We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUST GO! SUPERB!”
Review of Socrate

Socrate
Ranked #65 of 1,087 Restaurants in Beirut
Cuisines: Lebanese, International, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed October 22, 2019

We went here twice. Absolutely loved the ambiance and food and setting. Kibbeh Arrabieh was lovely and their breads were to de for. We had Turkish coffee and Mouhalabieh (Lebanese Milk Flan) with orange blossom water. Something just so nice and personal about that place that we returned. Deserves a better rating for what it is really.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Travelqueen7177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 81 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2019 via mobile

I don’t know if there is a cuisine in which Socrate may have a weakness. Because these people are geniuses at making the most delicious version of every recipe.
I’ve been accused of bias. Especially by my brother in law who is a famous chef. And every single time we go back to Socrate.

Add to the above that they are very reasonable in pricing. Never arrogant. Always super helpful. On time. GENEROUS.

AND they can do it all, down to the chair and fork in catering.

They also run a restaurant in Hamra that serves the same level of culinary wonderfulness.

So yes. Socrate makes the best food you can have. Especially when it comes to catering.

Date of visit: August 2019
3  Thank Charbel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 31, 2019 via mobile

Our lunch today was at one of my favorite restaurants Socrate in Hamra. As usual the welcome was very warm, the staff friendly. The restaurant is known for its traditional lebanese food. We ordered taboulé, fattoush,hindbé, batata harra, french fries with roasted meat and sautéed vegetables, meat shawarma, mou3ajanat, mixed grill, homos and moutabal.They also have an open salad bar with a big variety of delicious lebanese mezze dishes. One should also taste their pastries. They do catering and delivery. All what we ordered was mouthwatering, I highly recommend Socrate for its cleanliness and tasty food.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank joumana692
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

Really delicious, fresh and hot meals are served at this restaurant. The prices are great , the service is prompt and punctual, the hygiene is optimal and the staff is really well trained and professional.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Mody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

The food is really nice and the people who work there are nicer! You have the possibility to see the food before you order, and they have a lot of authentic Lebanese food. It is also pretty cheap when you see how much food you get for the price. They also have take-out, so if you want to eat there, but not sit at the restaurant, you can do that.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sankle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Socrate also viewed

 
Beirut, Lebanon
Beirut, Lebanon
 

Been to Socrate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.