We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to be"”

What's For Lunch / What's for Dinner
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: French, Italian, Lebanese
Description: Tired of eating junk food? Are you craving a healthy full meal that won't break the bank? At What's for Lunch, each day choose from one of our delicious traditional daily dishes and a selection of freshly prepared side items. At night, What's for Dinner offers fine Italian/French cuisine served in a cozy environment! Made from scratch ravioli, chicken filled with prunes and feta,and sirloin steaks grilled to perfection are only some of the highlights!
Restaurant details
Description: Tired of eating junk food? Are you craving a healthy full meal that won't break the bank? At What's for Lunch, each day choose from one of our delicious traditional daily dishes and a selection of freshly prepared side items. At night, What's for Dinner offers fine Italian/French cuisine served in a cozy environment! Made from scratch ravioli, chicken filled with prunes and feta,and sirloin steaks grilled to perfection are only some of the highlights!
Reviewed March 3, 2012

What an amazing restaurant. what a great choice.
The food was very tasty and the music was also more than great..
I like the coziness of this resto.. the decoration is simple and relaxing..
I had lunch 5 times there , and went to dine 4 times .. the homemade ravioli were so rich and delicious...

Congratulations and We 're lucky to have you in Beirut...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jocelyne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlieshouse, Owner at What's For Lunch / What's for Dinner, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Hi Jocelyne,

That's what our restaurant is all about! We want our customers to feel at home as soon as they come in! Since you're visiting us so often, you are already part of the family! See you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

It was amazing.. the decoration, with the candles' light on the tables, love signs in the small flowerpots , the subdued lighting, adding to it the well chosen very romantic love songs.. It was like Heaven… the warm welcome, where each lady received the freshest and tallest red rose I have ever seen..
The food was amazing, the French bread, I had a very tasty Medium Sirloin steak with puree and steamed vegies… in a creamy mushroom sauce.. yummmmi , it is reallly mouthwatering ... and my friend had the Chicken Aracia; it was the owner ‘s suggestion- Mr. Karam-, and it was worth it… prunes rolled in an chicken breast, with a secret sauce… Oh , and the presentation, it was simply great…
But the distinguish was the red heart shape cake, with the surprise that comes with… one couple, who were with us on the table, they won a special SPA package for 2, with sauna Jacuzzi, ,massage, champaign , chocolates etc… offered by What’s for Dinner... it was very nice and really astonishing idea …
We will surely come again.. for the great taste.. and the great wine as well… I almost forgot the wine… mmmm .. we have alllll enjoyed our evening… we were meticulously spoiled...Thank you again..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Houssam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlieshouse, Owner at What's For Lunch / What's for Dinner, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2012

Dear Houssam,

We appreciate that our customers take the time to review the restaurant, especially when they enjoyed their time with us! It was indeed a great evening and we surely hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

What's For Lunch???? always a choice of two things on the daily menu at reasonable prices, between 6.50 - 11€ (8.60- 14.50$) from the least to the most expensive - and all the old standby's like Fattoush,Muttabal, Hummus (divine) FrenchFries, Kibbeh,Sambousik, Fatayer Sbenigh, and Samosa Cheese are available of course from between 2.00-3.25€ (2.65-4.30$). With the daily menu comes a plate of olives/radish/celery sticks, and a large green salad. Cola, Ice Tea, Beer or Perrier along with goor coffee are on the drinks menu.Jean the proprietor also does catering for parties and special occasions in the evenings and on weekends. The restaurant is located in the stylish Ashrafieh part of Beirut and very easy to find near the corner on George Tabet and George Naccash. It's a hidden gem, and I seriously debated about whether to let everyone in on the secret ....We are looking forward to our return to Beirut, and more memorable meals in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cintia.ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlieshouse, Owner at What's For Lunch / What's for Dinner, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for the nice review Cindy! We hope to see you soon again in our restaurant, maybe next time you're in town you'll try the delicious dishes at What's for Dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What's For Lunch / What's for Dinner also viewed

 
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing