We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Riva
Nearby Hotels
$128
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
$170
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$100
$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$216
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
$239
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saifi Suites(Beirut)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$124
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveler rating
27
36
16
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
36
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshamra streettravel agental hamramin walkperfect locationtaxilebanon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 87 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2009

We arrived early in the day to our hotel at the Bella Riva. The staff was okay, but not especially warm. (Perhaps because we are American? But cool Americans I might add.) They took our passports for nearly 2 days which made me slightly nervous, but I barely noticed it was gone. Our (standard- $90) room was clean and the housekeeping staff was fun and gracious. The breakfast was adequate and it helped to fuel the day.
This is where the positives stop. Our room was located right above the kitchen and/or right below the happiest, heaviest computer chair rolling derby contestant of the area. Starting at 6:00 am, the load banging, rolling and sliding commenced. Which is okay as we needed to get up and on our way. However, I am sorry to say the noises did not cease at normal business hours. In all, I think we had maybe 3 hours per night of uninterrupted sleep. (This is with earplugs and the fan blowing at top speed.) The staff was mostly annoyed that we commented. They never did anything to help us and their attitudes turned noticeably sour from that point on.
Outside of our hotel we were greeted with some of the most welcoming people we have met in the world. Families brought us into their houses, new friends showed us everything they new about their country, and even the soldiers offered warm conversations. Honestly, we avoided the hotel at all costs so as to not damper the mood.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

We arrived late into Beirut....
After the five hour flight and the ordeal that is Beirut traffic, we were both ready to collapse into bed. Check in was quick and efficient - even with the language barrier - and our room allocated. Upon arrival into the room we discovered that neither the air-con nor the safe worked. A call to reception had someone come to the room to fix it in under 1 minute. Unfortunately he was unable to fix the problem and a new room had to be assigned... This all took under 30 mins and was handelled well by the property, but as I said... It was late and we were tired... It would have been better if it did not happen at all.

The hotel itself is a pleasant 3 star property. We stayed in the cheapest of room catagory available, and for what we paid, I was more than happy. The carpet, furnishings, decor and fittings were basic and perhaps a little dated, but my word did they keep what they had to work with clean! Every day we came back to a spotless room smelling strongly of cleaning products (in a good way).

The lobby is a sea of marble and nicely furnished in a middle eastern style with various seating areas. Breakfast is provided daily buffet style and consists of fruits, cheeses, breads, juices, spreads, cerial, some middle eastern foods, tea and coffee

We were able to have a look through several of the other room catagories available during our 14 night stay (when they were un-occupied) and can safetly say that the suites and deluxe rooms we saw were also spotless. In addition they are extremely sizeable with much newer carpets and fittings. Probably worth the little extra that they cost - which we contemplated doing several times during our stay.

The hotel is centrally located. It is around 100 meters (2 minute walk) from Beirut´s famous Corniche on one side, about 400m (10 minute walk) from Pidgeon Rock on another side (with its restaurants and casino) and perhaps 500m (15 minute walk) from Hamra Street in another direction. The one downside is that apart from the Corniche, everything else is up a rather steep hill for the first 100m. We found the position great, although it is quite a walk (over 30 mins) along the seafront to the newly renovated downtown area. However can I just remind any readers of this review that a 30 min walk along the Corniche as the medditerranian laps at the rocks, children jump into the sea, fisherman wait for a bite, couples smoke shisha and hold hands as the warm breeze caresses your skin is NOT a bad thing!!!!

If and when we go back to Beirut, if the price was as good as before, we would probably stay at the Bella Riva again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonBusinessAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I booked a standard room with a double bed for me and my wife...cost around $94 with taxes...and was upgraded to executive suite without asking (maybe they had low occupancy and because it was my first time with them..but I was pleased with that)...nice cosy lobby with plenty od comfy sitting area in a shape of a lounge..Location was good...2 minutes walk to the sea front and a good "Lamb house resturant"...they do not have a resturant in the hotel...so you have to eat out...you can easily order food from various beirut resturants to be delivered to your room by couriers..only breakfast is served from 7-11 am comes free with the room...room servise only serves cold and hot drinks plus drinks from the lobby bar which has no stools to sit at...we had good sea view that came with the suite...all in all...good value for money and clean hotel..

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thethirstykuwaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Very friendly and helpful staff on the reception. Very nice breakfast included, and the sitting lounge is very welcoming. In my room there was a Mini Bar. Its a small fridge with various types of drinks amd nuts,its not free, each item is priced and you pay for what you consume at the end.However, for a none smoker like me i appreciate a fresh clean air to breath in the room,unfortunately the guest who stayed before me was a heavy smoker and the smell of cigarettes was still strong.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank charlesdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews