We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A business hotel rather than a tourist hotel”
Review of Golden Oasis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Oasis Hotel
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Muscat Governorate
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel as part of a diving package in Oman. Everything in the hotel was acceptable but there was no pool or bar area that you would want as a tourist. The breakfasts were acceptable and there was a wide range of food to suit all tastes. There was an excellent supermarket across the dual carriageway from the hotel where you could buy food and drink. Taxi drivers servicing the hotel didn't generally speak English which caused us some difficulties.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Golden Oasis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We cut our stay at the golden oasis short as we had had enough of the place. Staff were ok but rooms dirty. Location not bad but amenities poor. Room smelt like smoke and asked to change. Internet worked ok though.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place is cheap but there is a reason why. Friendly staff but the first room they gave me was filthy and hadn't been cleaned. I got another which had been cleaned but stank of stale smoke.
AC unit was extremely noisy. Main compliant was the noise from the nightclub below.

Room Tip: Another hotel?
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The location is not good for main Muscat attractions and the amenities are limited but it's unbeatable value for money at less than a third of the cost of the Intercontinental. I didn't experience any of the problems listed by others. The room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was fine - the beetroot dish was certainly a novelty!

The downstairs Mermaid Bar is a must for anyone who appreciates late night cultural fusion and surprise - say no more!

Room Tip: Away from the Mermaid Bar would be quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Moizht
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 after booking in on a 3 night stay. The hotel wasn't that inviting and the staff mediocre at best. We lasted one night. The place was terrible ... Take a closer look at your bed/sheets BEFORE you sleep ... UGH.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have to say that my stay could have been better, but for the price and with a free breakfast this place was worth it in spite of not having a pool and some of the comforts that would have gone down well. I had some issues with my room and was moved, the staff were reasonably helpful and I didn't have any problems. The only issue with this hotel is that it was a bit away from it all. but even with that being said taxis were cheap [just check with reception how much they should cost Oman - some cab drivers will rip you off since they don't have meters].

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124Chris124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat Governorate hotels
1.6 mi away
Riyam Hotel
Riyam Hotel
#1 of 4 in Muttrah
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Haffa House Hotel
Haffa House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Ruwi
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Downtown Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Al Falaj Hotel
Al Falaj Hotel
#2 of 11 in Ruwi
525 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Majestic Hotel
#6 of 11 in Ruwi
5 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Oasis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Oasis Hotel

Address: | Al Wadi Al Kabir, 117, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 93 Hotels in Muscat Governorate
Price Range: $46 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Oasis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Oasis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Oasis
Golden Oasis Hotel Oman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing