We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #3 of 119 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very nice hotel, well run and in a great location. everything you would expect for the price.
Food including buffets is well above average. Rooms are fresh and well equipped. The only reservation I have is that they still allow smoking in the lobby and in the restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strewelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear strewelpeter,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had an overall “Top quality” experience.

You will be happy to know that the law to ban smoking in public areas will be implemented in September and applied in all of the public areas throughout the hotel.

Once again, thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel and its location, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us in a smoke free environment.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    167
    39
    7
    10
See reviews for
94
138
60
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I guess that Trip Advisor need to update the name of the hotel - it's now an Intercon.

And what an Intercon! The hotel had low occupancy when I was there and the service and ammenities were great. I'm sure that they would be also with full occupancy.

Everyone - from doorman to manager is helpful and efficient. Room was superb (I had a suite). Nice touches like the aircon being integrated into the coving make for an elegant hotel.

I had tried to persuade my wife to come with me (she likes intercons) but she felt it was too far for a couple of nights (good job too - Egyptair cancelled my flight out). But she certainly missed out this time.

Room Tip: The staff say that the rooms with a view of the bay have the beter view. i disagree - my room looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear ebookpunkie,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for posting such a lovely review.

Actually trip advisor did not mistake the name, we are an intercontinental and we even were the first intercontinental to open in the Middle East but on our 50 years anniversary last year we had a huge rebranding and we changed the logo and the colors of Phoenicia and from their came the name “Phoenicia Hotel Beirut” as a preservation for the great heritage and history.

It makes us proud that you described Phoenicia Hotel and the service in such enthusiasm ! Thank you for that! We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities and service especially your Suite.

Hopefully next time you will be joining us with your wife so she can experience the Phoenicia culture the way you did.

Thank you again, hoping to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Simply WOW. This hotel is truely a landmark in Beirut and worth every penny you pay for.

After delayed and late flights this young gentleman Imad at the front desk welcomed us and made us feel at home. He really showed us what true Lebanese hospitality is. He kept finding solutions for all our problems throughout our entire stay. So professional and helpful. Thumbs up, Imad!

N.B: The breakfast buffet at Mosaic is the best Ive ever witnessed. Daniel the manager was so welcoming and helpful. Thank you.

From the design, to the interior, to the service, to the staff, this hotel is just simply amazing...

What a memorable experience, I cannot wait to come back!

Thank you!

- Khoren Nalbandian

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knalbandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Nalbadian,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure reading such a positive and appreciative post.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Phoenicia Hotel and ranked us as one of the best. It is always a delight to read reviews that mention our colleagues by name and thank their efforts.
Please note that your review has been communicated and your ”thank you” was shared with the entire team.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon, until then, stay connected with us on daily basis through twitter & facebook "PhoeniciaBeirut".

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in the first week of July. I was in Beirut for business and I could not fault this hotel. The staff were very attentive and had a high standard of prefessionalism. I had a standard room which was clean and comfortable. Very much of an international standard. The lobby and lounge were very nice and the bar around the edge of the pool was impressive. The location of the hotel was very central and in a nice area. If I could find any fault it was with the taxi firm the hotel uses for pick up's from the lobby. They were about three times more expensive than any other cab in Beirut! That aside I would recommend this hotel for a business trip.

Room Tip: My colleague upgraded to the next level of room and benefitted from a much larger room and seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Woody1207

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Lebanon and for taking the time to post this review.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and found all the facilities and services to be up to the standards and expectations. Please stay assured that your comments were noted regarding the taxi firm and usually our prices differ because the taxis we use are safer, cleaner with well serviced drivers. Nevertheless, we regularly do market comparisons to ensure our partners are in line with the market but we will surely pass on these comments to them.
One again, thank you for choosing the Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for your recommendation. We are hoping to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is now part of Intercontinental brand. I was really surpised by the quality of service, that was better than the average Intercontinental hotels. The staff is really welcoming and nice, and very helpful as well. Rooms are of good size. Breakfast is perfect, with a lot of choice in the buffet.
Definitely a perfect address in Beirut.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Valeriegen,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we really appreciate you taking the time to post such a lovely review.

It makes us proud that you described Phoenicia Hotel as an excellent service hotel. Thank you for that!

We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities, service and especially the Breakfast at Mosaic we always aim to maintain and provide the highest level of standards and service.

Going through the history of Phoenicia, we have always been an Intercontinental and it is nice to note that we were the first Intercontinental to open in the Middle East and just last year we celebrated our 50th anniversary.

Thank you again for your honest review and for promoting Phoenicia Hotel and its location, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon among us.

In the mean time stay connected with us through Facebook and twitter (Phoenicia Beirut) for more offers and news to come.

Best Regards,

Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived to the hotel in the afternoon when the room was not ready in a busy operation and Ibrahim kindly asked us to wait until the room is ready. He is very smiley guy, kind, polite while he was assisting us. Thank you for everything! Keep going well! And also rest of the guys in the desk very smiley, very helpfull!
Breakfast:The first day I spent my 20 mins to find an empty table! But the next 2 days finally they decided to escort to the guest at the entrance by asking room number and finding a table.
Elevators:All the time busy and without fresh air and inside was very hot in the lift.
Rooms:No set up Tea/Coffee making! Number of Comp waters changes everyday! Too much bath towels but not enough small towel for your face/hair.
Bathroom:No holder for the shower in the bathtub!
Lastly House Keeping team, please do not remove the key card from the room, of course we know what we do! Otherwise the room is burning burning burning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlTer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear AlTer79,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, and for taking the time to post this review.

We always aim to satisfy our guests and it is a great pleasure to get direct feedback which we communicated to our colleagues and in particular Ibrahim.

On the other hand, please note that your points have been taken into consideration and actions are being taken regarding the mishappenings that occurred with you.

Hopefully you will come back again to Phoenicia soon and experience our well known offering of the highest quality of services and facilities.
Thank you once again,

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Really good time nice food and top quality hotel !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobra2351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Cobra2351,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time during the wedding reception you attended. Hope it was a nice celebration with the newlyweds.

Thank you for posting your feedback and hopefully you will be visiting us back soon.

Best Regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 119 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 119 in Beirut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#4 of 119 in Beirut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#3 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing