We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent is the name”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent is the name”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I attended the 4 days Forum of the Lions Clubs International in December 2011. Good location. The hotel is near sea and some rooms have excellent view of the same. The hotel has everything that a star hotel of this category offers. Excellent spacious rooms, swimming pools, restaurants, spa etc etc. The hotel catered well to delegates from 56 member countries of ISAAME (India, South Asia, Africa and Middle East) that are part of this Constitutional Area of Lions Clubs International.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGLION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel ma at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear DGLION,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut; it was a great pleasure reading your review.

We truly value your feedback and the observations you have shared about our guest rooms and suites, the view towards the Mediterranean Sea and the restaurants, lounges and bars. It is with delight to learn that the recent Lions Club International Forum was a success and we were honored to be the partner of choice hosting this prestigious conference
We hope you managed to experience our SPA Phoenicia and our variety of F&B outlets (Mosaic, Eau de Vie, Wok Wok, Café Mondo and Cascade).

Let us assure you that it was a pleasure for Phoenicia Hotel to host the Lions Clubs International Forum and all the members from different countries that were participating.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    180
    43
    7
    10
See reviews for
107
150
63
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
765 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Phoenicia Hotel has seen it all: glamorous events, scary times, first line in the civil war strife, windows shattered as a result of the bombing assassination of a prime minister, multinational meetings, and a continuous unremittingly first class management of hotel operations. Occupancy numbers have varied according to circumstances from zero when Beirut became a war zone, to over 98% when calm prevailed. The hotel is home to two excellent restaurants: The Wok W.O.K. offers Asian food from Thailand, China, and Japan (including an excellent sushi bar), and Cafe Mondo featuring Italian specialties. But, the crown of it all is the Mosaic room and its Sunday brunch. There, the Phoenicia takes you around the world with its display of international salads, appetizers, and main course items which take up half of the space while the other half is reserved for traditional Lebanese cuisine. You will find Mloukhieh, Kebbe bil Laban, hummus, and tabbouleh stuffed grape leaves (meat or vegetarian). You certainly will experience the proverbial challenge between your eyes and your stomach especially when you view the mountain of desserts. My favourite Kneffeh Bil Jeben (melted cheese covered with shredded wheat and semolina), a variety of baklava, and the very modest countryside specialty, Debs Bil Tahini (carob molasses mixed with sesame butter). After you have indulged yourself, you may end up on the decorated terrace having cafe noir or blanc (made with orange blossom water). All of this is a perfect fit with the elegance of the culinary and hospitality show especially evident at the entrance where sharp looking parking valets (ant like, always on the move) take and bring back the latest model vehicles of your dreams.
One observation: despite all the petro money that has poured into the safes of the Phoenicia, it has never been influenced by the nouveau riche phenomenon of the Gulf states, but has maintained its Lebanese cachet mixed with international sophistication. Bravo Intercontinental Group!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabykouchacji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Phoenicia Hotel (aka Intercontinental) was a fantastic hotel. The staff were amazing, so helpful, efficient and happy, nothing was a problem to organize or assist with. The staff at the spa were also amazing, the treatments were excellent and the staff were well qualified and really knew what they were doing. The buffet breakfast was outstanding. The delux room was outstanding. The upstairs bar was beautiful, although very quiet, almost tooo quiet hardly anyone there. This hotel I just could not fault in service or quality. These are things you would expect from a 5 star hotel but that is very not often the case unfortunately....but this hotel though, was worth every Lebanese lira.

Room Tip: Balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey010269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Dear Tracey010269,

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. Hope you had a great time in Beirut and enjoyed your stay.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared and it is a pride for us to know that our employees are giving the best guest experience.

As well, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Spa Phoenicia and the buffet breakfast at Mosaic the newly renovated restaurant that offers an ever changing variety of International and Oriental buffets. Hopefully, on your next visit you can try our Amethyste chill-out lounge next to the outdoor pool that is a different experience from Eau de Vie lounge you mentioned which has live entertainment on the weekends.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Pros:
Location, Spacious rooms, view ( on sea-view rooms).
Lobby is very nice overlooking the swimming pool and the outside bar/restaurant. The swimming pool and area around it are also nice and perfectly located within the hotel.
Cons:
Some of the rooms, especially on the old tower ( hotel has two towers) has old or worn-out furniture; only when compared to newer rooms.
Staff: mixed of friendly and not so friendly.
Lobby: although nice overall, gets busy and loud at night. A lot of outside girls hanging out in lobby (could be an advantage or disadvantage depending on your mood and what your in Beirut for)
Overall: very nice, prefer to stay in four seasons or Intercon Vendome, right next to this one,

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bardeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Bardeesi,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and for taking the time to post this review.

We appreciate you sharing your experiences in such detail with us, enabling us to do better and hopefully welcoming you back soon.
Please allow us to briefly respond to your feedback as follows in order to assure you that your comments are taken seriously and effort is being undertaken to have you staying with us soon again.
We are pleased to confirm that whilst the hotel’s three Presidential Suites will be completely renewed between Feb – May 2012, all other guestrooms have been undergoing a soft makeover and being equipped with coffee making facilities and wireless internet despite already being soft refurbished only five years ago.
It is a concern for us to learn that the encounters you have had with our employees were not always consistent in terms of friendliness. In order to improve, we have launched a “Phoenicia Culture” program that is being run in parallel to IHG’s Winning Ways to align our associates and deliver the best guest experience in Lebanon.
Dear Bardeesi, we do hope to welcome you back to Phoenicia Hotel Beirut very soon so that you can experience our great service and hospitality.

In case you have any further requests for clarification, please be assured that we would be more than glad to assist at any time.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel. Facilities are top class. Restaurants were excellent with a wide choice, breakfast was particularly good. All the hotel staff were professional, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Edel T,

Thank you for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. We appreciate you taking the time to post this review. We are pleased to announce that after your review we were promoted to a number one ranking between the Hotels in Beirut. Thank you so much!

It was a pleasure reading the highlights and we are glad that you enjoyed the facilities, service, restaurants and especially the Breakfast at Mosaic our newly renovated restaurant that offers an ever changing variety of International and Oriental buffets with daily live cooking stations.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut, we highly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I visited Phoenicia Hotel last October. I stayed there for 3 days for a conference. When in Beirut, I realised one thing that I havent noticed in any other destination up to that day: Dollars do REALLY count... The hotel service and everything was about money and paying, there was no hospitality mentality, just service and getting what you had paid for. I have to admit that services were really high and professional though.

Before my departure, I went to the reception about an amount charged in my account (limo transfer from the airport that I didnt use) and the reception REFUSED my statement. I had to negotiate with them using tripadvisor as a tool, SO they finally told me ok...

But, the hotel as business service, it was the greatest I had ever been.
TIP: Philoxenia is a mindset, not a business model.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Our Stay in Phoenicia InterContinental was excellent.
It is the place to be in Beirut..! With close distance from the airport, an amazing sea view and a walking distance to Downtown.
This Legendary 50 years old Hotel is one of the best in Beirut
Great facilities, beautiful rooms and excellent service
And Food is the Best of All...you just can't stop..!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jameel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian M, Hotel Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Jameel A

Thank you so much for your recent stay at Phoenicia Hotel Beirut. We truly value your feedback and we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope you had a great time in Beirut.

It was a pleasure reading the observations you have shared about the proximity, sea view, service and guestrooms. We hope you managed to try our SPA Phoenicia as well, and we are pleased to know you enjoyed the cuisine.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Phoenicia Hotel Beirut and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Christian Madsen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 116 in Beirut
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.2 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#8 of 116 in Beirut
826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
0.9 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#6 of 116 in Beirut
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Property: Phoenicia Hotel
Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#4 Family Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing