We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of Le Commodore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Commodore Hotel
Ranked #39 of 114 Hotels in Beirut
Reviewed September 25, 2012

As I am a frequent traveler to Lebanon for busienss and personal trips, Le commodore hotel is the first hotel to consider staying at , perfect location in the heart of Hamra, very comfortable – convenient space - rooms, delicious restaurants with variety of food, in addition to the extremely friendly and flexible staff that makes sure you feel home and welcomed, it is a 360 package that makes the value for money very reasonable.

Room Tip: Never faced any trouble with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your significant review about our property and we always have the pleasure to welcome you again at your home Le Commodore Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 268 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Im not impressed. It could have been better. It used to be better a couple of years ago. But if you are only in the hotel to sleep on a clean sheet. Then you can manage here. The staff are knowledgeable but are too uptight to be of any help.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments and for the time taking to write us you review.
We assure you that management and staff are keen to maintain our regular guests and eager to improve in order to satisfy all needs.
We assure once again that we are still Le Commodore Hotel that you are used to years ago and even better,
I suggest if you can write to me personally on my email e.chahine@lecommodorehotel.com and i am delighted to handle your concerns.
I hope you will afford us the opportunity to demonstrate our true hospitality.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, we took 2 rooms both views were bad, the food for breakfast was very basic. However the staff were nice. All in all I don't rate it as a 4 stars hotel. It should be given a 3 star's rating.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sireen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive comments and for choosing our property for your stay in Lebanon.
We really apologize for any inconvenience caused and if anything distracted your stay; however allow us to inform you that Le Commodore Hotel is a city business hotel located in the heart of the hub region of Hamra and we always look forward to providing the best for our clients.
Your comments allow us to improve our breakfast presentation and varieties and on behalf of the management and staff we hope you will give us the opportunity during your next stay to demonstrate our true hospitality.
I hope you will email me personally before your next visit so i will be at your disposal with regards to your preferences.
We care to provide the best service and quality and we thank you once again for writing your constructive comments about us.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A long weekend fun-with-friends trip to Beirut. The location of the hotel was very convenient, and the service was excellent - the front desk recommended restaurants, booked them for us, organized for a taxi driver who ended up driving us around for most of our stay. Nice, clean rooms, overall a solid experience. We found the hotel breakfast pricey so did not try it, but there are plenty of good options to eat outside.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Katri80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your good comments towards our property. Your opinion counts and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I'd heard how good the hotel was and so looked forward to my stay here. Though front desk staff (at night) were rude, and i was given a room where the central a/c intake vent had a wet carpet smell. i was told it was my fault for having the thermostat at such a low temperature. Anyway bed's comfy but hallways towards the rooms on each floor are a bit gloomy and carpets look old. nevertheless an enjoyable time, but for the money i expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKalmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your constructive comments and we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
We assure you that all the issues raised have been addressed properly with the concerned teams and corrective measures have been taken in order to avoid the recurrence of such incident in the future.
On the other hand, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip and we hope that you will afford us a future opportunity to demonstrate our true hospitality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is in an extremely crowded location, but easily accessible to shopping and entertainment places in the parallel Hamra street. If you have any meetings in other parts of the city it is better to move out early in the morning, otherwise you are stuck in traffic. The staff is neutral. Room amenities are okay. Paid Wifi internet is available only in the lobby. In the rooms you need to connect with cable to get paid internet (US$15 per day or US$3.5 per hour). Breakfast is very simple and has several items. There is a Japanese restaurant in the hotel which seemed to attract clients.

I waited more than twenty minutes upon check out just for checking the minibar for an item I had consumed 2 days earlier.

You can find a grocery and several antique shops near the hotel. An air/conditioned taxi available in front of the hotel can take you to other locations in Beirut with a rate starting US$15. You can find cheaper taxi without A/C.

The hotel has fitness center on the 7th floor and a swimming pool in the back side near the Japanese restaurant.

Some air crew were staying in the hotel (I saw Royal Jordanian crew).

Generally it is a good hotel and suitable for leisure travelers who like shopping and entertainment in a big city, but not much suitable for business travelers, due to the crowded location and limited amenities.

The hotel have designated smoking and non-smoking floors but the booking is made without checking with the client about his/her smoking habits.

Room Tip: No particular view, just concrete buildings around. The back rooms have swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kalsahakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and for your constructive comment.
We apologive for the inconvenience caused during your check out and corrective measure will be taken in order to avoid the recurrence of such incident in the future.
With regards to the internet, we are glad to inform you that we are in the process to implement WIFI in all rooms very shortly.
We look forward to welcoming you again at our premises and to enjoy a memorable stay.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I visited from June 1 to 17 2012. The hotel is perfectly located in Hamra. This is were you want to be. Its one street down to Hamra, where you have all the pubs, restaurants and café. Its very convinient becuase you can walk and buy stuff you need (water, liquor ....)
Although beirut is very noisy, in your room you don't hear anything !!!

The staff are very nice and helpfull. I would recommend anyone to stay there as its the best value you get for your dollar. The bathroom are big and clean. The bed is confortable.

Wifi is a bit expensive.. but its the case in beirut.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank makram k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddy C, Director of Sales at Le Commodore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your good experience.
We look forward to seeing you again amongst Le Commodore family.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0 mi away
Coral Beirut Al Hamra Hotel
0.3 mi away
Midtown Hotel and Suites
Midtown Hotel and Suites
#29 of 114 in Beirut
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mayflower Hotel
The Mayflower Hotel
#46 of 114 in Beirut
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
0.4 mi away
Cavalier Hotel
Cavalier Hotel
#35 of 114 in Beirut
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gefinor Rotana Hotel
Gefinor Rotana Hotel
#11 of 114 in Beirut
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Commodore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Commodore Hotel

Address: Commodore Street | PO Box 11-3456, Riad El Solh, Beirut 1107 2140, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Beirut
#38 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: $75 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Commodore Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Commodore Hotel is a five star city center business hotel located in the heart of the capital Beirut in the famous district of Hamra where business, shopping and night life meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Commodore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beirut
Le Meridien Hotel Beirut
Beirut Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing