We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what you may expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
istanbul
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just what you may expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Small restaurant for breakfast. On a very busy street. Rooms are a bit worn out. Very good food for the breakfast. Close to the center. Good view from the upper floors (over 10th). Helpful staff. Easy to find everything around the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TErdengi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    181
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
62
58
36
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Its Always a pleasant experience to stay in this hotel in this area. Since m last visit(almost a year).

I stay on the 18 floor overlooking the city and Mediterranean sea and what a lovely view.
The same area is booming, lots of cafes, restaurants, pubs everywhere between Hamra and Bliss streets. you need to try hamra cafe the opposite side of the hotel.

The breakfast buffet is great. both Lebanese and international are served but I do go for the Lebanese. they use to have a gym on site but it was small now they give the guests access to a well equipped gym just within the same complex.

Internet is a bit expensive and slow. The hotel staff are really helpful and again the hotel location is the best

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egyptian-Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

It's clean and the location is great. Room space is not bad. I particularly like the entrance leading to the hotel foyer where upon reaching the hotel you can't help but be attracted to the liveliness of the restaurants around the open area leading to the hotel door. It's fresh and practical. I've stayed there more than once and would do it again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed here for business and for that purpose it was Nice, Great people , '' lara'' she is the best, club lounge is perfect, very nice view, The room & bathroom furniture were new. The breakfast was full & nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Location, location, location -- this is the Crowne Plaza's best offer. Situated right on the Hamra Street in downtown Beirut it offers a central place to park oneself for a short stay. Mine was but a night but I would have liked to stay longer to take in the sights of Beirut.

The hotel itself is efficient and no frills offer. Small check-in desk, a small lobby, cozy elevator and basic rooms. Mine had a city view so if you like the lights of the city at night this is a nice place to put up. The rooms are "basic" but you get what you pay for. This is the first time I came across the now-standard-CrownePlaza-offering of aromatherapy Sleep kit and CD which was quite enjoyable.

There are nice restaurants around the hotel which make it the location very practical. The hotel collaborates with the Fitness Zone gym next door so guests can have access as well.

Room Tip: Get on a higher floor so you avoid the main street buzz for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L00K-See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The hotel is located in Down Town Beirut in Hamra Street. The hotel is decorated Modern and has a welcoming environment. We had booked two twin bed rooms with one extra bed in each room with a sea view. They welcomed us with a pack of chocolate since I was a gold member of the group and gave us two executive rooms in the club floor (19th floor) and we checked in at 10:30 a.m. earlier than what stated in the hotel website. The rooms were a little small in comparison to other Crowne Plaza hotels I had tried. View of the hotel was very nice and the hotel was a little bit far from the beach. The bathroom and room furniture were new. The breakfast was full and whole family liked it. I have been told if I wish to use the Gym, there is one Gym adjacent to Hotel which I may have a free voucher from the hotel to participate (However, I did not use it).
We were during the Eid Al Fitr there and the municipality had closed the street for establishing a street market there. Our going and coming to hotel by Taxi was a little difficult and the street was crowded. Th reception staff were welcoming but the concierge and the door keepers were not welcoming and were indifferent to the guests.
I believe the hotel price is a little bit high in comparison to the other Beirut hotels and should be adjusted. The car renting there , was not straight. If you want to rent a taxi from them , check with the others outside the hotel first then when you know the price, talk to them.

Room Tip: The rooms in higher floors with a sea view- 1903 was ok
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank citoyen-du-universe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Our stay started badly when the reservation staff insisted that we had booked 2 rooms for 4 nights & paid for 1, the 2nd room could not be cancelled & we must pay for it. Whereas we contended that we had booked 1 room for 4 nights , paid for it & that we did not see why we needed to pay this phantom other room. Not good. We were only hours in Beirut & already thinking that we were going to be ripped off. After a 15 minute stand off, the staff agreed that the 2nd room would be cancelled & we would not need to pay. A good ending to what was probably some glitching in the booking system. Other that this initial unpleasantness, I was very happy with the Crowne Plaza.

Pros
[1] Hamra main road & adjacent Makdissi street is a very happening location. Lots of shops, bars, cafes only steps away from the hotel. We would particularly recommended Danny's Bar [a Bar], De Prague [Cafe & Bar], Wadi Walima [restaurant ] & Casablance [Excellent restaurant further away - near the Corniche]
[2] Service. The staff were very helpful. They upgraded us to a superior room. We guessed that there was few guests in the hotel [due to Ramadan] so an upgrade was an easy choice & a very nice gesture. My husband is Premier Club member so this would also be a factor.
[3] Our room [room 1204] was high up so we had a view of the sea. Nice big room. Very clean. Complimentary fruit.

Some small negatives
[1] The swimming pool is in a odd location - in the middle of the hotel restaurant.
[2] No complimentary wifi.

Overall would stay here again when back in Beirut.

Our experience of the hotel was much more positive than some of the reviews in TripAdvisor. Could this be the same hotel?

A taxi from the airport to the hotel should cost 15 USD. We paid 30 USD + the driver demanded a tip so all together 35 USD. We were new to Beirut. Next time we know the going rate. Bargain hard!!!

Taxis from the hotel to Gemayzeh & Achrafieh should be around 10k Lebanese pounds. So always start from there. If they look for more just walk away & ask the next taxi driver for a price. In nearly every case the previous taxi driver will come running after you saying that 10k is fine. I think we had to pay 12K only once & that was at 2am in the morning. Also tipping taxis is not a necessity. What is always necessary is to ask for a price before you sit into the taxi.!!!

Room Tip: Room 1204 is near the lift & has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytuppenceworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beirut hotels
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Martinez Hotel, Beirut
0.4 mi away
Le Bristol Hotel
Le Bristol Hotel
#4 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Raouche Arjaan by Rotana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gefinor Rotana Hotel
Gefinor Rotana Hotel
#13 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Beirut Habtoor Grand
0.9 mi away
Phoenicia Hotel
Phoenicia Hotel
#3 of 117 in Beirut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut
Address: Hamra Main Street | Taj Tower Building, Beirut 113-7512, Lebanon
Phone Number:
Location: Lebanon > Beirut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Beirut
#16 Business Hotel in Beirut
#26 Luxury Hotel in Beirut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beirut is an exclusive five-star property located in heart of Beirut’s business and shopping area. Adjacent to reputable boutiques retail shops, Food Court, coffee shops, Beauty Parlors, Libraries, Banks and 5 minutes away from the seafront promenade. The hotel is Less than 10 km away from Beirut International Airport and 4 km away from Beirut International Exhibition Center & newly rebuilt elegant downtown Area of Solidère.190 newly renovated rooms and suites all overlooking Hamra main Street equipped with the latest facilities, in-room amenities and wireless Internet. 25 Crowne Plaza Club rooms and 13 suites all have spectacular Mediterranean sea view and a dedicated Club Lounge with private lounge and reception. Crowne Plaza Beirut has 9 designated locations for conferences and seminars. All have natural daylight, dedicated Executive Boardroom, Business Center, WIFI internet access and equipped with the latest state of art audiovisual equipment. We are considered the largest & most extensive conference facilities in Beirut and able to accommodate groups from 10 up to 600 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Beirut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Beirut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing