We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that...!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Ranked #10 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not all that...!”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel looks very nice on pictures but it could be any All-Inclusive anywhere else in the world. The staff is not helpful at all, and the food and drinks are overpriced. The Lebanese restaurant was very disappointing too. The room I was in (783) is just under the restaurant and you can hear everything until it closes 11pm (ish), starting again at 6am for breakfast. On top of that noise, you also get the music from the bar and disco until early hours of the morning like if it was happening in your room. This was booked for a business trip and when you are not partying on holidays, you feel restless all day ! The beach is tiny and made of rocks but on the plus side, the swimming pools are nice. The rooms are very clean too. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not book a room on the 7th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to mainly noise distraction from our outlets. We are aware of the music sound coming from the roof top bar and have taken the action of reducing the volume of music there to avoid upsetting our in-house guests. The roof top bar is now closed until May 2012 and we would ask you to visit us once again to enjoy a quiet stay at the hotel. The beach is actually sandy, however due to strong waves and tides the rocks from the sea have been pushed along the shore.Looking forward to welcoming you once again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    233
    88
    36
    24
See reviews for
154
127
56
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed at movenpick for business for a week. The rooms are just ok.

The hotel location is nice if you go on vacation but definitely NOT if you go for business and have meeetings in the city center. It takes at least 30 minutes (considerable time in Beirut distances) to get there and probably 45 minutes to come back if you hit the afternoon traffic.

The swimming pool is just amazing. If you are a swim fan, this is the perfect hotel. The "private beach", instead, is just impossible to use -it is terrible. The view is generally nice from every part of the hotel. The gym is one of the most complete hotel-gyms I've seen.

Now... the service.... Where to start? I said that the view was nice... I innocently tried to take a picture of it and was immediately approached by 2 men asking me to delete it. WTF???? Yes, no pictures allowed, since I was "close to the swimming pool" (?!?!!?!?!). Apart from the absurd of the request, the way they approached me was just unbelievably rude.
I was in the gym and was approached -in similar terms- by the guy working there and was asked to leave until I wear "running shoes". My shoes seemed not nice enough for the gym's quality? (Just to make it clear... I wasn't wearing flip flops...). Many other small details such as trying to get a drop off to the airport and get a "we'll call you back" (that never happened), or the "city center is just a 40 minute walk" (after walking I realized that it's 1:20 hours), etc.etc.
Internet was down most of the stay. And it was only cable -no wifi.

I would certainly NOT stay at Movenpick again if I go on business. I might consider staying if I go on vacation, but I understand that in Beirut there are many other nice hotels where the service is not so poor...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We regret your disappointment in the hotel services and facility during your stay. For the privacy of our clients around the beach area, we do not allow any photos there. We have addressed however with our security staff the approach that should be taken with guests and method of realying the message. Regarding the Gym, the hotel policy is to have sports shoes on when exercising there. We are surprised that there was no internet for one week, however for the WiFi in the room, we will be having free WiFi facilities in all the rooms by June 2012. We have currently upgraded the speed of all internet facilities in the rooms and in the public spaces to have a high speed internet available for all guests.
We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you once again on a forthcoming stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This is my fourth time staying here and I preferred staying at 35 Rooms which was half the cost. The service here is horrible. No service with a smile and for staying here multiple times I have never been offered an upgrade to a beach view room. The only people who are extremely friendly and demonstrate good hospitality is the cleaning staff.

The hotel is confusing to navigate and the wireless internet is painfully slow.

Room Tip: Pick a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review, and regret your unpleasant experience with us. We are keen on making sure you come back to our hotel for any forthcoming stay and would appreciate if you could contact us directly to provide details of your negative experience with us. Rest assure that we will do our utmost to address all the shortcoming during your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed a long weekend in this beautiful Hotel next to the main attraction of Beirut and only 15 minutes from the airport. The hotel is the only one ine Beirut which offers direct access to the beach. Parking space is available and costs depend on your negotiation skills (5-8 USD per day). The resort is completely overpriced and does not provide the quality for the price to pay. Anyway I will go back to this hotel because of the loacation and exclusivness.

Room Tip: romm with bech view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your review, and are happy that you would choose to stay with us once again. Rest assured that we will spare no effort to give you a high value for money for your next stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Check in process took almost 40 minutes, alot of guests were shouting at the desk due to the slow service at reception desk, the floor we were staying in smelled very bad like public bathhrooms also they gave us a connected room that we did not like we asked for a room move but the receptionist told us that we are full we can not move you, which was very inconvenient for us.
the room was clean and in good condition.
swimming pool is really nice and excellent service by pool area

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahbou, Director of Sales at Movenpick Hotel Beirut, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy you have enjoyed our pool facilities and services and apologize for the delay in check-in to the hotel. Unfortunately on that day we we overbooked and there was a delay in delivering rooms to our guests. This does not always happen and check-in at the correct check-in time will only take you a few minutes. We look forward to welcoming you once again to our hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Nice place to stay if you have some cash to splash. The rate is one thing, but you'll need an extra 10 dollars per beer and the foods not cheap either. The views are great, the pool is superb and its a fairly trendy place but it's not that special or luxurious as advertised.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel has a great advantage - the own beach. But is it very small & sea water is very very dirty. It is very difficult to enter into water because of big slippery stones. So the beach is not very comfortable. Of course you can use city beach which is within 10 min walking distance. Bit I think it is nit safe for tourists.
The territory of hotel is rather large (it is a resort) and this is also a great advantage.
Movenpick in Beirut has two open swimming-pools but both of them are not with sea water.
Rooms are very fresh, furniture is new.
Staff is very helpful and responsive.
The lobby is situated on the upper level (level 10) and all living floors are below it. On the upper level you can see very nice bar Square with a fantastic sea view and planes arriving to Beirut Airport. Live music can also be heard here.

I recommend this hotel for those who are not going to swim in the sea & will be satisfied with two swimming pools. Very close location to Hamra district - it is good for those who likes night life.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
1.6 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
728 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
2.1 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 117 in Beirut
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
0.5 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Beirut

Property: Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Address: General de Gaulle Avenue | Raoucheh, Beirut, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Beirut
#5 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#10 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#12 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lebanon. Located directly on the Mediterranean Sea, Mövenpick Hotel Beirut is a contemporary city resort where guests are consistently pampered by the dazzling facilities and exquisite service of team members. Enriching, engaging and eclectic experiences are treasured, every time, with a distinctive personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel And Resort Beirut
Moevenpick Hotel Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing