We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, conveniently situated”
Review of Dunes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dunes Hotel
Ranked #33 of 116 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Booking made through Intercontinental/Holiday Inn website, which was simple and efficient. Hotel was one of the best Holiday Inns we have visited and better than most in UK, Europe and N America. Relatively easy to find in our rental car but beware! Verdun Street is now Rachid Karami St, which initially threw us off the trail. Note that security staff check all cars entering hotel/shopping centre underground car park and indeed the bags of all entering complex on foot.

Check in staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was clean, relatively spacious and quiet as we had requested. However, bathroom could do with an update. Public areas were comfortable and we liked the direct access on two floors to the shopping centre. The high class cafe just outside the hotel's reception area became a favourite of ours. There appeared to be extensive shopping and eating possibilities close by but, because we were travelling out to different parts of Lebanon each day, we did not do them justice.

One evening we had a room service meal, which arrived promptly and was hot, generous and tasty.

Reception staff helpfully negotiated our parking requirements with car park cashier who did not speak English or French.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinannHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Dunes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2009

We have arrived from Amman, Jordan with Royal Jordanian and stayed for 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Dunes in the prominent Verdun district of Beirut, somewhat known as the Beverly Hills of Lebanon. The author Peter Biddlecombe has found the best Holiday Inn in Bruges/Belgium he could easily take that here in Beirut also on his list! ( see Peter Biddlecombe - Travel with my briefcase - Brussels chapter - this is where Peter tells us about the Holiday Inn in Bruges. )Entrance to the Holiday Inn was through the Dunes Shopping Mall after the Hotel is named. The lobby was marbled and has even a golden glow and efficient check-in. Our room was No. 419 with views out onto Verdun ( backside of the hotel ). The room was mainly blue incl. the carpet, the closet had an japanese touch and the TV has all international channels. The bed was comfortable and large. Now to the bathroom, which had a scale, large modern bathtub and Red Earth bath amenities. The bathroom was also fully marbled and had toilet with separate bidet. The roomservice was superb a few examples we had included as we remember: mixed grill platter for two, tiramisu, fruitsalad and steak which was delicious. Our breakfast was at the Escapade Restaurant on two occasions and was just magic! One of the largest and best breakfast buffets we have ever seen! Item we had incl. flatbread, coffee, superb pancakes made to order and delivered with maple syrup, eggs middle eastern style, mortadella, jellies of fruit, superb rice puddings! The service was also fast and efficient plus friendly! ALWAYS, FOLKS! The Hotel is directly connected to the Dunes Shopping mall with Mc Donald's, upscale fashion stores and the Empire Dunes Cinema ( here we have enjoyed on one evening the movie The Duchess with Keira Knightley ). The Mall comes highly recommended from both of us! Through the efficient Holiday Inn Dunes Concierge we had ordered a car and driver tour for the next day of Beirut for a litte sight seeing, just amazing! We had an Premier Taxi with driver Josef for around 7h at a cost of 100 US Dollars and saw sights incl. Raffic Hariri's gravesite and the same site where he was actually assassinated. We recommend also Downtown Beirut which looks like Paris in the 1930s incl. the Parliament building and churches, roman ruins and the so called second Holiday Inn of Beirut which stands just behind the sister hotel Phoenicia Intercontinental which is co-incidently the most shot upon hotel in the world, just look for the hundreds of bullet holes! Highly recommended! Just ask for Car and Driver service, no problem with taxis in Beirut then! After our three days in Beirut we have flown on once again with Royal Jordanian to Amman, see our reviews from the Golden Tulip Amman Airport and the Golden Tulip Grand Palace Amman. Now fly some!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

My experience has been started by visiting the hotel website to make my reservation wich is very proffessional and simple to work on it
when we arive arrive to the hotel the concierge has took our bags and the guest relation provide us 2 cups of fresh and delicious juice wich refresh our budy.
the reception staff are very proffessional and friendly and have a smiely face all the time and the check in diidn't took more than 3 minutes.
then the guest relation escort us to our room which was very luxirious and confortable with a king size bed and a pillow menu, and palte a fruits and cooks is waiting us .
the room is furnished with high quality of sofa and desk and LCD TV with high speed internet connection.
My best tv channel wasn't found so I requested it, in a short period of time it was on the TV. and i could watch my best program.
the room service delivery is very fastr and ponctuel with excellent temperature for foods and drink.
the resataurant experience its another part during our stay with the high quality of oood served with attractive appearance and delicous tasty with proffessional server.
and wtht we make our trip better its the location of the hotel inside one of the biggest shopping mall in Beirut and in one of the luxirous street in Lebanon Verdun Streett.
I feel at home during my stay because i was welcomed all te time by the hotel staff
i would like to come back as soon as possible to this beautiful Country and people
Best Regards to the hotel Staff :D

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Samer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

My guide book said "If your interested in shopping head to the Dunnes Center" and from other discriptions I thought we would be staying in a hotel at a large mall. I figured my wife would love it, give her a chance to shop a bit. I figured there would be a food court for some cheap local eats. I was disipointed to find that the food court was pretty much a McDonalds and some kid food places, and the mall was pretty basic with just a handful of stores. Not a huge deal, but not as expected.

I did however enjoy the stay, the rooms were comfortable, the service was friendly, if your willing to spend 12 USD on breakfast it was pretty good.

The location was okay, Beirut is not overly walkable, but we managed.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2006

The best standard Holiday Inn room that I have stayed at anywhere in the world (and at 50+ nights a year that’s quite a lot) – better than most UK Crowne Plaza’s for size, comfort and cleanliness. Hotel is above a shopping centre, so it’s a bit strange going in.

Reception staff spoke perfect English, but check out was a little slow as they seamed to have to mess with lots of different bits of paper – but only a couple of minutes nothing to worry about.

The hotel does not seam to really have a bar, they have a piano bar with some live entertainment, but it only opens at 9:30 PM, I got some very strange looks from the staff who were setting up the bar when I asked for a beer at 8PM. However, there is a nice little French style café bar just between the hotel reception and the shopping centre entrance - but I don’t think you can charge things to your room.

I will definitely stay again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rogerncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2005

I booked this hotel on a very cheap internet rate and couldn't have been more pleased. I was not expecting much as Holiday Inns are often disappointing, but my room was large, very tastefully decorated, comfortable and spotless. Definitely a much higher standard than in North America.

The hotel is located atop a rather large shopping center, in what seems to be a nice part of town. I ordered room service and the food was delicious, hot and promptly delivered. Employees were very polite and welcoming, and most of them seem at least functionally trilingual (Arabic, English and French).

  • Stayed: April 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Meriem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Le Verdun
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Verdun Suites Hotel
#108 of 116 in Beirut
3 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Galleria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Bristol Beyrouth
Le Bristol Beyrouth
#10 of 116 in Beirut
165 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Beirut Downtown
Ramada Beirut Downtown
#20 of 116 in Beirut
299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Hotel

Address: Verdun Street | Dunes Center, Beirut 13-5904, Lebanon
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Beirut
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range: $101 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Beirut city centre at the stylish Dunes hotel, next to the Dunes mall on fashionable Verdun Street. Situated on a lively avenue of shops and cafes, the sleek Dunes Hotel is 7 minutes by taxi from Beirut Airport. You'll receive a warm welcome from staff in the strikingly lit marble Lobby, where you can check into your spacious, air-conditioned Guest room and connect to high-speed Internet(WIFI). Conveniently close to embassies and major companies on dynamic Verdun Street, Dunes Hotel is just 2km from UNESCO and 5km from Biel exhibition centre. Back at the hotel, you can host seamless functions in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms and catch up on emails in the 24-hour Business Centre. Dunes Hotel is just steps from Verdun Street's smart boutiques and restaurants. Relax with a stroll along the Corniche promenade, just 10 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beirut Dunes Hotel Beirut
Beirut Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing