We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Window shopping at its best”
Review of Beirut Souks

Beirut Souks
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.88*
and up
Private Tour: Anjar, Baalbek and Ksara Day Trip from Beirut
Ranked #9 of 98 things to do in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Window shopping at its best”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Though I did make a VERY expensive purchase, next time I probably would just enjoy the windows and architecture ;-)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank maddoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    363
    180
    66
    33
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vietnam
Level Contributor
614 reviews
394 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Overrated unless you have very deep pockets”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had been eager to see Beirut Souks but was very disappointed. I went around lunch time and all the shops were deserted. All the luxury brands are here but in the several hours I spent wandering around and sitting in cafes, I never saw one person go into a shop. There are security guards everywhere and I wondered if they would ask you to move on if you were not correctly dressed. Even though it was lunchtime, there were only a handful of customers at the chic outdoor restaurants, and many were completely empty. I got the impression of a movie set before the main actors had arrived. Maybe it is different at night, but I had expected a lively atmosphere with a mix of interesting shops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A modern touch of Arabic Architecture”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The newly built souks are a mix of histrory and modernity. You will get all the top end designer shops, and a bit of local. A must visit when in Beirut.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kairetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lame”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

the whole design of the place is simply uncomfortable. There's nothing to attract you to the place when it comes to food or clothes or entertainment: You can find more in other places.

P.S.: hopefully this will change when the Cinema center opens

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashraf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice place with trendy shops”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beirut Souks has all the famous brands that you wish to shop at.

The architecture is nice and very tidy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tareq74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beirut Souks also viewed

 

Been to Beirut Souks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing