We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Oca Matta - CLOSED

L'Oca Matta
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Last night felt like a punishment at L'Oca Matta. First of all, the menu choices were extremely limited and inflexible; of the 5 or so main courses, two were unavailable for the night which made the menu even more irrelevant. The service was more than mediocre, we had to ask at least three times to get our beverages, bread or anything else and it took forever for the main course to get to the table and believe me it was not worth the wait. The risotto we had ordered was less than average, as for the chicken it was undercooked, even raw. We didn't eat our dinner and promptly asked for the check and made our disappointment clear to the waitress who couldn't care less if the chicken was raw claiming this was the way they made it (all salmonella infections aside!) To make it all worse, she just nodded and handed us a 100$ check for food we had not touched without even apologizing for ruining our night. It's no surprise L'oca Matta closed down for 6 months, it's a shame they spent the time and energy to re-open.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprising and excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Was invited to the L'Oca Matta for dinner on a visit to Lebanon, the restaurant was inviting and very charming. After being seated, I was made aware of the painted murals and paintings that were done by none other than the restaurant owner, the tables were immaculate with exquisite attention to detail.

But the real surprise was the food, the presentation was worthy of any 5 star restaurant. The food was exceptionally good, well done Chef!

L'Oca Matta has exceeded all my expectations, it is really 5 star dining in a very friendly atmosphere. Please reserve a table for me for my next trip to Beirut.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The finest Italian restaurant in town. Everything from the cozy and original decor, to the delicious food and excellent service is on point. The pappardelle and truffle risotto are a must try. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The restaurant is a beautiful old renovated house with a cosy feeling inside. The decoration is very nice, it is colorful and original.
The food is good especially the sea bass platter and the meat filet, but I would not advise the "octopus salad" (it was chosen by 3 of our friends and they all disliked it), but it is a bit overpriced for my taste as there are other excellent Italian restaurants in the same region for the same product but better prices.
The service is good in general as the waiters are nice and friendly.

Overall, it was a good experience and I advise everyone to try it at least once.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Amazing restaurant with the best restaurant I ever had ! Excellent service , atmosphere and food . It's a must to pass by and eat there !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karlito983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Oca Matta also viewed

 
Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing