We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, terrible pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Ranked #1 of 135 Hotels in Doha
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great rooms, terrible pool”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The W Hotel has great design and common areas. It also has 2 Jean George restaurants both of with are outstanding (Market and Spice Market). On Friday is brunch day with food stations in Spice Market. Very good. The only downside of this hotel is that it has a tiny swimming pool and only 8 or 10 tanning beds! Very strange and a huge mistake in design in my opinion. On the plus side, there is a Bliss Spa.

Room Tip: Some construction in the area woke me up daily. Ask for a room n the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hani A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear HaniAlma,

Thank you for the review, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself with us.

In regards to your feedback regarding our Pool Area, we are actually making some changes this summer, so we look forward to hearing your thoughts once the changes are made.

We look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Daniel Kingston
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    357
    83
    22
    18
See reviews for
149
291
162
941
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vestby, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well what can I say, First of all I seldom take the time to write any kind of hotel review unless I feel one is really needed to either warn people to steer clear or, in this case, to praise an establishment for making our stay one of the most fantastic experiences a guest can have. I want to scream from the rooftops to all uncertain but potential new guests that it is in their best interest to stay at W Hotel Doha. We are in the travel business and are heavy travellers, circling the globe on average 120 days of the year so trust me, my partner and I have been around.
We were guests for three nights and from the moment the doorman greeted us from our taxi we knew we had chosen a winner. The staff at W Doha really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home and did their best to ensure we were well looked after.
Aside from the awe-inspiring design, colour scheme, attention to detail, (like fresh fruit-infused water on the counters throughout the lobby), the real bonus was being greeted by smiles from the delightful staff.
Our room was pretty spectacular as well with every possible amenity waiting for us and everything in the room worked, yes something as simple as that but trust me so many hotels get that wrong! No burnt out lightbulbs for example; plumbing that had efficient pressure; curtains that kept out the hot desert sun and a fully stocked mini bar that had a selection of things people actually wanted to eat!
We, without a doubt, made a good decision by choosing to eat at the hotel. Spice Market Restaurant is Asian food that sends the taste buds into orbit with fresh explosions of flavour - the tasting menu is the way to go in order to sample as many culinary delights as possible. Market Restaurant is another winner with fresh tasty food, a wide variety of choices served by the most attentive staff.
We used the concierge to book us a few activities around the city and they went out of their way to help us. All the details were taken care of and within minutes I received a confirmation on my mobile that our activity was booked. Friendly and unbelievably efficient.
A stellar performance from every one of the staff and our congratulations and hats off to you all on a job well done. The W Doha is without a doubt truly one of the great hotels of the world. FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a non-smoking room if you are not a smoker. Smoking unfortunately is still permit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljeffOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDoha, General Manager at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hello traveljeffOslo,

Thank you for the great review, we were certainly very pleased to be one of the positive reasons for you to write a review and not fall in the other category.

I was delighted to hear that the team made the difference during your stay, we place very high standards on the level of service that we offer, and it was very satisfying to hear that we met your expectations.

Thank you again for your time to provide us with your feedback, and I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Doha.

Warm regards,

Safak Guvenc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Mark the Business center service attendant is well equipped with computer skill, always help me
with emergency business work, makes me feel at home at W Doha,
whatever whenever is truly happening at W business center for my need.
I love it..!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miaabood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Miaabood,

Thank you for your kind words about W Doha and our business centre "WIRED" in particular. We'll be sure to pass on your comments to Mark!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel is extremely trendy with well appointed rooms but the location is a major issue as it is opposite a 24 hour construction site and despite asking the check in staff for a quiet room, they put you in a room opposite the construction site, presumably assuming you are deaf. Then the next issue is that the hotel public areas are all smoking, they allow smokers to stand next to the sushi bar where fresh food is prepared. They can offer a Miichelin star "smoked salmon" of a different smoked variety. The excuse is that it is a local law. However, there is no smoking at breakfast so maybe the law does not apply at breakfast. Non smoking rooms are used by smokers and the hotel does not fine them sufficiently to stop the bad behaviour. Even the gym smells of smoke as it is near the club/bar. Not a hotel recommnended for anyone who wants to rest at night, be on form for work during the day, eat healthy food in a congenial atmosphere. The staff are friendly but not client driven.

Room Tip: High up and not opposite the construction site. Check the room before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianT859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hello BrianT859,

We are very sorry that your experience with us was not up to your expectations.

This is certainly not the level of service to which we pride ourselves.

I would you to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback in more detail. Feel free to reach out to me on E-Insider.wdoha@whotels.com

I hope we can be in touch soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent located Hotel with perfect Service.
very stylish, trendy.
Lots of expats on weekends at the bar.
DJs are present and have theme nights.
Take rooms in higher levels as there could be some noise from the bar/disco

Room Tip: all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerhard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello gerhard r,

Thanks for you great comments about W Doha! We appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time at the W in Doha - I usually stay near the airport but because I have been taken for dinner at the Spice Market restaurant at this hotel several times and loved it, I decided to give it a go.
I really liked the hotel from check-in to check-out. Rooms are large and bed and bedding very comfortable. Bathrooms are superb with excellent shower. As previously mentioned, the Spice Market is one of my favourites anywhere - It's simply fabulous with a beautifully diverse menu.
If you go to Doha, stay here but................(Note to General Manager: Please sort out the TV system. It takes forever to come on and the remote is unresponsive. I was messing with it for nearly 15 mins this morning and could not get past the menu page! To may just be the one in my room to be fair - 1307)

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello timchambola,

Thanks for the lovely review about our hotel. We're glad you had a good time with us!

I'm very sorry about the TV in your room. We are currently looking to source a new system, so we are sure you won't experience these problems anymore in the near future.

We hope to welcome you with us again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had never stayed in a W Hotel before so wasn't quite sure what to expect although I'd been told it would be good.....it was AMAZING!! All the staff we very welcoming and eager to oblige my every need.The hotel and room decor was very funky and I even shared some of the photos of my room on Facebook. My stay was due to me running a business event on-site and everything was perfect with no problems whatsoever. I would highly W Doha to anyone considering staying there. I willl be back.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-insider, E-Insider at W Doha Hotel & Residences, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hello Jane T,

Thank you for you very kind words about W Doha! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were worthy of a space on you Facebook timeline!

We hope to welcome you with us again soon!

All the best,
The E-Insider
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Doha hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Doha
0.6 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
1.5 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#10 of 135 in Doha
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
The Ritz-Carlton, Doha
#12 of 135 in Doha
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Doha Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Doha Hotel & Residences

Property: W Doha Hotel & Residences
Address: West Bay Area, Doha 19573, Qatar
Location: Qatar > Doha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Doha
#1 Spa Hotel in Doha
#1 Business Hotel in Doha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Doha
#4 Family Hotel in Doha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Doha Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Doha Hotel & Residences is located in the prime West Bay area of Doha's city-centre. The multi-story structure of the building reveals panoramic views of the Arabian Gulf. W Doha brings a new flavor to the region as the first lifestyle design hotel in Doha. The hotel sets the standard for modern luxury accommodation in the city, offering residents all the benefits and amenities that come with being connected to a W. The design of W Doha is modern and contemporary with an infusion of the design elements indigenous to the region, including lighting, colors, and social areas. All rooms have IP telephones and digital safe boxes with laptop charging facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Doha Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Doha Hotel And Residences
w Hotels Doha
w Hotel Doha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing