We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Genuine and beautiful”

Robert Mouawad Private Museum
Ranked #32 of 98 things to do in Beirut
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Genuine and beautiful”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The palace is very rich, elegant and historic with marvelous garden. The contents are genuine, precious and of great artistic and historic value.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AhmedTaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    16
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth the visit”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

it's 6 dollars entrance fee, the main thing here is not really the collection (some amazing jewelry, some pottery, tiles, etc) but the house itself - the previous owner salvaged loads of authentic arabic interiors and incorporated them in the house, they are the real gem in the house ! (o yes there is a 68 carat diamand on display too, if you are into that)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jynx_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cross river
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fascinating place”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

the place is amazing. It sits in a residential area and one would never know it's there. A def worth seeing. The maze of rooms are so well done, the jewelry amazing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank graciela008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Level Contributor
552 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Visit this museum after you have seen Beiteddine”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I went to this museum before I had seen Beiteddine and I wish I had done it the other way around. Some of the ideas for the interior decoration have been copied from Beiteddine. The grounds are lovely and I wondered how the building survived the civil war. On first entering the building I was overwhelmed by the incredibly ornate walls and ceilings and the general interior design. Each individual panel was beautiful, but put all together was way over the top and overshadowed the exhibits. I went at the end of September and it was so hot inside that we cut our visit short. The exhibits are displayed in various rooms and the highlight is the jewellery, including the second largest diamond in the world. Because of the heat it was impossible to admire each piece and artifact. We were given a plain sheet of paper with just a cursory description of what was in each room. A much better idea would have been an illustrated catalogue that you take with you while you are looking at the exhibits and return before you leave. Like you do in art galleries. I went with a Beiruti friend who had never heard of this museum and we both had mixed emotions about how we felt about it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grandiose archade”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

grandiose
the idea of turning a Chateau into a wedding venues
the statues at the entrance
gardens
panorama

Helpful?
Thank MiMoBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robert Mouawad Private Museum also viewed

 

Been to Robert Mouawad Private Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing