We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It couldn't get any worse”
Review of El Paladar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Paladar
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Beirut
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It couldn't get any worse”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

So, I admit that we did the unforgivable crime of arriving at the place without a reservation.
The most unfriendly women waiter tells us that she can only make us sit at the bar.

That would be acceptable when you have a restaurant that is fully booked, but there was really NOONE except us (and it remained like that until we left by the way)...
So when I said that I will not accept sitting at the bar in a completely empty restaurant, she gave me the creepiest look ever, and she agreed to make us sit on a table.

We asked for a couple of drinks and some starters. The starters were nothing like Cuban, they were at best supermarket quality nuggets!!! The drinks were horrible, and still our bill managed to be a solid 70$ for two people.

I will never come back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasha_Abdallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent music ! Nice food !”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Excellent music ! Nice food and great cocktails ! and on Thursday nights, they have a Salsa night, where a group of artists give us a little show.. and then we can dance all night :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“You don't come here for the food, but for the atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Situated in the Achrafieh neighbourhood, the inside of this place is a sort of cavernous temple devoted to all that is tacky about postmodern kitsch interpretations of the 'Latin American', or just 'the Latin'! Of course, such excess and exuberance has its time and place, and it can be fully accepted when one is out on the raz for the evening in Beirut, party city of the Near East -- if not of the world.

Diners sit at tables around the edges of the restaurant, and the centre is dominated by a simply enormous bar, at which one can also take a stool and have a drink. A small stage is situated at one side of the room and, on the evening that my friends and I visited at least, was the setting for 'Latin' dances performed by a varied and colourful troupe of scantily-clad couples. There is not really much space here for guests to dance, but that's probably not what one goes here for! It's more about the ambience and the festive, party atmosphere.

To be honest, the food is not very good. It makes a passable attempt at 'Tex Mex' and you can eat it (like you can eat food in workplace refectories...), but you don't come here for the food -- you come here to party, to hang out with friends, to watch the dancers and -- if what we saw was anything to go by -- to have plenty of margaritas and other alcoholic beverages!

I wouldn't normally give four stars to a restaurant that serves food of the quality of that provided in El Paladar, but I have to hand it to these guys: they know how to pile on the party atmosphere, load up on the Latin kitsch, let down their hair, and ensure that their patrons have a wildly fun evening.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quentin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best fajita ever”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Best tex mex food ever, the salsa night is wooow, big recommendation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houssam_Alturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, excellent food.”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The place is very nice from the inside, it cascades the latin theme of the restaurant. the food choice is classical in my opinion and i didnt see much of innovation in it, but the quality and the taste are excellent. the service is very satisfying and the staff paid lots of attention to the details. The band was not the best in town, but it added a nice touch to the atmosphere.
I recommend this place for dinner with friends.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ramy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paladar also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing