We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daymaniyat Islands Nature Reserve

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Daymaniyat is simply breathtaking with its richness of underwater life and the clear-calm waters; absolutely perfect for snorkeling. I don't dive but I can imagine diving in Daymaniyat to be quite fantastic.

The trip was organised by local friends. We took a boat from the Seeb Marina and the trip took about 90 minutes. We saw some sea snakes and a lot of jellyfish on our there and back - not much else unfortunately.

Don't forget to bring water, food for a bit of picnic on the sand, sunscreen, maybe mats if you want to lie around on the beach. We spent at least 5 hours in Daymaniyat and that's hardly enough. We couldn't get enough of snorkeling and playing in the water.

I wish patrons would stop littering the beaches of Daymaniyat. It would be a shame for the waste to get into the waters if the beach is not cleaned more frequently. Please take your rubbish home, people! >:-(

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank lapetitelucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good diving in October”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

About 45 minutes from the coastline by fast boat, the Dimaniyat island (various spellings) is a great place to dive. The fish are bigger and more plentiful than in Dubai, just up the coast, and the visibility is reasonable (this week, around 20m). The warm waters (30 C) attract whale sharks, stingray, shark of various kinds and a host of other reef fish.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Super diving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent time diving at Daymaniyat and granted, you don't get the same amount of fish as you do in The Red Sea of Egypt, we were lucky enough to see a whale shark and the coral is truly beautiful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DaniH0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
219 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A unforgettable getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Well protected and restricted destination. A one hour boat ride from Waves in Muscat. A great place to swim, snorkel or jet ski Would love to go again and spend swimming and relaxing.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AsimDalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We went from al Sawadi with a divers boat for the day. It was very rough but still worth going even though we were snorkelling. Interesting fish, turtles and lots of coral, tho not much colour in the coral.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daymaniyat Islands Nature Reserve also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Daymaniyat Islands Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing