We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just city hotel”
Review of Napoleon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napoleon Hotel
Ranked #100 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Cracow
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Just city hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Napoleon has a very good location just few steps from Hamra Street and not far from Cornische. The property is not really modern, the building and some facilities are from late 60's. But it has quite nice atmosphere. The rooms were refreshed and are quite comfy with new beds, TV's and clean bathrooms. The rest of the euipement is rather outdated. Unfotunatelly there is no free WiFi concetion in the rooms. the staff were generally friendly and professional. Good breakfast was included in the price. No health/spa facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    34
    12
    20
See reviews for
14
28
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The location is perfect, just few steps from famous Hamra Street and not far from Corniche (about 15 min on foot). On the next street to the hotel there is a big market with food ect. The Napoleon is quite nice and offer good standard of service. The staff were very friendly and helpfull, the check-in and out professional. Good breakfast buffet included in the room price. The room was quite spacious but rather outdated. Equipment was old and need to be refreshed. The bathroom was clean. There is no free WiFi in the room and I was unable to conect with the pay service. Generally Napoleon is good choice for 1-2 nights stay in reasonably price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is an inexpensive hotel located close to the center in an old district full of cafes and small shops. The room was OK. However, the hotel needs refurbishing. Wi-fi is not free and the signal is not very good.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Napoleon for 5 nights because we were in town for a wedding in Beirut. We were really impressed with the hotel's location in Hamra. It felt very safe and was very close to Hamra street, which is a very modern street good for shopping, bars, and restaurants. It also is about a 15 minute walk from the seashore. When we arrived, we were assigned a very small room on the 3rd floor that had a wet spot on the floor from a leak from the air condition unit. It was very musty in the room, but after we talked to the hotel staff, they gave us an upgraded junior suite on the second floor which was very large and nice. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was pretty clean. We didn't have a great experience with the wireless internet in the room or in the lobby, but then again, we didn't really find a public wifi spot in Beirut that had fast wireless, so it may have been an larger issue. The last night, there was an issue with the hot water, but the issue was resolved in a couple hours. The hotel staff was overall very friendly with us. The breakfast was decent, with coffee/tea/juice, cereal, a fruit mix, and a mix of Lebanese food (cheese, olives, pita). We paid $99 per night which was the rate secured for us by the wedding organizers. For this price, I think it was a good value, but I wouldn't want to pay more than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hamra is definitely the section of Beirut to stay in during a visit--it's got most of the shopping and a lot trendy bars (though other areas are less expensive). The Napoleon is stiffly formal in some ways, which can be reassuring, but the formality has to be backed up. Reception staff couldn't help with currency exchange--even though it's offered on a sign behind them. A question about getting a pre-paid sim card led to a two block odyssey with the doorman and an attempt to get me to buy a permanent (i.e registered) mobile number, with a guy in pyjamas throwing several packs from his window..Breakfast was basically horrific. WIFI was incredibly expensive in the rooms and the lobby spots were always dominated by first-come-first-serve businessmen. Worst of all, the main guy at reception asked me four days in a row if I was leaving, in increasingly suspicious tones--when my accommo had been arranged by the AUB and they had settled it with his manager. The rates are quite high for a hotel of this level, averaging around $100 USD a night. The rooms are fine but really, you can do better by walking half a block down the street.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beirut hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

just back from a 7 night stay and have to say was very pleased with my choice in beirut
the hotel is very central and a very short hop from the bars/restaurants in hamra
wi-fi was free (and reasonably fast) in reception but was a crazy $11 an hour in the room
hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were always friendly and courteous.
overall a great trip in a reasonably priced cenral hotel..would thoroughly recommend

Room Tip: try and ask for a room at the front...much better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have just came back from my Beirut trip. Stayed at the Napoleon Hotel for 7 days in a room at 5 th floor.
The hotel is nice, clean & comfy but basic. The staff is very friendly, ready to help you always.
The location if perfect just 2 minutes away from the main street Hamra and close to the Corniche, walking distance actually all the main tourist attractions are within walking distance.
This hotel is situated opposite the Mayflower hotel that I could see from the balcony.
Before I've booked this hotel I was very concern especially reading all the bad comments but as I found out latter on there was no need. I was looking for a hotel with good location and clean rooms and this hotel had it all. My stay in Napoleon Hotel was very good, I will definitely be back to this hotel next time.

Room Tip: Room 505 on 5th floor, quiet and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.1 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#102 of 117 in Beirut
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#37 of 117 in Beirut
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caesar's Park Hotel
Caesar's Park Hotel
#96 of 117 in Beirut
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bella Riva
Bella Riva
#51 of 117 in Beirut
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Duroy Hotel
Le Duroy Hotel
#83 of 117 in Beirut
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Suite Hotel
City Suite Hotel
#63 of 117 in Beirut
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Napoleon Hotel

Property: Napoleon Hotel
Address: 62 North Yafet Street, Beirut, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#79 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Napoleon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napoleon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing