We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Cheap, Friendly and Safe”
Review of Pension Al-Nazih

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beirut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Al-Nazih
Ranked #3 of 46 Beirut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I stayed there for 5 nights with my best friend. We had a double room with private bathroom, and it was reasonable enough even for two students. The manager is very friendly. We used to chat with her when we come back to hostel after dinner, she offered us tea, gave us daily news about political situation in lebanon and comforted us..so we did go out at night carefree. The bathrooms and hot water are ok. There is a minibar in reception with soft drinks and beer. The only bad side is the noise from the main road. You can hear all the loud noise of cars. The location is actually good, just behind gemmayze street, and near downtown, though a bit far to hamra street..but you cant have both...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank violette139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 97 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2010

This place has an excellent manager, Jamal, who will help you with laundry, rooms, maps, or whatever. The pension is clean and in an easy, convenient location. BEWARE, however, the manager (a lady). I was there only 2 nights but saw 3 separate scams she was trying to run on people, from overcharging for taxis to the airport (DON'T book one in advance, get one at the airport, her "driver" was waiting for a couple who didn't show, they had to pay anyway). She also tried to tell another couple they had to take an expensive room rather than the one they'd booked, then magically found the original room when they threatened to leave; she then physically prevented a woman from leaving who she didn't think had paid enough!! Oh yeah, and beware the inflated internet prices.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelman234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

I shared a twin room with a friend in this budget hotel/hostel, conveniently located near the bars and restaurants of Gemmayzeh, as well as the bus/taxi station where the transport from Damascus/Amman stops. The hotel was basic but clean.

The room was a moderate size with twin beds, a small balcony, and an attached bathroom with toilet and shower. The shower was not in a cubicle so the bathroom flooded when I used it, and on one occasion the warm water ran out when I took a shower late at night. These are only small complaints though and generally I was very happy with the accommodation.

The staff were helpful with advice, and you can use the internet on the computer in the common area for a small fee. If you spend time in the common area, you can also easily meet other travellers to hang out with.

This is a good budget choice in an expensive city like Beirut.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skylarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

I stayed for one week in this hotel, and i would have moved if any other hostel had had any bed left. The staff was normal, they will help you but don't expect too much.

My first and most important advise: avoid room nº 9. It's extremely tiny (i had trouble to opening my suitcase), damp in the walls and extremely humid.

Maybe a good hotel for going with some friends, but definitely not alone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We didn't actually end up staying here. After checking prices on their website, we turned up only to be told the rooms were more expensive and the free wifi they advertise was actually 10US a night. The rooms were super basic for the price, although Lebanon generally is pretty expensive. Just a note of caution if you are booking based on their website!

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank dotress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

After staying in an overpriced hotel up the road - we were overjoyed to find this place.

Al Nazih is a hostel so not going to suit anyone other than budget travellers. Rooms were basic but comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly with local knowledge.

Al Nazih has a great location 5 mins from Charles Helou bus station, 5 mins from trendy Gemmayzeh and 10 mins from Beirut Souks (downtown).

Only gripe was that WiFi was $9/day which seemed overpriced.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GazMan012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Nazih is an established, sociable and efficient hostel in a great location. The dorms are good value and the place generally attracts a mid-20s to mid-30s crowd. A double private room is rather steep at $50 a much worse value. The weak aircon, plastic undersheets and easily flooded bathrooms make this option less appealing. There is no secure storage for valuables. However, all in all with the lack of economical alternatives Al Nazih is still OK, and located very well for downtown and the bars and restaurants of Gemayzeh.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.2 mi away
Saifi Suites
Saifi Suites
#20 of 116 in Beirut
191 reviews
1.7 mi away
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
Embassy Hotel Lebanon
#101 of 116 in Beirut
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 116 in Beirut
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#25 of 116 in Beirut
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
O Monot Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Al-Nazih? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Al-Nazih

Address: Rue 62 Chanty | Bld. 3, Secteur 29, Gemmayze, Beirut 20295203, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Beirut
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension Al-Nazih is a hotel offering the best budget accommodation for all backpackers and other budget travellers in Beirut, Lebanon. Pension Al-Nazih (also known as Hotel Al Nazih, Al Nazih Hotel and Al Nazih Hostel) is a small budget hotel in the heart of Beirut, which has been reconstructed in the original French Colonial style. Only a few minutes' walk from the Charles Helou bus station, Pension Al-Nazih offers clean, quiet and safe accommodation. WiFi internet access FREE. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Al Nazih Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing