We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money and excellant service.”
Review of Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza Hotel
Ranked #62 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here on 2 occasions within the same week. Each time the room was fantastic, the staff were friendly and helpful and for the price (we paid about £70 a night) you really felt like you were getting an excellant deal. The location is great, with good local shops and restaurants and within walking distance of most key tourist spots. Would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kw274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 157 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

I wanted a fairly central location (but at a good price) - the Plaza Hotel lives up to both of these.
It is within walking distance of the corniche and pigeon rocks, and has many cafes and bars within a couple of minutes of the hotel.

Rooms are comfortable, basic, but mine had a good bathroom. The TV stations available are terrible for English speakers - in general the signal reception was very poor - making it unwatchable.

Noise levels from the street are high - even with double glazing, so if you are a light sleeper - this is not the hotel for you.

One word of caution - DONT pay for the breakfast - it is of terrible quality, very limited choice and costs $12. My advice is to find a cafe nearby which I am sure will be better quality and cheaper. A shame that this was such a negative for a decent hotel

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Al1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed 4 nights - really good deal on hotels.com site. Very central location, Comfortable room, clean bathroom and good air conditioning. Room was on side street, so no loud noise.
Was wary after reading all the negative reports. However there was nothing to worry about -to my relief there were no cockroaches. Highly recommend this hotel.

Transport
Airport taxi- 20$ - this is the best rate, do not pay any more than 20 dollars, for a single journey anywhere within the city centre from/to Airport.

City centre taxi - we got taxis frequently around the city paying a standard 10 lebanese pounds for each journey. Taxi drivers would ask for 10 dollars but we would insist on paying 10 LP. Agree fee before commencing your journey.

Daytrips - Hotel staff will recommend a tour operator/or private transport citing security concerns/and lack of comfort on the buses. This is not the case and we did the local option for a fraction of the price and always felt safe. The buses ran on a very regular basis and were comfortable.

Byblos - Instead of paying for expensive tours - get a taxi to the Dawra /Dora transport junction. (Taxi 10,000 lebanese pounds).Take a local bus to Byblos (Bus Return 6,000 lebanese pounds ).

Baalbek - get a taxi to the Cola Station. (Taxi 10,000 lebanese pounds). Take a local bus to Baalbek . Buses will only depart when full. (Bus Return 12,000 lebanese pounds).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank boscotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed at the Plaza for 6 nights in May. The hotel is located in Hamra, a busy distric with a student vibe, with lots of cafes, shops and restaurants nearby, 10 min from the sea promenade.

Our room was nice - smallish and basic, but clean, with spotless towels and a clean bathroom, comfortable beds and a nice TV. You don't need anything else for a city break. One minor inconvenience was the hot/cold water regulation in the shower, sometimes unpredictable.

The staff were fantastic, going out of their way to help us and solve any problems we may have, always willing to make some calls to get us this or that. On the first day we had a minor accident in our room and although it was not possible to change rooms both the reception staff and the cleaning staff helped us in every possible way. Every time we asked them to help us they did their best.

We did not use the restaurant or air conditioning, we did however try to use the wireless, which was simply terrible - honestly the only thing that we could complain about, apart from that our stay was just fine.

The Plaza Hotel is great value for money in a very good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WydraWygra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was reading a lot of reviews before arriving to this hotel, so I was expecting a not so good experience. We stayed for 7 nights and I must say that the bathroom was not worn out at all and it was really clean and the room also was really clean. You must know that when a hotel is on Hamra street it will be noisy - it is a noisy street, but constant honking and loud music from cars are part of the Beirut experience. I must clarify one thing that all the people are complaining about and of course that it was a problem - the wi-fi: it is really slow because it is slow all over the Lebanon, it is not free because Lebanese people have really expensive internet ( Our friends form Lebanon told us that).
The staff was really helpful and all the problems we had with our room ( change the bulb, fix the shower plug) were resolved immediately.
I don't know much about the dinner in the hotel restaurant, but surely you don't come to Beirut to have dinner in a hotel..the breakfast was ok, not great, but I cannot complain.
One thing I didn't like concerns only the bellboy - we liked how the maids were really thorough with the every day cleaning and towels and everything (every day new shower cap!) so we left a tip for her in the room and we gave the bell boy his tip, but we forgot something in our room so we went back and we noticed that he took her tip . He was the only one who saw us leaving the tip for the maid when he was taking out luggage and it was 2am and during these 5 minutes only him could have taken the tip. It was a really s****y thing for him to do - but he is one guy, not the hotel...
So I would recommend this hotel to people who don't mind the noise of the busy street and since cleanliness is top 1 on my list when travelling I give 5 stars to their maids.
Everybody, have a lovely time in Beirut and party! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We spent four days at Plaza Hotel. In the week end the road is so busy and till 4 am we could not sleep due to the noisy road!!!! The breakfast is standard With no extra delicatessen! Absolutely standard and "poor" ! The dinner also is terrible!! To have falefel or other lebanese specialities has been very hard!!! the staff is nice but the restaurant is a perfect depressant!!! The wifi is not free!! Beirut is so beautiful that Can enable tourist to go in This hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed for 3 days for a weekend trip. Alltogether the hotel seems as a slow renovation, the TV is new, however there is no minibar. The bedding is nice, but the bathroom furniture needs an uplift.

Overall, it has nice bedding for a nice sleep and it is proximity to AUB, pigeon rocks, Hamra street is on the corner. The reception was gentle and easy and the housekeeping checked the room after us and brought the fogotten things just as we checked out, which was very nice.

I think location is nice and rooms are fine. although sometimes you need more relaxing space. Noise could be a problem esp if you got used to sleeping in non smoking rooms and need fresh air all night long and leave the windows open.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzyist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#41 of 114 in Beirut
332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Riva
Bella Riva
#54 of 114 in Beirut
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#100 of 114 in Beirut
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
35 Rooms
35 Rooms
#38 of 114 in Beirut
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cavalier Hotel
Cavalier Hotel
#35 of 114 in Beirut
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel

Address: Hamra Street | Hamra, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: $60 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing