We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Hotel Beirut

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riviera Hotel Beirut
Ranked #55 of 119 Hotels in Beirut
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here recently for a conference so I don't actually know how much the hotel costs. The rooms are just okay --certainly not 5 star--and the breakfast buffet is good but not great. What is fantastic is the location and the view. Situated on the corniche, the view of the Mediterranean is unbelievably gorgeous and you can easily walk to Hamra and along the Corniche or up to Pigeon Rocks. The hotel is quite, quite comfortable and I have no complaints but it may be advertising as 5 star, which it is not quite.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdesi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    76
    38
    12
    18
See reviews for
21
47
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

I'll just start by saying this a good hotel that is clean and the service is very good. The view (depending on which side the hotel you are situated) is the big blue ocean.
We were given complementary gym passes for the time we are at the Riviera, the service was fast and the staff was so polite.
No complaints. The decor could use some upgrades but overall, it felt safe and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teisterschoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

With their very competitive early bird rates you can not get a better deal in that location. The first impression was really bad when the the receptionist messed with my credit card. First of all taking all the payment in advance upon check in was an uncommon practice in hotels I've been to. However I had no problem with that and handed her my card, she made the transaction twice and I got a text message from my bank that 2 transfers had occurred. But the lady had another opinion, she said that the transaction failed and still wants me to pay with another card or cash! After many long debates with my bank and their bank they claimed that they will reject the payment and will send it back to my bank but now I have to pay in cash ! Sadly My bank suspended my credit card and I couldn't use it during my whole stay ! I paid all the cash I have to them and stayed with no budget all the 4 days in Lebanon ! Simply they ruined my vacation.

The good things : the location for sure, few minutes from El Hamra St. and El Rawsha rock . The pools are amazing, pool parties are crazy and you can also have access to the sea from the pool side. There are also some jet skis and sea activities.
The room was average in size and very clean, no noise at all. The house keeping was convenient. The bed was cozy. The room service was fast and the food was tasty and hot.

Everything seemed to be perfect if only that silly situation hadn't happened upon check in.

I would probably go back to Riviera but with a lot of cash and no credit cards this time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank H_Gamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Room was not clean, room service response was slow and poor (I had to call 4 times to get an answer about breakfast and manage to get a menu), I could not get anything else than 4 bed pillows that were so thick I could not use any, quality of service and food at the cafè quite poor, and the morning I left I went into the room before checking out and found one of the staff was using the toilet... really disappointing. It may be the off-season effect, but I found the entire service and place a lot more shabby than it used to be during summer.
For a hotel that pretends to be a 5 stars, not really a 5 stars service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraHotelBeirut, General Manager at Riviera Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Mrs. Graziani,

Greetings from Riviera Hotel Beirut!

Allow us first to thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are of course concerned to learn that your experience fell short and that we were unable to meet your expectations in the points you have mentioned in the feedback, especially regarding the pillows we would like to know if you requested to change them!!!

And concerning the quality of food and service, necessary trainings have been undergone to make sure your order taking is more accurate during your future stays with us

Therefore, please allow us to take your feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to your second home in Beirut!

Best Regards,

Nizar Alouf
General Manager

Riviera Hotel
Corniche El Manara
P.O.Box: 11-4021 Riad El Solh
1107 2150 Beirut, Lebanon
Tel: +961 (0) 1 373210
Main Hotel Fax: +961 (0) 1 365239
Reservation Fax: +961 (0) 1 366616
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Location, Room and Services are really GREAT ...I enjoyed my stay a lot!!!! Breakfast by the Ocean and the staff warm hospitality is really SUPER!!!!! From the reception toall services thumbs up the rooms were very nice, ocean view, the service was excellent. the location and the view are terrific. The pool and outdoor area isnice but it was already winterized, and the food in the restaurant is very good.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the ocean AMAZING VIEW
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Totally hooked on Riveira... Made me feel at home the first time I went over, now it is my home whenever I am in beautiful Lebnan... you know that feeling of comfort you feel when being away from home for while just as you enter the door... the moment I step off the taxi... walk up the stairs of the main entry... viola... ahhhhhhhh!! I'm home... :-)))

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeid I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Riviera wins the Beirut location award hands down: on the Corniche, fabulous sea views, close to the restaurants and student life of Hamra and AUB and conveniently close to both Downtown and Verdun. It's just a shame that it's not a better hotel. I think it might have been a fine place once but it's showing its age now. The rooms are adequate in that they aren't a bad size and have most of the stuff you need, but the decor is not so much tired as exhausted and the carpet looks distinctly grubby. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were terrible. My top three hotel gripes are bad pillows, feeble showers and long life milk, and the Riviera struck out on all three counts. The breakfast, apart from the dreaded LLM, was OK but nothing flash. I don't know how many stars the Riviera has but in my view it's at most 4-star, with maybe a point or two shaved off - say a three and a half star. With all those caveats in mind, stay there if you want to enjoy the sea view and the convenience, and enjoy their pool area, but don't expect too much. Oh, yeah, and if they say that use of the guest lounge is included in the tariff, check to see if the guest lounge is actually functioning. We were told on check-in that we were welcome to use it but subsequently found that it was closed for renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pctPantou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 119 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
#12 of 119 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monroe Hotel
Monroe Hotel
#47 of 119 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
3.4 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
#52 of 119 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Commodore Hotel
Le Commodore Hotel
#45 of 119 in Beirut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel Beirut

Property: Riviera Hotel Beirut
Address: Avenue De Paris, Corniche El Manara | P.O. Box 11-4021, Riad El Solh, Beirut 11-4021, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 119 Hotels in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riviera Hotel Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Hotel and Beach Lounge located on the Sea Side, 10 min away from airport and district center. Undergroung access to the Beach Lounge from the Hotel. Hotel has 120 rooms with 5 stars amenities. New Beach Lounge with Seaside Lounge The Island, 3 outdoor swimming pools, 8 Jacuzzis and water sports. 24 hours service in all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Riviera Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing