We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't say 5 Stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gefinor Rotana Hotel
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights (business trip). I wouldn't say this is a 5 stars hotel.
The location of the hotel is great. Rooms are big enough (try to get one on sea side). Room heater was not working. Furniture is old. Shower was not acceptable (curtain was not clean and could be screen). Besides this, there is no cleanness problem. Sleep quality is ok. Wi-fi is not free; USD10 per day and really slow. There is a business center with free of charge. A swimming pool on the terrace with a great view.; really enjoyable. Breakfast was satisfying exept cold coffees and teas. Staff was polite and helpful. Check-in & out took very short time. Lobby was cold. They don't use double doors or airblader so when the weather is cold you can't spend your time in the lobby. And you are freezing when you are having your breakfast. I doubt if I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on higher floors which is looking to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our Hotel.

I am glad to learn that you found our staff polite and helpful.

Regarding the rooms condition, I am pleased to inform you that now having completed the lobby, reception and restaurants’ renovation, we are now working on a new design for our bedrooms and suites.

Referring to your comments on the internet service provided, we have already upgraded this facility to ensure it is the best on offer by any hotel in Lebanon. It includes a new Aruba wireless network throughout all guest bedrooms as well as the public areas, a new interface to ensure easy plug & play connectivity and an increase in the connection speed to 17 MB download/10MB upload, shared. I am investigating with our IT Manager why you may have had a problem as since the upgrade at the end of last year we have received many very positive comments.

I am glad to learn that you were satisfied with the breakfast. As for the cold coffees and teas, please note that I have discussed the matter with our Outlet Manager and corrective action has been taken in order to avoid similar circumstances.

During the period of your stay we experienced an unprecedented cold snap in Beirut with a strong northerly wind. Usually we do not experience a problem with a cold lobby, but over these days we did indeed face a significant and unusual challenge in this regard and I do apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

I do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back, especially in the spring and summer when the pool, although heated all year round, can be used much more to your advantage during a future stay.

With best regards,


Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 634 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

Every time I go to Lebanon I prefer to stay at Rotana Gefinor as I feel like I am home.I like it so much, it's my favorite.

Thank AlShagawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to learn that Gefinor Rotana is your preferred hotel in Lebanon.

We do our best to make our guests feel that they are home, and it’s nice to know that we were up to your expectations in doing so.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


With best Regards

Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Went on a company offsite to Beirut and while the hotel was acceptable at all levels nothing stood out as 5 star. I would rate this a good 4 star in a decent location. Only incident I had was my laptop supposedly being sent down to the laundry bu mistake, when I had not used the laundry service nor unpacked it. I was grateful for the return and also the managements creativity for excuses by what I suspect may have been a pilfering chambermaid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

Regarding the incident concerning your laptop, please note that an in depth investigation was conducted and it turned out that the housekeeping agent brought the laptop down to the laundry by mistake along with the dirty linen as it was on your bed. Right when the laptop was found by one of our laundry attendants, it was returned to you directly.

We hope that this incident will not deter you from giving us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again.

On your next visit to Beirut, please do not hesitate to contact me directly on mark.timbrell@rotana.com to do the necessary arrangements.

Best Regards

Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is clean and staff is helpful yet rooms are average and do not stay on 5th floor as dancing floor is below it and you will not sleep before 1am shopping area behind the hotel and sea walk is 15 m walk down the hill

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarazikhaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our Hotel.

I am glad to learn that you found our hotel clean and our staff helpful.

Regarding the rooms condition, I am pleased to inform you that now having completed the lobby, reception and restaurants’ renovation, we are now working on the designs for to ‘facelift’ our rooms..

Moreover, I would like to apologize most sincerely for the disturbance due to the bass from the Banquet floor. Please rest assured I am investigating the matter to find out how this happened and to ensure it will not happen in the future. We have to balance our business and we have a very strict set of procedures in our Banquet department designed to avoid the issue of noise pollution to the rooms during wedding parties. With the procedures we have it is unusual to receive complaints and I am sorry you were disturbed. I am looking into the matter personally to see what could have gone wrong.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to me, constructive feedback from valued guests is always greatly appreciated.


Best Regards,

Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This Rotana Gefinor has a wonderful calming feel about the place - from the warming signature fragrance to the luxurious but minimalist decor. The service was excellent; every single request (and I had many) was easily and quickly dealt with by a friendly world-class concierge team. The location of the hotel is fantastic - steps away from the Shopping and City Center.
I would definitly stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naji33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to review our hotel.

We are glad to learn that you found our services excellent and that all your requests were dealt with quickly.

Thank you for your nice comments about our décor and for finding our staff friendly and world-class.

We are happy that you like our location and that you would definitely stay with us again

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


With best Regards

Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Remembering the guests with their habits and preferences. This is what I call good customer service, and which makes me loyal to Gefinor Rotana from my heart. I am not even talking about the good service; clean rooms and so on because it is already they as expected.
Thanks again for the good hospitality; I am recommending it to everyone who is visiting Beirut.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review here on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn that our different services were up to your expectations. We are working hard to record all our guests preferences in order to provide a more personalized service.

Thank you too for your nice comments about our staff, rooms, and service you received.

We really appreciate your loyalty to Gefinor Rotana and thank you for recommending us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Gefinor Rotana Beirut.

Best Regards,



Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

A typical Rotana hotel: very clean, great spacious rooms, great service and helpful staff. The location is perfect, very close to the Corniche and also just next to Hamra and Clemenceau areas. Pool on the rooftop and good breakfast! I have stayed here a few times myself and recommended it to friends and colleagues, who were also pleased with their stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayWAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GefinorRotana, General Manager at Gefinor Rotana Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you liked our location and found our rooms clean and spacious.

We are glad to learn that our breakfast was up to your expectations and that you found our staff helpful and our service great.

I would like to thank you for your for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to the Gefinor Rotana Beirut.

Best Regards,

Mark Timbrell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
0.4 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#2 of 113 in Beirut
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 113 in Beirut
957 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#13 of 113 in Beirut
193 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gefinor Rotana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gefinor Rotana Hotel

Address: Clemenceau Street | Hamra, Beirut 5202, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Beirut
#7 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#10 Business Hotel in Beirut
#11 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: $106 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gefinor Rotana Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traveling to Beirut has always been a pleasure since Gefinor Rotana has set the trend with its location “truly in the heart of the city”; close to every place you have in mind to visit during your stay. If you are visiting for business, the five star property is in close proximity to the main business and banking districts in Downtown and Clemenceau street, taking you in no time to your scheduled meetings or even to the major exhibition ground BIEL. If you are on medical tourism then you are in walking distance to the city’s major hospitals and clinics such as AUBMC, CMC, Najjar and Trad. Gefinor Rotana has as well been home to parents of students at ESA and AUB where you could always see in the lobby an interesting combination between family gatherings and businessmen especially during Happy Hours. If you are just here on leisure, then there are never ending activities and entertainment in the area that won’t leave you time to think about the next plan; Gefinor Rotana is a short 5 minute walk from the Hamra vibrant and shopping streets where you can find a wide choice of restaurants, pubs, bars, shops and endless meeting points. The charming Beirut Souks, waterfront corniche and Zaitounay bay with its marina and restaurants can all be accesses within a 5 to 15 minutes stroll were Beirut Rafic Hariri International Airport is just 15 minutes away by car. Staying at Gefinor Rotana will guarantee you an experience like no other not only because of the hotel’s unique location but also by the unparalleled service and complimentary facilities in the property. With its 11 meeting spaces and Grand Ballroom, Gefinor Rotana welcomes guests for meetings, incentive groups, conferences and events while constantly innovating with its menu offering, set-ups and providing the latest in audio-visual equipment and support. While staying at the hotel you are sure to indulge in regular buffet theme nights at the restaurant, plan an outside catering event, relax at our temperature controlled rooftop pool or stay healthy at our wellness center. With what the entire hotel can offer, there is no other place that will fit any of your plans better than the Gefinor Rotana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gefinor Rotana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gefinor Rotana Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing