We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Auberge Des Cedres
Ranked #82 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The truth is that we were disappointed. L'Auberge des Cedres has always been a hotel where I wished to stay but our experience wasn't as good as it expected especially that it is not a good value for money. Though the interior is cozy, at night it wasn't warm as it should (I understand snow is surrounding us everywhere outside but the heating system must be more efficient). The hotel is lovely -we should say- but it doesn't deserve the rate we paid for. It wasn't easy to get to this hotel as the wind turned the sign leading us to the place to the other side and our surprise at night was that the door connecting us from the lobby to our bungalow was locked!!! Even the receptionist was sleeping on a mattress in the middle of the lobby and didn't notice us. We had to enter from behind, watching out our steps not to fall.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

L'Auberge des Cedres is the best hotel to spend your Christmas holiday at
The North of Lebanon.
The rooms are lovely, cozy & clean....and have a Nespresso coffee machine
The location is very nice, in a calm area, not too close to the main road !!
The food is good, good service and all the staff are welcoming !!
I love the breakfast, and the warm bread and croissants....Home made jams and lovely olives !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabellalucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel staff were very polite and helpful, restaurant was great and very quiet, visitors were few but food quality and service were still excellent. Nearby we visited the cedar forest and the next day we hired ATVs with a guide to reach just below the highest summit in Lebanon. At night the hotel area was extremely quiet and too wild to dare a walk. The overall impression with this hotel was excellent except the nearby construction that we did not expect at such a remote place. Hotel management should indicate that at their web page or on booking.com. Will likely visit this place again after checking with the management regarding the construction next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The location of the hotel is great for visiting the Cedars & the surroundings. The interior is warm & cozy: paintings, sculptures & different artifacts adorn the walls and space of the auberge, giving a uniique & authentic character to the place.

The view from the bedroom was really nice overlooking the facing mountains & the green stretch ahead the bungalows. The staff was very friendly & helpful.

Yet, we would have appreciated more food varieties for the breakfast & more sophisticated menu platters. Moreover, a daily cleaning of the bedroom & especially the bathroom is recommended since we stayed there for over a night. We were also a bit annoyed by the noisy doors closing/opening in the bedrooms as well as the keylock system. This is quite horrid for a light sleeper.

Overall, it was a nice stay although a bit overpriced for the low season with the available services.

Room Tip: Preferably chose a bedroom at the rear facing the bungalows at the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We went there for one night to celebrate our marriage anniversary. Having never been to the Cedars, it was a splendid retreat from the city. The snow covered all the houses. The auberge has a very helpful friendly staff. The food was great. The room was good, not a 5* hotel, but all you need is there. The room was equipped with 4 heaters so it was pretty warm inside. We also had an adjacent balcony that overlooked the snowy mountains. The morning view was amazing. I would definitely go back there.

Setback:
The bathroom has no bidet, only a toilet…

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReemDoughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We went on Valentines day and it was fantastic! Rightin the heart of the mountains with plenty of snow. It was warm and cosy in our cabin and the food was fantastic! Bcharre is the closest town and theres plenty to see there, probably the most picturesque town I saw on my trip. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The log cabins are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We wanted to visit the Cedars, over the busy Virgin Mary's Day 15th Aug weekend. We asked friends and were told that L'Auberge des Cedres was the best placed to stay but that all mountain hotels were "basic". Whilst it isn't a 4 seasons, we were delighted to find a gem of a hotel with staff who were all extremely helpful. There are 3 places to stay at L'Auberge: 1. The actual hotel building 2. The charming 2 person chalets in the garden and 3. The larger chalets a few hundred metres from the main hotel building. We were explained this over the phone when booking the rooms which we found very helpful. We elected to stay in the actual hotel building mainly for the children not to have to walk for meals & entertainment. This worked for us extremely well and we feel we made the best choice. For the romanitcs, the garden chalets/bungalows are perfect and they are in the back yard of the hotel. For those that want more space, the further chalets are much larger, at the trade off of having to walk to the hotel building for meals & entertainment. We took a 3 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment in the hotel building and it was very spacious, clean, well furnished and very charming. On the 1st floor are lateral rooms spaced out on 1 floor, which we opted for for the benefit of the kids. The 2nd & 3rd floors have some cute rooms that were duplexs, great living areas, large balconies & even a terrace in some rooms, 1 room even had a fire place in the living room, perfect if you are okay with stairs for young toddlers. 1 tip, electric sockets are tough to find in the rooms. We had to unplug lamp shades to to find power sockets and so next time I will be bringing an extension cord so that I can get mobile, ipad, laptop, hairdryer etc. all charged without having to juggle. The staff were all extremely warm, friendly and helpful. Charbel the manager, Hilal, Bilal, Elie, Mustafa, Fawaz, all fantastic. Nothing was impossible & the staffs attention to detail made all the difference. For e.g. when we asked for playing cards, next thing you know, a table to play cards was set up in the middle of the lounge, table cloth, 2 packs of cards, paper & pen for keeping score, side tables for drinks & ash trays. There are 2 playrooms in the hotel, which made a huge difference to both us adults and our children. The younger ones used the play room underground with soft play and other kids toys, and we older kids (adults) played pool, pinball and hung out in the pool room. Make sure you buy enough coins every day, my advice is every morning give the manager (Charbel) how much you need in coins and it will be ready for you in the evening. The lounge lobby was so charming, although we were there in Aug, it was fresh & cold in the evenings, and we had the fireplace going. There is a "Lodge" in the garden that serves as a bar/loung/club and one of the nights there was a great live band. If you want to visit the Cedars, Bsharre, Wadi Qadisha & Qanubine and these amazing places, L'Auberge is the place to stay. They even arranged a tour guide for us to have for 2 days and were very pleased with the 2 days of sight seeing. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms are lateral, making it ideal for a family with kids. The 2nd & 3rd have dup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dany032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Hotel
Monteverde Hotel
#70 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Galleria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Al Jamila Suites
Al Jamila Suites
#75 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
#52 of 117 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lancaster Tamar Hotel
Lancaster Tamar Hotel
#40 of 117 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Key ApartHotel
The Key ApartHotel
#18 of 117 in Beirut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge Des Cedres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Des Cedres

Property: L'Auberge Des Cedres
Address: Shore & Mountain Resorts | Cedars, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L'Auberge Des Cedres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Des Cedres Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing