We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Just wow.”

Em Sherif Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 1,039 Restaurants in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $65
Cuisines: Lebanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Em Sherif is a distinguished Oriental-themed restaurant providing its guests with an unsurpassed first class dining experience. Em Sherif herself carefully takes food supervising matters into her own hands and makes sure clients are served delicious food that is adoringly cooked daily with the freshest and highest quality products. The restaurant is intent on providing guests with the finest entertainment provided by a nightly live band. This restaurant is the perfect place for those seeking to enjoy 'Tarab' and traditional Oriental music played by talented band members on the time-honored instrument, the 'kanun' that magically infuses a sense of musical euphoria. Fabulous Oriental lunches and dinners are offered in set menus and served in a luxurious setting. The restaurant also offers a wide selection of the best French, Italian and Lebanese wine and champagne, along with quality Lebanese "Arak" in beautiful blue glasses. Em Sherif is the perfect venue for corporate lunches, family dinners, lunch gatherings and romantic dinners with a capacity of around 100 people. Operating Hours: Daily from 12.30 P.M. To 4:00 p.M. And 8:30 p.M. To 12:00 a.M.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The most refined middle eastern cuisine, ever.

All the classics, embellished with fresh herbs and original presentation and spicing.

The tartare was mouthwatering, the fatoosh salad sublime. Desserts, five of them!, out of this world.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Victor Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 640 of 760 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

As one of the most notorious restaurants in Beirut, I was strongly disappointed by the quality of the food, the noisy and unpleasant ambiance, the concept itself which requires that you get on your table immense quantities of food without being able to reduce them... and a quite traditional menu that you can find almost anywhere else

Date of visit: April 2013
9  Thank Elieabouaoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a table booked for two on eastermonday through our hotel. The restaurant is located ina back alley so even our taxidriver had to look out for it first. Though the restaurant was still quiet by the time we got there around 21:30 we were offered a table by the main entrance door which we we declined. They arranged another table for us which was fine. Only moments later an abundance of different dishes started to come to our table. During the course of the evening we noticed that it didnt matter how many people were at one table, the number of dishes remained the same and was obviously designed to easily serve four, if not more. Following some research on TA we new already what was coming and thus enjoyed a bite of everything thus , at least for us, having a great overview of what lebanese cuisine has to offer. Supposedly it was some 30 dishes, however we lost track eventually. We had a good lebanese red wine to accompany our feast. There was lebanese live music throughout the evening which added a nice original feel to the evening. The interior design is that of a playfull old ottoman house with a twist to versailles mirror hall since all tables were covered in mirroring glass. The service was quick and professional but couldnt add a personal touch. Former reviews on TA suggesting for a smile and some honest warmth we can confirm. Apart from that we had a very good evening and will now have to work off some of those extra pounds added to the hips. Recommendable experience.

Date of visit: April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LarsVielfrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

So my Friend decided to hav his engagement diner at Em sherif (rented the whole place ), what can I say we were just too many ppl so the place seemed small but in reality it s not , I am not a fan of Arabic music and atmosphere ,so I wouldn't recommend it for that but ..,,OMG I don't usually like Lebanese food but the fooood my god the foooood AMAZING! Everything was just so tasty, nth tasted normal !!! And then the Em Ali ( a Lebanese desert ) oh my god I still dream about it !!!!! A must try !!!!!!!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samirasalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I had lunch with my wife and daughter three days ago at em Sherif restaurant in Beirut.

Lunch cost 37 us$ per person without drinks ( dinner is 60 ) for a set menu that includes all kinds of appetizers plus a main dish. The quantities are huge so make sure you go there hungry. Food quality and taste are very good. Service is excellent and friendly. I would recommend it highly to whoever is seeking to try Lebanese meza and food with a twist

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aoun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Em Sherif Restaurant also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Been to Em Sherif Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing