We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curiosity killed the cat..!”
Review of Braai Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Braai Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Curiosity killed the cat..!”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

As meat lover, I went there looking for a new experince in a place I always heard of but never tried. The average food quality was not the major dissapointment, since restaurants in Lebanon are used to fail of delivering what they promise or charge for. They just do not care, people will keep coming anyway. It was the atmposphere : HORRIBLE. It feels like a cafe trottoir with glass all around; tables are so close to each others make you wonder if you come with your partner or in a group of 15. The place is very NOISY, beyond imagination. The restaurant contribution to tackle this problem was adding loud untasty background music.

While asking for the bill, we were offered to have dessert in the calmer "lounge" downstairs. They have a lounge? What a genious idea, why in heck was not offered when we stepped in or even in the middle of our meal when the waiter standing 20 cm from me could not hear me shouting my order.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_a66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening at Braai - ashrafieh.”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The decor is superb, reminiscent of the 70s.
Service, meticulous. A cordial welcome that's courteous and warm.
Food Excellent. Especially the wide selection of meat (Australian and American Angus, South African cuts on the menu as well)
Elie, the talented chef, masters playing with fine aromas. he's also keen on hearing customer’s critique.
The wine list emphasizes Lebanese wines (that is, they've chosen the best labels in Lebanon: Chateau Khoury, Marsyas, Karam Winery, Kefraya & ksara ... to name a few). No shortage of Imported wines, an extensive list with reasonable prices.
Big choice of desert - I recommend the "Pain Perdu". Succulent
Prices are quite reasonable. We had a dinner fit for a king at some 50$ a head... I'd say it’s good value for what we had.
Go there w d3ouleh...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 132whimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
302 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Not worth your money”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

An empty restaurant on lunch time, you ask for the salmon, and you get a salmon in mayonnaise and noodles! The service could be better especially when you are the only table in the restaurant. The lounge downstairs looks very nice for a private event as it seats 25, it has a bar along with many screens that display a fire place ( they look like mirrors and definitely not Tvs). I may go there to see how will it be over dinner to try the lounge, but definitely won't be for lunch time or for the ground floor that is "deux pas from the street".

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“special design and special food”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

it was on a special ceremony night and we were a big group
we got a chinese and french food : all was good
and after some time we had a singer with a band making some romantic atmosphere to our diner

the decor is not expensive but the designer got a bright idea using many wine bottles on the walls ( not expensive but a little charming )

  • Visited December 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vromvrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braai Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing