We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamra Street

Hamra Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$84.00*
and up
Private Tour: Museums of Beirut Day Trip
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Its my favorite place in Beirut, I used to come here everytime when I was in Lebanon, there are plenty of restaurants, coffeeshops, bars, shops, bookstores, art galleries, and its close to everything (cinemas and corniche, the seaside)

Its crowded and u see people from everywhere, but i truly love it...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank narasoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    318
    172
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Beware, American Cafe Culture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Hamra district for four nights in March 2013 so we spent quite a bit of time on Rue Hamra. Apparently, the show Homeland portrayed Hamra as a hotbed of terrorism in 2012. If you consider Starbucks, Caribou Coffee, Gloria Jeans Coffee, a Marriott hotel, and American diner food as terrorism, then I guess Rue Hamra fits Homeland's portrayal.

We found Rue Hamra to be lively with lots of people out in the evening and bumper to bumper traffic. My favorite aspect of the street were the cozy bookshops (again another sign of terrorism?)

If you venture down here, make sure you stop at the toy store Teddy Land, just off of Hamra on Sadat Street. The friendly proprietor with talk your ear off about every subject imaginable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason_Klimowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“a must visit when in Beirut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

some of the most famous coffee shops, restaurants, Pubs, hotels are situated in this renovated old street of Beirut... Over crowded and noisy at night.. but a must visit

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameltamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good for restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a good street to amble down in the evening and choose your venue for food and drink. There are various coffee shops and fast food outlets as well as more established restaurants and a few tucked away bars. Try Cafe Hamra, it is like a Lebanese Hard Rock!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kwb4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
122 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Street with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A good selection of stores, a much more refreshing way of shopping than being in malls. There are a number of stores here, from the local ones to the large names, the local ones are the most fun

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeKAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamra Street also viewed

 

Been to Hamra Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing