We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abu Naim

Abu Naim
Ranked #30 of 791 Restaurants in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a traditional Lebanese family owned and managed restaurant.Our dishes are made with only the freshest vegetables and meats, hand picked daily by Abu Naim himself.
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very good food, good prices, nice staff, good music, especially oud nights.

The real taste of Lebanese mezze and cooking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zeinama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    35
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farum, Denmark
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best.. Meal.. Ever..!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just got back from a dinner at this wonderfull place in Beirut!
This was our last night in Beirut but the second time we had dinner at Abu Naim.
Both times, the owner (or his son?) was extremely helpful and guided us into the customs and "rules" of Lebanese dining. To say the least, we were clueless the when we arrived, but with his help, we learned how to match the flavors and dishes together to create a little slice of heaven between two thin pieces of bread!
On this, our last night, we asked him what he would recommend from the menu to really show us the wonders of Lebanese food. At once, he offered to create a tasting menu for us with samples from many of the items on the menu.
All the food was amazing and paired perfectly with a good portion of Arak.
From our first visit, we learned to trust the advice of the owner and this time he really came through! We had the best meal in a long time (if ever) and at a VERY favorable price!

As said, the food is amazing, but on top of that, the service is perfect.. Always aware of the table and ready to remove empty plates and assist with explanations of dishes if we had questions.

If you, reading this, are ever in Beirut, PLEASE (seriously PLEASE) do yourself the favour of dropping by this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saekiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

- Wonderful sunny hosts
- Fresh and delicious food
- Sounds like great live band playing on Thursdays and Saturdays!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidon, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've been to Abu Naim a couple of times before and I really love their Lebanese entrees and main dishes. I've recently been following a vegetarian diet and I have to say this is THE perfect place to grab a fully nutritious, uber-flavorful Lebanese mezza. This time, I shared fattoush, the 'tajin' dip [tahini paste, onions, and a nutty flavor], baba ghannouj, hummus, and 'batata harra' [garlic and coriander seasoned potatoes]. My friends really enjoyed an assorted BBQ [beef, chicken, 'kafta' skewers] plate. I highly recommend this place!

It's also very accessible, located in Hamra Main Street.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HyperchickAisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had an early dinner on a not so busy night. This family run restaurant is conveniently located near Harma's main intersection, serves good food, and has a charming and comfortable atmosphere. Two dishes I highly recommend are the Costaletta (lamb chops) and the shrimp dish. Both were very very tasty. I didn't like their Hebra (raw meat) dish, I've had much better Hebra else where. Service is friendly. I would visit again and recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abu Naim also viewed

 
Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Been to Abu Naim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing