We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Olio

Olio
Ranked #148 of 803 Restaurants in Beirut
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I visited the Hamra location. The ambiance is nice, food was OK. I found their meat dishes tastier than their pastas which were too dry and overcooked. Service was good although it seemed that many staff members were simply hanging out chatting to each other.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    57
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hamra branch to avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I am frequent visitor of Gemmayze . Recently I started to have business lunch at Hamra branch as well with friends. The service is NIL, the waiters are dragging themselves between tables without efficiency , the paper is thinker than the pizza (not related to any picture published) and major time are burned . The fast service is the check and even if you want to tip them , you can't find small bills with the cashier . As for the manager , I don't know if he exists :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Georges A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love the food and the mood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Olio is one of the restaurants I frequent, it has amazing pizza, risotto and steak. (I'm not a pasta fan, so my opinion in this sector would be biased)

If you like oven baked thin pizza then this is the place to go.

The Olio pizza is one of the yummiest pizzas. Their other selection if pizzas are also amazing, wether the goat cheese, or truffle oil, even the margarita tastes different..

What makes my visit more enjoyable is that Soto their japanese sister restaurant is across the street.

The restaurant owners are kind to allow us to mix orders from both restaurants.

So usually i order sashimi salad from soto, and have the olio pizza or steak as the main course (creating my own definition of surf and turf)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khaled J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

i came to olio hoping to have a delicious pizza to make up for all the bad pizzas i've eaten in cairo... but i thought their pizza was just average.

and the prices are definitely above average-- like nyc prices. so i dunno that i would really recommend this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank snadiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Italian kitchen in Lebanon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've been to oilo many times and it never fails to amaze me!
The Bruschetta is orgasmic, the pasta is sooo delicious and the pizza is good.
I would recommend the sea food pasta, it has so much flavor.
Olio is shared with Soto, a sushi restaurant and I must say its also one of the best sushi places in Lebanon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olio also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Been to Olio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing