We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good but quality control lacking”
Review of Phoenicia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Phoenicia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The hotel is fine. It has all the bells and whistles. Check-in and out were smooth. The breakfast was good. The room was clean and well appointed. But there were two problems:
- the water pressure in the shower was pathetic - I comlained and it was fixed; and
- the TV kept jumping back to CNN every 3 minutes - I don't mind CNN and was only watching casually but, if you were watching another channel religiously, it would be incredibly annoying - I didn't complain until I checked out.
So, what does this mean? It means that the hotel is not checking the rooms on a regular basis.
How many people stayed in my room with its poor functionality without complaining? How many people now have a bad opinion of this hotel?
Whatever the answer, it demonstrates that hotels really need to keep on top of quality control of every room, not just those rooms surveyed by secret shoppers.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank lucasofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

610 - 616 of 804 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

Wow! Beirut what a city and what a great hotel and what lovely people! We travelled from Cyprus for a long weekend, stayed at the Phoenicia Hotel and we were not disappointed. The staff were courteous and helpful, rooms were comfy, and clean and the food and Lebanese wines excellent! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyprusteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMallat, Public Relations Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Dear cyprusteam,

We are very touched by your wonderful comments about the Phoenicia. We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations and we do hope to have you back with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Great location (views and close to some of the other hotels in Beirut) - implies convenient for meetings. Busy lobby and a hub for meetings.

PROS
Great spacious rooms and large property
Well equipped gym (though a little too busy - the health club seems to be open to outsiders as well)
Exceptional housekeeping (staff seems to be from Africa and the sub-continent)
Great breakfast buffet range

CONS
Service could be friendlier (but that seems to be a typical local trait extended to hotels and bars etc )
Busy gym
Room service takes sometime

Would I stay again? Yes, esp if you have business in the area and are a PC member.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohitF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMallat, Public Relations Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Dear RohitF,

Thank you for your review, we are happy that we succeed at meeting all your business needs. Thank you also for highlighting the areas in which we can improve to ensure a 5 star service, our aim is to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Great Hotel right close to the water. Very attentive and friendly service. Staff always has a smile for you. Well sized rooms, great view over the sea if you have a room on the right side. Nice swimming pool area (outdoors only available in summer, indoors all year). One of the few places in Beirut with good internet (relatively speaking). Upscale restaurant has been recently renovated, breakfast restaurant is under renovation (should be finished in Q2 2011), alternative provided is good.
One general thing in Beirut also is true for this one: It can be a bit of a hassle to get a "real" non-smoking room, if that's important to you. If you get one that smells like smoke, just ask reception to present you with another one, you'll find a better room eventually here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMallat, Public Relations Manager at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Dear Biz Trv,

Thank you for a great review about our hotel! The renovation will be complete in mid June with new restaurant and bar concepts. We apologize for the trouble you encountered with the smell of smoke in your room. We will take measures in the future to keep real non-smoking rooms separate from smoking rooms. We hope that next time you stay with us you will be able to feel the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I had very bad experience in this hotel, after I check out from the hotel and went back to my country the hotel charge extra money in my credit card. it is an extremely difficult concept to misuse the credit card from hotel should be 5 stars . I will never trust this hotel and I recommend to note use credit card in this hotel in case you stay in this untrusted hotel

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xyzJeddah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMallat, Director of Sales at Phoenicia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2011

On behalf of the Phoenicia I would like to thank you for your feedback, it is only through your valuable comments that we can improve our services.
We would like to extend our apologies for this unfortunate incident and would like to offer you one complimentary night, inclusive of breakfast during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

I have been coming to Beirut for the past 6 years for business and pleasure. There are many hotels, Phoenicia is still the top choice as it has a consistent tradition of service, value and facilities. You could find more scenic hotels but none offer the top quality lodging and amenities. The hotel has a positive pulse at the lobby and the various dining facilities, and is the place to be seen and to see top community and business travellers. The staff is top rated as well.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Our stay at the Phoenicia Beirut was a remarkable experience. The staff was courteous, professional, friendly and accommodating to any request. The recently refurbished lobby displays the splendor of a stately home, harmoniously blended with furnishing and fittings that are contemporary and functional. The rooms are regular in size and the bathrooms are the feature. All food and beverage outlets were very good in quality, offering and atmosphere. If I only could remember all the names, the list would be endless; however Reem form the lobby lounge left a marking impression on us. The Concierge boys and girls were fantastic!! Overall a very positive experience and we will be back for sure. Thank you to a wonderful couple of days.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael911Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Gray Beirut
Le Gray Beirut
#1 of 113 in Beirut
675 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Beirut
3.2 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
Movenpick Hotel Beirut
#5 of 113 in Beirut
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
1 mi away
O Monot Luxury Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenicia Hotel

Address: PO Box 11, Minet El Hosn, Beirut 846, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
#2 Spa Hotel in Beirut
#3 Romantic Hotel in Beirut
#6 Business Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: $266 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Phoenicia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Mediterranean Sea with its majesty and grandeur, Phoenicia InterContinental stands proudly at the heart of Beirut, a few minutes from the city’s business and banking district, the major shopping areas and the vibrant downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phoenicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing