such as yours that allows us to continue to improve on our guests' experiences. I would like to take a moment to address a couple of the points that you raised in your review.

The first is to assure you that we have very strict standards on cleanliess, and I would like to reiterate that all the hotels linen is replaced on a daily basis, and I can assure you that the situation mentioned has been thoroughly investigated and the relevant actions taken.

Secondly, in regards to your points about the internet connection in the residences, we have recently upgraded the system to enable our residence guests to be "Wired" all day and avoid the problem of signing in each day. We are also currently reviewing our timings of the Club Lounge, and are looking at extending the hours, so watch this space!

I am pleased that our Wheels talent were able to help you with your newspaper request, and apologise that this was not a consistent service. We have also addressed the training concern in regards to making sure all our guests entitlements are explained at the time of check in.

Thank you once again for the review, and I am delighted that overall you had a great time at the hotel and we certainly welcome the opportunity to have you back as a guest at the W Doha.

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Very jazzy feel inside the room. Would be taken well by travellers who are young at heart.
Extremely comfortable beds and cushions.
Very good view from the hotel room.

Even the smallest of amenities are very carefully planned.
The decor and ambience is good. And the service very prompt.
Cool Staff. Cool hotel. Cool all around five on five.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pathbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your recent Cool review, we found it Hot Stuff!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I stayed at the W for 2 nights and I loved my experience!

Everything from check-in, to the beautifully decorated rooms and amenities. I would say that their biggest plus is their staff! Such a warm and genuine smile from everyone I encountered.

I would recommend anyone to try out Spice Market. Great food and ambience. The service excellent. Got some great recommendations from the Manager Adeel.

Only con would be all the construction around the hotel, but it´s Doha, so you would expect that from nearly every Hotel you stay at unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jramirez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDohaManager, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2010

Well hello there,

Thank you for your review, all our talent were blown away by your kind words. We have to agree with you, we are so proud of the job the team do!

Spice Market is great, and you'll be pleased to know that we have added a few new dishes, so make sure you come and try them on your next visit, Adel will be sure to recommend them!

Warm regards,

The W Doha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
2.7 mi away
Souq Waqif Boutique Hotels by Tivoli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#12 of 138 in Doha
1,402 reviews
7.2 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
0.6 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#27 of 138 in Doha
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Doha Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Doha Hotel & Residences

Address: West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#1 Spa Hotel in Doha
#1 Business Hotel in Doha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Doha
Price Range: $145 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Doha Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Doha Hotel & Residences is located in the prime West Bay area of Doha's city-centre. The multi-story structure of the building reveals panoramic views of the Arabian Gulf. W Doha brings a new flavor to the region as the first lifestyle design hotel in Doha. The hotel sets the standard for modern luxury accommodation in the city, offering residents all the benefits and amenities that come with being connected to a W. The design of W Doha is modern and contemporary with an infusion of the design elements indigenous to the region, including lighting, colors, and social areas. All rooms have IP telephones and digital safe boxes with laptop charging facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Doha Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Doha Hotel And Residences
w Hotels Doha
w Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing